Customer Reviews for

Coco Chanel: An Intimate Life

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Love coco

I pick this vook because its great if you want a biography about coco chanel which i need for my biography due march

posted by 11629515 on February 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE STOP

Hello! We all who want to see what other people said about the book are very annoyed at all this cat stuff! Thanks for wasting my time! :/

posted by smpdance on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Love coco

    I pick this vook because its great if you want a biography about coco chanel which i need for my biography due march

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    PLEASE STOP

    Hello! We all who want to see what other people said about the book are very annoyed at all this cat stuff! Thanks for wasting my time! :/

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    If you love Gabrielle Chanel or a biography about any interestin

    If you love Gabrielle Chanel or a biography about any interesting person, you will love this book. It is detailed and factual, but also emotional. It really goes deep into her life and all that she went through. I am a huge Chanel fan, and this just made me love the woman behind the brand even more. She was a truly remarkable person.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    intrigueing era; ex-pat artists,pre-stock market crash and life in Paris fascinate a student of that era.

    Coco Chanel was full of herself, literally and figuratively! I'm amazed that a person of her impoverished background could be such a fashion snob.sly and cunning woman who used every person she ever met to her advantage. When she grew old she could always snuggle up to her millions each night!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Coco Chanel is a fantastic book if you want to have a deeper u


    Coco Chanel is a fantastic book if you want to have a deeper understanding of the famous Gabrielle Chanel’s life. From Chanel’s tragic childhood to her rise to fame, author Lisa Chaney does an impeccable job. One of the reasons this book helped capture me so much was all of the quotes Chaney used and how she told exactly where they were form in Chanel’s life. Not only were the quotes helpful with understanding how Chanel’s life was formed but also how the quotes were written into the story, it made you feel like you lived right alongside Chanel as she overcame so many battles. 
    Coco Chanel lived a very mysterious life and although many books and biographies have been written about her it is still very interesting to get every authors take on Chanel’s life. From the very beginning Chaney follows Chanel’s life from her birth in 1883 giving all the background needed about her ancestors to her mother and father to set an ideal scene for baby Gabrielle Chanel to be born.
    Chaney went on to write about how Chanel’s mother died and then her life in the orphanage until she moved out at the age of 18 to become a seamstress apprentice. Until one day she met a handsome solider which she eventually became his mistress, where in his mansion she found her love of fashion, which started with making her own hats. 
    This affair lasted three years until she met the love of her life Author Edward ‘Boy’ Capel. Boy helped her acquire her very own boutique, which lead to many more down the road. When he died in 1919, Chanel invented the little black dress, which some say is her greatest success. 
    Chanel worked right up to her death at the age of 88 in 1971. Her brand Chanel is still one of the most famous fashion brands in the world today due to its simplicity. 
    I choose this novel because it tied into my ethnography on personal styling. Although Coco Chanel never described herself as a person stylist, it was safe to say she styled the modern women of her time. 
    Overall I thought this book was very informational and helpful. I would personally give it five stars and I also would not mind reading it again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Uhh

    Boring!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Yur fafh 55(&

    F-hcb v cttldvzwr

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No

    No.

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Scourge

    The twolegs in the cars font have brains

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    ALL HOMESCHOOLERS

    GO TO HOMESCHOOLER RESULT TWO

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    To white

    Yes its are foverite

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1