Customer Reviews for

Coal Black Horse

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Story

This truly is a very good, interesting and entertaining book, and Robert Olmstead is not as recognized as he probably should be. Though set in the civil war, it's not about the civil war, it just contains elements of it to enhance the story. The imagery is amazing, and ...
This truly is a very good, interesting and entertaining book, and Robert Olmstead is not as recognized as he probably should be. Though set in the civil war, it's not about the civil war, it just contains elements of it to enhance the story. The imagery is amazing, and the eloquent prose in which it is written in is beautiful. It's not on the same level as All Quiet on the Western Front or some of the Cormac McCarthy books in which this has been compared to, but then again, what is on that level? I highly recommend the book, and I am looking forward to the forthcoming sequal.

posted by 901122 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

too dark--didn't finish

I was really looking forward to this one. It had the elements I like: a coming of age story, a quest, and civil war fiction. However, it was just too dang dark for me. Now I don't want to disuade anyone from reading it, it has recieved incredibly good reviews from other...
I was really looking forward to this one. It had the elements I like: a coming of age story, a quest, and civil war fiction. However, it was just too dang dark for me. Now I don't want to disuade anyone from reading it, it has recieved incredibly good reviews from other readers so if this is your genre I suggest to give it a try. Perhaps it might be best suited for male readers. Although I couldn't finish it, I couldn't give it only the one star (per my norm for abandoned books)because it does warrant more than that on the quality of the writing.

posted by pjpick on August 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Excellent Story

    This truly is a very good, interesting and entertaining book, and Robert Olmstead is not as recognized as he probably should be. Though set in the civil war, it's not about the civil war, it just contains elements of it to enhance the story. The imagery is amazing, and the eloquent prose in which it is written in is beautiful. It's not on the same level as All Quiet on the Western Front or some of the Cormac McCarthy books in which this has been compared to, but then again, what is on that level? I highly recommend the book, and I am looking forward to the forthcoming sequal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    too dark--didn't finish

    I was really looking forward to this one. It had the elements I like: a coming of age story, a quest, and civil war fiction. However, it was just too dang dark for me. Now I don't want to disuade anyone from reading it, it has recieved incredibly good reviews from other readers so if this is your genre I suggest to give it a try. Perhaps it might be best suited for male readers. Although I couldn't finish it, I couldn't give it only the one star (per my norm for abandoned books)because it does warrant more than that on the quality of the writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    There is a coal black horse in this story, but it's not about him. The lead character is Robey, a fourteen year-old boy sent by his mother on a mission to retrieve his father from the battlefield. In a short novel, Olmstead uses the perfect details to create memorable characters, reveal the crazy face of War, and explore the loss of innocence. Although there is pain and ugliness in the story, there is also beauty and kindness. I hesitate to call anything an instant classic, but if you compare this novel to The Killer Angels or Cold Mountain, it does not suffer much. The universality of the human experience in this tale will bring it back to your mind's eye after you turn the last page. Perhaps it is not even about Robey- perhaps it is about you and me. Do not miss it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Lyrical, beautiful and chilling

    Best novel of war and innocence I have ever read.Describes the most horrible events ever experienced by Americans- the Civil War, through the eyes of a boy. I cannot forget this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    A timeless look at the ravages of war

    This is a wonderful novel that illustrates the horror of war and where it takes humans. The depravity and cruelty that surrounds the battlefield and the lengths one goes to survive, is balanced against love, loyalty and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    ~LB

    Hey, I never said they rp'd on the NOOK. She helps me a lot when I'm depressed. A lot more than I ever thought.<p>Question Heut de Dix:<br>My bestest friend's name is...(rl not rp)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Great story-poor writing

    Story didn't flow and the descriptions of scenes were wordy and not clear or believable.There were to many stops and starts without cohesion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Foxstorm

    Lol he purred

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Strongfire

    Sorry but i gtg right now. Cna qe figure this out tomorrow sometime. Really sorry, and not trying to abandon my duties as deputy.
    -Strongfire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Coalstar

    Had to gtb and summer camp)) he did er untill she was expecting kits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Realistic Civil War story

    Very realistic Civil War story of a young boy forced into manhood when he searches for his father on the various battlefields.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    For Men Only

    This is definitely a book for men. It discusses many gross adventures and I'm truly sorry I wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Exquisite. Beautifully written.  Almost a prose poem.

    Exquisite.
    Beautifully written.  Almost a prose poem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great book

    Interesting historical perspective. I felt like i was right there. Horses were important and necessary then as they are now to those who still ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1