Customer Reviews for

Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Wonderful as both a Tutorial and a Reference Guide!

    This book is absolutely fabulous as both a tutorial when you first start working with Cocoa and Objective-C and a reference guide for later on. Aaron covers the basics as well as more advanced topics equally well. His writing is as easy to understand as it is to read. Anyone even thinking about working with Cocoa HAS to have this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    Excellent Cocoa Book!

    This is an excellent book! Mr Hillegass is a fluid writer and I had no problem in following the tutorials. My only complaint is that the book was not thorough enough. There must me a sequel to this book! I would liked to have seen him cover networking. His website links to techstra where there exists a cornucopia of samples, solutions, and links to related cocoa topics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    Fabulous for anyone with less-than-recent experience

    I came into this book from the standpoint of a long time ago having done some degree of programming in Java and a larger degree in C and other languages, carrying a basic understanding of object oriented programming. I'm 1/3 through this book and am finding it just about perfect. From little things like a quick reminder of what @ means in C (yes, it has been a while), to very good work-through examples and effective textbook-style 'challenges' at the end of each chapter. This book is far superior to 'Learning Cocoa'. Buy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Great book from a great teacher

    Incredibly comprehensive... absolutely all you need to learn Cocoa and start building OS X applications now. If you got a Barnes and Noble gift certificate over the holidays and you've been wondering where to spend it, consider your decision made. Hillegass's book makes it obvious that classroom testing is the best way to produce good learning material. It also has a cool on-line tool, Techstra. If you run into problems or questions, plug in the page numbers you're dealing with, and you get additional information, comments, etc. about that area of the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Excellent Book

    This book is very well written. The diagrams and examples shown in this book make the concepts understandable. Many features and topics are covered in this book in regards to Cocoa frameworks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    Skimps on details

    If I could I would have given this book zero stars, but at least the publisher used recycled paper. The author briefly covers Objective-C, but doesn't delve very well into the differences between Objective-C and C/C++, Java or for that matter SmallTalk (on whose syntax Objective-C is based). That is my biggest gripe. Objective-C is C in name only. There was no discussion of the pitfalls of Objective-C. I had to dig on the net to find out you can't create Objective-C objects on the stack. I would be reading the book and be thinking about how I would solve a particular problem in a different language, and there would be no discussion along those lines. You can program in Java to create a Cocoa app, and Apple provides its tutorial to get a programmer going, but the author actually tries to dissuage his readers from using Java. It doesn't even serve as any sort of proper Cocoa API reference. I guess I'll just stick with Apple's documentation.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    The most comprehensive text available for OS10

    After floundering through the available on-line resources and the other texts available from... (well lets just say the other publisher), it was refreshing to thumb through the pages of a book that actually explained what was being done. If you're simply looking for step-by-step examples, I say go with the other book. But if you want to understand Cocoa programming get yourself a copy of Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X by Aaron Hillegass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Best Cocoa book yet --

    This is the first Cocoa book I have found that comfortably leads the reader from Objective-C and Cocoa concepts to lots of understandable working code. The examples illustrate the power of Interface Builder but are, refreshingly, only complex enough to illustrate concepts. Much of the book covers the essential Cocoa concepts that make the interfaces run and the tight integration of the code with IB. The documentation required to create the examples is all within the book. References to Apple documentation are there to lead the reader beyond the content of the book. The writing is not only understandable but very efficient. As a result even more material is covered than might be expected from the healthy 432 pages. Don't start underlining! Every word is important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Learn from the master...

    I actually carry this book with me to and from work. I have found it essential in getting up to speed in Cocoa programming quickly (I had a Java background). Apple's documentation and examples leave much to be desired, and this book fills the gaps. All of the code snippets are easily reused (like the printing example), which allows me to concentrate on the more important aspects of my application's logic. Each chapter introduces a new topic, most of which build on previous examples. I don't think I can praise the book enough for it's value. I was fortunate to learn from Aaron personally at the Big Nerd Ranch. If you can't make the pilgrimage to the BNR, this book is the next best thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1