Customer Reviews for

Cobb: A Biography

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cobb was the Greatest ball player and the biggest mad man to ever play baseball.

    This book is a must read for any hardcore baseball fan. Al Stump tells the complete story of one of baseballs greatest legends, but it turns out to be a horror story. Stump included plenty of accounts of Cobb on the field, but it is what happened off the field that will cause the reader to be unable to put this book down. Stump also does a great job of describing what baseball was like at the start of the twentieth century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    al stump was a fabricator

    Al Stump made up account of the supposed murder was supported by facts which he made up. In his first edition of his Cobb biography he offers as support of his position a referrence to a game that Cobb played after the allleged incident. Box scores show that Cobb did not play in such a game on the date that Stump claimed. This man should have been unmasked as a fraudulent fabricator of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    An Amazing Ride

    When I picked up this book to read I didn't know what to expect. But boy was I in for a ride. One of the best books I have read. When I was done with the book, I felt I knew him personally. True people hated his guts but I just couldn't help to admire him even more so. He did what he thought was right and he stood by that. A truly amazing character. Unquestionably the greatest ever to pay the game of baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Am I supposed to believe this biography??

    Baseball writers of the early 1900's often wrote in a colorful way that may have stretched the truth, but this is modern times, and I expect biographies to depict their subjects with as much realism as possible. According to this book, in 1907 Ty Cobb stole 49 bases. Here are some comments by Stump about that season: "Making two to four base stealing attempts per day ...", "Three steals a day were common". Really? This seems very unlikely for someone who averaged less than one stolen base every three games. Amazing anecdotes abound througout the first 153 pages (this is all I have read, I don't know if I can take any more). For example, according to Stump's version of Cobb's remembrance, Cobb was a probable out at second base one day in the World Series, but tricked the opposing second baseman by yelling "Tag him". This confused the second baseman Evers so much that Cobb was able to simply keep going all the way to third and beat the throw from Evers. Huh? Another anecdote from Cobb on pages 152-153 is so unrealistic it is actually funny. He relates how he was thrown out at home from third on a ground ball to the third baseman, but only Cobb's incredible determination and guile by getting in a long rundown allowed the batter to reach first and the runner on first to reach second. I don't think so. Read about Cobb's "corkscrew slide" on page 151, where Stump describes how Cobb "swerved away from the baseman, then slashed back into him to make him drop the ball". I don't know how this skill got lost over the ages- maybe because most baserunners believe that a straight line is the shortest distance between two points. Of course, maybe that's why Ty Cobb was thrown out 38 times one year attempting to steal. Perhaps I should not expect realism, and just read it in the spirit of early baseball fiction. After all, my dad used to tell me stories of Cobb that were very similar to the ones told by Stump, and my childhood would perhaps have been poorer for the absence. If I were able to do that, I'm sure I would give this book a much higher rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    An Absolute Pleasure

    Stump's 'Cobb: A Biography' is an absolute pleasure to read (<I>devour</I>, more accurately). The writing is fast-paced, detailed but not tedious, blunt and riveting. In a refreshing departure from other sports biographies, the author does not interject a great deal of personal opinions and prejudicial assertions; the facts alone speak for themselves and the reader has more than enough information to derive his/her own conclusions. I was left feeling almost that I had met the 'Georgia Peach', and that is all one could ask for in a good biography. <P> This is a book I plan to give as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    A great book to add to any collection!!

    Whether you like baseball or not, you will enjoy this book. This book not only tells you about Ty Cobb the baseball player but it also tells you about Ty Cobb the man. This book not only tells of the great things he had done but also some of his not so shinning moments. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about interesting charactors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2000

    The Greatest Baseball Player and All Around SOB!

    Stump was absolutely right about Cobb not being misunderstood. Everyone understood the man perfectly. However, with this book you get a chance to see part of the reason why he was like this. The greatest ballplayer that ever lived was an absolute failure as a husband and father. There's no excuse for it. After saying all of this, I still admire the man in a way.......Go figure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1