BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Cobra Event

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    All around good book

    This book was on of the best i have read it keeps you guessing and on the edge of your seat. It took me two days to read this book from front to back. If you enjoy books about Bioweapons and what could happen then read Cobra Event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    GREAT READ

    if u are one for edge of your seat, realistic, thriller books, this is for you. this story definitely hits close to home, and is able to keep you drawn to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Compelling vacation read

    Keeps up the pressure throughout and pulled me along, although the writing style seems a bit choppy at times and the transition between the novel and historical biowarfare references are a bit forced. Overall, a great beach or vacation read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Gross but great

    This is one of the best fiction books I've ever read. Although I prefer Preston's non fiction, this book is the same as his others. (You'll be turning from page to page, and not putting it down.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Horribly Horrible

    Richard Preston is too detailed in his scenes and I've read a few chapters that provides no relevance to his story. Perhaps I am biased from an aspiring writer's perspective, but authors shouldn't write anything that doesn't benefit the story. Good concept/plot, just boring writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    was forced to read

    i had to read this book for a mircobiology class, i thought 'great another book to have to force myself to read'. i was amazed with how excieting the book was to read, the characters were great and it was a fast paced book that was easy to follow. all the terms were explained so you don't get lost in terminology which helps for all non bio-engineers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Cancel your cable and high speed internet...

    because you'll be enthralled in this book! Just remember to come up for air. I read this 400+ page book in 3 days (fast!) and could only put it down at night when my eyes had to alternate to stay open. I read The Hot Zone last summer and The Cobra Event is much better. Is a 'bug' in the jungle scary? Sure, but a 'bug' in New York, the city that connects the world--that's shut-the-blinds-put-on-a-HEPA-mask scary!!! With more suspense than a fat guy on a bungee cord, this book is sure to please. It does get graphic at times, so I'll rate it an 'R' book. But it also gets an 'A'! Richard Preston has outdone himself with vivid descriptions, accurate history, and science that is attainable. It was written before September 11, 2001, but takes place in New York and will open your eyes to bioterrorism! Read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Greatest Book

    This book is the best book if you are into military, science fiction, action and other such topics. This book is suspensful and a real page turner. Its almost impossible to put down until you finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Very scary and believable

    This was thoroughly researched and it really shows. I was absorbed into this story by credible characters and terrifying realism. Occasionally, it was hard to tell what parts of the book were fictional. I wonder how much of the 'Invisible History' is actually real. This book was so scary and credible that I cringed during some of the history lessons. Cobra Event was consistently tense and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    you HAVE to read this great book

    this book is incredibly great. it is my favorite book. as soon as it starts .BOOM. you got action. bloody deatails and the suspense makes this book an astounding hard to put down book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Awesome author!

    In New York City in the late '90s, a 17-year-old girl heads off to her private school even though she has a cold. By art class her nose is gushing mucus and she's severely disoriented. Within seconds, it seems, she's in convulsions and, most bizarrely, can't stop biting herself. All the reader can do is hope she'll die quickly, but Kate Moran's body still has a few more disgusting turns to undergo, and Richard Preston--a Jacobean master of ceremonies par excellence--takes us through them in bizarre and bloody detail. Clearly, whatever Kate had was a head cold with a scientific vengeance. Preston's heroine, Alice Austen, a doctor with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, realizes--in the first of several gripping autopsy scenes--that the girl's nervous system had been virtually destroyed. So far, only one other person is known to have died in the same way, but he was a homeless man. Austen must connect the two cases, seemingly linked only by the subway, before the media gets hold of them and drums up a paranoia-fest--and before the virus's creator can kill again. ***** The Cobra Event is itself a paranoia-fest, a provocative thriller that makes you wonder exactly how much bioterrorism is taking place in the real world. Preston, best known for his terrifying chronicle of the Ebola virus, The Hot Zone, and other impeccably researched nonfictions, is not content to create fast-paced nightmarish scenes. His novel is instead a complex morality tale anchored in uncomfortable fact. Preston is keen to convey the "invisible history" of bioweapons engineering and, equally, to show the unsung heroism of his scientific detectives (along with that of the nurses and technicians who literally sacrifice their lives for medicine). Like their creator, these characters are not without a sense of humor. One calls the manmade virus "the ultimate head cold." Readers will never forget literally dozens of scenes and will never again see the subway, rodents, autopsy knives, and--above all--runny noses in the same light. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    The book traps you

    This is a book of fiction that describes a biological terrorist act in New York city, it's a book that holds you in his hand, shakes you, throws you away and then cures you... I'd really recomend it only for young people, this is not a book that could love a real scientist, but if you wanna read a good book, to entertain yourself a day or two, get this book. I'd only like to say that personally I loved this book, even though it has a lot or errors and the narrative has a low cuality. But if you are a lover of fiction this is the book for you...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Richard Preston at his best

    This book is excellent and comes full circle on every story that appeared to be a tangent. Excellent characterization and massive suspense make this a book you can't put down. A must read for anyone concerned with terrorists or biological weapons in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Great !!! a must read

    the cobra event was a tremendously powerful and frighting novel that sends a shiver down your spin. Gory at times but the science of the book is fasinating and is explained extrodinarly well that any reader could understand. allthough the characters are not well develope it does not lack from the story because it is extrodinary. would be a great movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    The Cobra Event

    This book is awsome. Its very gross also. If you are 18 or older read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Spellbinding and horrifying

    This book is horrifying. It all seems more realistic now since the tradgedies of September 11th. Mr. Preston is an excellent writer that goes into so much detail that you stomach will turn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    As a Tennager this book is great!!!

    As a high school student that has a great intrest in science, this book was the BEST. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    greatest book ever!!!!!!!!!!

    best books i have read the story grabs you and pulls you in fast and unexectedly. the gory detail, the story,the facts and realism,the characters all twist in to one amazing book!!! (a must read!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    An awsome use of description and imagery.

    Richard Preston does it again, only better. This book far exceeded my expectations. After reading The Hot Zone, and hearing him talk about a sequal to it on Mancows Morning Madhouse, I just couldn't wait for it to come out. The first time I found The Cobra Event I bought it emediatly. I started reading an just could not put it down. I loved it so much that I also bought the hardcover. The descriptions were so vivid that I could just picture everything in my mind. Personally I believe that this book should be turned into a movie using the book as the script.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    the best book EVER!

    don't ever skip reading this book! its is the greatest book ever! it has violent, gory thrashing, autopsies, conspiracies, real events, detailed passages of real viruses, and even ROMANCE! read this book if you want to call yourself knowledgeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6