Customer Reviews for

Cobweb Bride

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I loved the idea of this story.  And I can honestly say, the way

I loved the idea of this story.  And I can honestly say, the way the author implemented the concept was absolutely brilliant.  I mean, the initial scenes, when Death has chosen not to take the dying, brilliant.  Clear, vivid, haunting, and borderline traumatic.  I spent...
I loved the idea of this story.  And I can honestly say, the way the author implemented the concept was absolutely brilliant.  I mean, the initial scenes, when Death has chosen not to take the dying, brilliant.  Clear, vivid, haunting, and borderline traumatic.  I spent the time when I was reading it with my jaw dropped, devastated by what those people would end up going through before their times finally came.  Imagine, people in unbearable pain, but unable to get the release they so needed.




And there was one part I didn't see at all.  I don't want to say what it is because I don't want to ruin the surprise, but it threw the entire situation into an entirely new dimension.  It was a part of Death doing his job I would have never foreseen, and it was brilliant.




There were, as with most books, parts I didn't like.  For one, it takes hours for Rigor Mortis to set in, not minutes.  Also, the author makes comments about people starting to stink, when I'm not sure they should have yet.  Bodies can take several days to stink even in warm weather.  It's ice cold.  A body wouldn't even start to decay and stink until the weather warmed up again.  Also, there was an element involving food I found confusing.  They were concerned about food running out, but in those times, they would rely on the previous harvest all through the winter.  Why would there be a food shortage? 




I liked all the twists in the book.  There were quite a few times when I thought I knew how things were going to go, and was pleasantly surprised.




My main problem with the story, however, was with the ending.  The author keeps the momentum going straight up to the very end.  Which I kind of liked, up until the moment when the book just suddenly stopped.  I hadn't been paying attention to how far in I was, and felt jipped when it just ended like that.  I felt like I was only halfway through.




When I thought about it, the book really did have an ending, which is why I say it was likely the momentum which was the problem.  It didn't feel like it was ending any time soon, but it did.  There was a conclusion, and it did complete a story arc.  I will give her that.  I've read quite a few novels and novellas where I felt like the author just left me hanging.  This one was a cliffhanger, and clearly part of a series, but it had an ending.




Overall, I enjoyed the book.  There were some spots that nagged at me on the details of death, but I enjoyed it, and the pace kept me reading along at an alarming rate.  Definitely worth a read.

posted by theeternalscribe on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I thought the premise of this story was really interesting. I lo

I thought the premise of this story was really interesting. I loved the play off of the Greek myth of Hades (Death) and Persephone (Percy). I also thought the concept of death being frozen quite intriguing. I've never really thought of the ramifications that would stem ...
I thought the premise of this story was really interesting. I loved the play off of the Greek myth of Hades (Death) and Persephone (Percy). I also thought the concept of death being frozen quite intriguing. I've never really thought of the ramifications that would stem from that. You see, Death wants his bride, whom he cannot find, so he doesn't take anyone in death even if they physically are dead. This means that their spirits or living essence remains in their defeated bodies. This will not change until his bride comes to him. The story tells of him visiting the land and proclaiming his decision and search, the effects this has, and the characters responses. We get a wide view, but then also follow a few groups of individuals on their separate journeys and also as they meet up with each other at one point or another.

So now that you understand the general gist of the story, I have to say that it is a rather macabre and gruesome one, especially the first third or more through. It was so outrageous and gory that after I had read about soldiers that should be dead with missing limbs and whatnot, but were still living and fighting, I just couldn't take it when I read about a farmer whose pig wouldn't die as he was slaughtering him and the pig kept squealing and his daughter ran from the house screaming. I actually started laughing. Weird response, I know. But the story was so crazy! If I would change one thing, I would have appreciated a condensed version of these types of events in the book. I think after getting the gist, I could pass on any further descriptive gory details. Now for someone who enjoys this type of thing or who is really into zombies, this might be great reading. Not so much for me. There were also some crass comments as well about the situation and about girls' bodies that were too much for me.

Here is one example of the situation in the book and how one character felt about it:

"No," the Infanta repeated. "It is a portion of my final will that this man first come and speak with me, so that I can understand why he did this deed. Besides, you know he literally cannot die now. You can only ruin his body, with him still inhabiting it, a macabre horror that I beg you not to enact. Thus, instead, I must take the chance to understand him."
This almost immediately connected me to the Infanta. I really liked her thoughts and her decisions after what happened to her. This was in great contrast to another character whose body was dead, but who decided to fight Death's search so that he could live forever, and if he had to kill others so that they would be in the same state as him, so be it. That is just so wrong to me. I had debated stopping at a point just before this, but I did want to know what happened and if Percy was Death's Cobweb Bride. I struggled on and then after about half-way through the book the story didn't contain as much of the macabre situations or descriptions as in the first part. The characters and their journeys also come to the forefront of the story. This part of the book I actually really enjoyed. I really liked Percy, the Black Knight, the Infanta and her companion, and Death himself. I liked their actions and the small moments of thoughts, meaningful looks, and conversations.

Here is a quote I really liked from Death:

"Since the dawn of existence, you mortals have feared dying, feared the unknown and the pain of it, and yet, pain is a part of life, not death. And I–I am the first moment after pain ceases," he pronounced. "It is life that fights and struggles and rages; life, that tears at you in its last agonizing throes to hold on, even if but for one futile instant longer. . . . Whereas I, I come softly when it is all done."

This was like a nugget of wisdom among a crazy situation. The ending about killed me because, of course, this isn't a stand-alone, so there will be two more books to finish the story. There were the beginnings of a couple of love stories, but I don't know how they will turn out and who Death's bride is. I thought I knew, but I was wrong (unless there is a serious twist later).

If you don't mind the macabre content and you would like to read a very unique Gothic tale, then I would recommend picking this up.



Content: Quite a bit of violence, some crass comments/descriptions, and some innuendo.


Source: I received a copy from the tour host, which did not affect my review in any way.

posted by WishEnd on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    A powerful story along the lines of Death Takes a Holiday. As cr

    A powerful story along the lines of Death Takes a Holiday. As creepy and disturbing an opening as one can hope for, the story could easily be classed as horror. Yet, it is a story of redemption and second chances, of finding oneself under circumstances that are as strange as they possibly can be. The author touches upon themes of how the desire to hang on to power corrupts not only psychologically but physically as well, the desire to be accepted and useful, and that overriding desire to love and be loved. The politics are complex but not overly so. I liked the descriptions of what can happen should people be unable to die. And the ending will surprise as well as whet your appetite for the second in this trilogy. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    I did not know what to expect when i started this book. But foun

    I did not know what to expect when i started this book. But found an opulent and detailed world, where death has ceased his function. He will no longer take those who have earned in valor or sickness, in weakness or strength the reward of ending of a life. It has come to pass that he has lost his Cobweb Bride, and that in his longing he has asked the world to help him find her.  Percy (Persephone) is a young peasant girl, who is not beautiful or comely, but hides her intelligence and curiosity behind a shroud of misdirection. Only loved by her father whom she helps work on the farm. Her grandmother has be left stuck between the living and the dead. And her death rattle has echoed through the house for days, when an announcement comes to their little town that Death is waiting his Cobweb Bride, and that all eligible girls are to attempt to reach is castle and attempt to become his Cobweb Bride.  This all occurs in the first chapter of this book. And a reader will find that with in its pages is a great love story, and a great story of loss, fealty, and compassion. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    I loved the whole trilogy.  Unique and kept me turning the pages

    I loved the whole trilogy.  Unique and kept me turning the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    This book is well written and unique. I loved how it kept me gue

    This book is well written and unique. I loved how it kept me guessing. I hate it when I can predict the plot. This author has me so excited to see where the story is going.  It is a bit gory, but not too bad. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    This book was a departure from what I normally read, but I reall

    This book was a departure from what I normally read, but I really enjoyed it! If you like historical fiction with a twist, you should give this book a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Jrt

    What a good book had you guessing who the bride was going to be. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Unique and compelling!

    I LOVED this book! The story was so different from anything I'd ever read...it's refreshing to come across a new idea for a change. Yes, there are some graphic scenes, especially early on, but I think that was done purposely by the author to illustrate how lack of death is actually a curse and not a blessing. I wouldn't recommend it for younger readers. This is more of a fairy tale for adults. This story was very well written, and was quite thought provoking. It'd be a good book club pick. I never was quite sure what was going to happen next; this book held my interest because there was nothing predictable about it! As stated by another reviewer, the book did end kind of abruptly. There was a definite conclusion, not just a cliffhanger ending, but it came so suddenly in the story that I was a little shocked. Part of the problem was that there are about 30 extra pages at the end, so you think there is more to come, and part of the problem is just the way it's written. All in all, this was a great read. I plan on purchasing the sequel and checking out other works by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book in one sitting, and was left speechless. I love

    I read this book in one sitting, and was left speechless. I love Vera Nazarian's previous novels, but they pale in comparison to the utter perfection that is Cobweb Bride. It is quite simply one of the most beautifully written stories I have ever read.

    The eerie descriptions paint a wintery world of shadow and breathless anticipation seemingly without effort. You know how in some books you find yourself skimming over the descriptions to get to the interesting part? Not in this book, you don't. The world is a living, breathing character.

    In many ways, this story is a fairy-tale. A dark, shivery fairy-tale with an intensity that grabs hold and doesn't let go. I am having trouble describing the atmosphere, it is so different from other books. It is macabre and wondrous, beautiful and frightening, all at the same time.

    I generally dislike books with multiple main characters and story-lines, but it didn't bother me for a moment in Cobweb Bride, so skillfully were they woven together. The murdered princess unable to die, the unappreciated daughter who finds purpose, the conflicted young knight...their unconnected lives suddenly inextricably bound together. I found it fascinating to watch everyone react to a world where people were suddenly unable to die. Wonder, horror, revulsion, fear, grief - everyone reacts differently.

    The author does a wonderful job in explaining how important death is, in ways both obvious and unexpected. When suddenly no one and nothing dies, the world becomes, oddly enough, a scarier place. It is rare to find a fantasy novel of such depth.

    I would recommend this book to pretty much everybody. I honestly can't think of a single complaint or flaw. This story can be enjoyed equally by men and women, teens and adults. It's the closest to a perfect book I've come across in a long time.

    I received an advance e-galley through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    I loved the premise of the story. It was well-written and a boo

    I loved the premise of the story. It was well-written and a book I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Death has decreed that he will stop taking souls until his Cobwe

    Death has decreed that he will stop taking souls until his Cobweb Bride returns to him. This means no one will die, even when slain in battle or deathly ill – they will continue to simply be. Horrible, right? Even worse, this applies to every living thing, including the plants and animals that all living beings need to survive! (A reviewer seemed confused by this, I will explain shortly.) So if the Cobweb Bride does not return to Death’s side soon, every living being in the world will eventually fall victim to this in between world of life and death. But who or what is a Cobweb Bride?

    The premise of this novel is absolutely horrifying – I LOVE IT. The depth of this plot is brilliantly woven into the details of the ramifications of Death’s proclamations. This curse will affect everyone equally.The people of the kingdoms and their surrounding villages are quick to work together to find a solution as to right the world’s imbalance, but there are some that see advantages to being neither alive nor dead, and will fight to keep the world as is. A complex and ingenious narrative is enriched with characters you grow to love and connect with.

    We are given several in depth point of views from a few central characters. Each character develops their own philosophy on Death and Life that gives them different purpose. I came to love each character for their strength and their flaws, especially Percy. Her sad existence of being unloved and uncherished doesn’t affect her ability to love and care for others – this constantly tugged on my heartstrings!

    This novel is the first in a trilogy which is the reason for its seemingly abrupt ending. But I am so engrossed in this story and so attached to the characters that I need to know what will happen next! I will definitely continue reading.

    One reviewer mentioned this “Reality and unreality blend together throughout various settings, characters, and occurrences with a natural rhythm.” This is very true. It read much like historical fiction, with a supernatural vibe. If you came across this novel because you are interested in supernatural fiction, be warned that this is not written like contemporary fiction. I hate that some rated this book poorly because of this. This book is an excellent example of its unique blending of genres, (Horror, Romance, Historical Fiction, and Fantasy) and I can’t wait to read more!

    (To the reviewer that was confused about the food source I suppose misunderstood the writing. Food that comes from animals cannot be used, as the animal does not ever actually die. You can’t cook the meat, because even while cooked it will remain raw and will even move and show signs of “life”. Plants that were harvested before Death’s proclamation are fine, but after the proclamation they discontinue their life cycle, so they will not ever reach the point of harvest again.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Great read!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Excellent!

    Ive only given 5 stars a few times and this book is truly deserving! Its the kind of read where you find yourself checking the number of pages left because you dont want it to end! Read and leave the mundane world while you do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    This book had such lush, visual and dreamy writing.  Death c

    This book had such lush, visual and dreamy writing. 




    Death comes demanding his cobweb bride, but vaguely, and the Kingdom's are left confused, who is this Bride, what does she look like, what realm is she from, how do they find her? And where in the north is Death's keep, that no-one's heard of before.




    The immediate effects of a deathless world are horrifying, soldier's in battle missing arms and legs were carried home, very much alive, sometimes live bodies with severed heads. Food no longer became palatable, as meat wouldn't cook, vegetables wouldn't break down. It is apparent that soon the world will slowly starve to death, and yet, keep living for there is no death.




    Persephone, or "Percy" is a country village girl, with ashy brown hair, and swamp colored eyes, she's stocky, and pales in comparison to her older and younger sisters, who are beautiful and smart. When the decree is made that at least one girl from each family should seek Death's Keep, it's painfully clear her parent's preference over which child should go.




    Only Percy is the wise choice, because she has a sight the others don't. She can see death, she can see the deathly shadows that follow the would-be dead. So she starts her cold journey to the North, where she meets many other girls going to be a Cobweb bride. And the Duke Hoarfrost and his dead army, who want to stay immortal, and kidnap each girl they find heading north so that the Cobweb Bride shall never reach her destination.




    This book was addicting and hard to put down. As of this writing, it's a free offering at Barnes and Noble. It felt a little strange towards the end, some of the things Percy did seemed out of character - specifically her conversations with Death - you'll see what I mean. But otherwise this book was gorgeously written. Dark and ominous, heartbreaking and sad, yet passionate and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What if Death Stopped Collecting Souls?

    What if Death stopped collecting the mortally wounded, the aged whose time has come, the sick, anyone or anything intended to die? Think about it, death ceases to happen, period. Now, travel back in time to the era of knights and feudal lords, peasants and kings. Make it an alternate reality, in an imaginary place in Europe called the Kingdom of Lethe, and you have the makings of an epic fantasy rich in detail that will take you along on its journey. Death is looking for the one soul that has been denied him, his bride, and until he finds her, he refuses to allow death to happen. Cobweb Bride by Vera Nazarian will paint the scenes, mold the characters and allow you to fall into place beside them on their arduous journey to present a suitable bride to an entity feared, but necessary.

    The central focus is on Percy, the plain, middle daughter who has volunteered to offer herself to Death as his bride, to honor her grandmother’s wish to be released from life. She has seen what no one else has, the dark haze of death lingering in waiting, watching and prolonging life. Undead armies are rising up, undead rulers attempt to thwart the young women who have been forced to offer themselves to Death. A young princess should be dead, killed by an enraged warrior, but she too travels with Percy and a small group of brave girls, each unique, each rising above fear, as they search for Death’s realm.

    Building this world, Ms. Nazarian has spared no detail. The sights, the sounds, the feel of coarse cloth on one’s skin, not to mention the bitter cold, the brutal darkness of the deep forest and hunger all became part of MY world as I was lost in this tale. You will not find a fast-paced plot, the action will not fly off the page, but the characters will become people you know and respect. As the first book in a planned trilogy, the search has only begun, but the stage has been set, the characters are in place and the dark intrigue is like a magnet! I’m putting books 2 & 3 on my MUST read list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1