Customer Reviews for

Cocktails for Three

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cocktails for Three perfect if accompanied with cocktails by the pool

I took a cruise last March and read this book in a day while sitting by the pool having a few cocktails (fitting). It's a cute, humorous quick read. I was surprised how well Wickham developed her characters, and there were a few times where the drama in the story had m...
I took a cruise last March and read this book in a day while sitting by the pool having a few cocktails (fitting). It's a cute, humorous quick read. I was surprised how well Wickham developed her characters, and there were a few times where the drama in the story had me saying "oh my God, guess what just happened!?" to whoever was sitting next to me. I really could sympathize with the three main characters at times. If you like Wickham's other books I would definitely recommend this one. I also like how Wickham always pulls together for a (relatively) happy ending. If you're looking for something deep and meaningful, this isn't it, but it's worth reading if you're looking for something "fun"!

posted by La_Peligrosa on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but not great.

Cocktails for Three lacks an interesting plot and overall the characters fall flat. It is good for a quick read, but compared to the work she does as Sophie Kinsella it is nothing spectacular.

posted by painteddrum on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Cocktails for Three perfect if accompanied with cocktails by the pool

    I took a cruise last March and read this book in a day while sitting by the pool having a few cocktails (fitting). It's a cute, humorous quick read. I was surprised how well Wickham developed her characters, and there were a few times where the drama in the story had me saying "oh my God, guess what just happened!?" to whoever was sitting next to me. I really could sympathize with the three main characters at times. If you like Wickham's other books I would definitely recommend this one. I also like how Wickham always pulls together for a (relatively) happy ending. If you're looking for something deep and meaningful, this isn't it, but it's worth reading if you're looking for something "fun"!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Wickham...the Intelligent Chick Lit

    "Cocktails for Three" is one of those books that was just made for summer.....read it by the pool while sipping a strawberry daquiri. Reading any book by Madeleine Wickham is wonderful for zoning out...mindless entertainment with a heart. You may know Wickham better by her pen name, Miss Sophie Kinsella, the queen of British chick lit.

    This is the story of three best friends...each one with a secret. There is Candice, with a childlike innocence and a terrible past; Maggie, a new mother who does not feel any of the emotions that new moms are "supposed" to feel; and Roxanne, unbelievably glamorous with a secret man on the side. None are as happy inwardly as they portray to others. Their first of the month cocktail meetings are held as a release with friends. When a new girl enters the picture closely tied to Candice, will it tear the three friends apart for good or or bring them even closer together?

    I have said before that Wickham (AKA...Sophie Kinsella) is a master at "intelligent" chick lit. The reader cares about her characters and wants them to succeed. This is a great book to read when you want to get away from it all. It's a great form of escapism.

    MY RATING - 4

    To see my rating scale and other book reviews, please check out my website: http://www.1776books.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly nice

    I picked this book quite randomly one day when I was browsing the local Barnes and Noble. I was not expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed reading it from the minute I opened the book. It was not at all what I expected. I am usually a reader of Dean Koontz, Anne Rice, Stephen King... along those lines. So this was very different for me but I thought it was very nicely written. I have passed it on to my mum and on my next visit to the store I will look for other books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A FUN READ!

    I enjoyed it! I like the friendship between the 3 women and it kept me interested throughout the whole book.

    Thanks, Sophie!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Excellent!!

    Very enjoyable.to read Loved it from the first page to the last page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a good, solid book

    While it's not as good as her Shopaholic series, I think this book comes as a close second. I found it way better than Gatecrashers. It was an easy read that at times kept me wanting to read more.

    This book is almost like a Sex and the City. It's an enjoyable, short book and worth the read.

    On another note, I really like how Madeline Wickham uses two names. It's nice to be able to read these other books by her when there's nothing new out under her Sophie Kinsella

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay, but not great.

    Cocktails for Three lacks an interesting plot and overall the characters fall flat. It is good for a quick read, but compared to the work she does as Sophie Kinsella it is nothing spectacular.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Loved it!

    The perfect girls night in book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Good book

    Cute book for a girls reading group. About 3 girls who are friends and how each of their lives are so different but they all have a common ground. Their love for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good book

    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Love Kinsella, but this...

    ...was brutal to get through. It was sloppy and contained none of the wit and charm that made me such a fan of her other work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    I was able to relate to all three girls: the career woman I used to be, the mother I am now, and the girlfriend I've always been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed Cocktails for Three. Madeleine Wickham's style is present in this book just like in her other books. In Cocktails for Three Madeleine takes you on a journey through the lives of three best friends with three very different lives. All three girls are interesting and you feel yourself wanting to me each girls friend. Its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    happy I didn't put it down after the first chapter........

    At the beginning I was a little skeptical about this book. But 3 chapters into it, I couldn't put it down! I had it finished in 2 days. I would definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    it was okay...

    I was in the airport when I spotted this book and thought, well I loved Can You Keep a Secret? Definately not her best. Not bad, but not really worth it either. It's a 'take it or leave it' kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    Disappointing...

    This book really disappointed me.. there are so many better chick-lit books out there! I found myself skimming through the book, and the characters irritated me, especially Candice. Ugh! This was not the author's best work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really loved this book... I couldn't put the book down, wondering what would happen next.. a must read... *_*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Beach Read

    I really enjoy the Shopaholic series so I was curious about this book. It was a cute and easy read. Very feel good and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Hmmmm

    I like the shopaholic series way better than this one! I thought it was going to be a fun read but it wasn't that great. I lost interest in it half way, because you knew what was going to happen next. It needs more pizazz.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    A wonderful chick-lit read!!

    Sit down and get caught up in the world of Candice, Roxanne, and Maggie as their world tips with a chance encounter. While Maggie's story will strike a cord with mothers everywhere, Candice and Roxanne's stories will keep us rivited until the end. The girls prove that, through thick and thin, nothing comes between a girl and her true friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6