BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great read. Great fish preparation recipies, too.

    I am old enough to remember my Norwegian immigrand grandparents, talk about codfish like was indeed, delivered to the virtuous directly from the hand of God. I recall seeing these fish, longer than my fathers' arm, displayed on crushed ice in the markets of Reykjavik in the early 70's. I also recall how upsetting it was to hear that the Canadians had place a ban on fishing cod on the Grand Banks in 1992, due to the threat of potential collapse of the cod biomass in the Atlantic. This is a quick and breezy ode to the North Atlantic species venerated by most of the world's population. Sprinkled with WONDERFUL recipies, it should appeal to those interested in cooking great simple food like grandma made, and enviornmentalists concerned with the failures of bad regulatory policy. The writing is engaging. Even if you are not thrilled with the prospect of a cod fish dinner, everyone interested on continuing to live here on earth should to try to understand how humans need to mitigate the past the destruction of all of earth's bounty. My husband is an often "commercial" fisherman. My stepson is trying to earn a living in the same profession, and watching the government attempts at stewardship of American territorial waters is like watching a Shakespearian tragedy from the stage wings. Even if you know the outcome of the story, you still weep. I'd like to know that one day, my great granchildren will be able to enjoy a fine cod fish dinner on Christmas Eve.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Fascinating Read.!!! Absolutely wonderful book about this Historic and Significant FISH. Would sincerely recommend this as a very interesting account of a fishery we all have taken for granted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Nothing Fishy Here

    Who knew what an impact one species of fish could have on the history of the world? But impact it, cod certainly has. From England to Iceland to Newfoundland, Spain, the US and Scandinavia, cod figured prominently over the several hundred years.

    What could have been a very dry read was made quite compelling by Kurlansky. He included the politics, the biology, the economics and the environmental impact while always remembering the humanity that depends on the sea for their livelihood.

    Kurlansky also nicely ties in the topic of another of his books, "Salt". Seems that cod could not have become such a staple around the world without it.

    A short, but information packed book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Very Interesting Read - Highly Recommended

    This book may seem to be focused on the significance of cod in history but it goes much beyond that to encompass a broader, richly detailed history of humanity with cod at its central focus. In a way the book isn't a narrative just about cod, but of the contributions that have been made possible in large part due to cod. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Fascinating

    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Shelby

    Here?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Cod

    Cod

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Read this book for an anthropology class and it is wonderful. I

    Read this book for an anthropology class and it is wonderful. It ties together a variety of cultures and their use of cod and gives it a historical perspective. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Very interesting book - full of surprising historical detail. The story of cod might seem a little bland - but the book grabs the reader from thie first pages. Thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great read!!!!!

    It was an excellent book, and i loved it. The last 30 pages are just recipies though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Cod

    This was the most boring book i have ever read. I dont see why anyone would write a book on how cod changed the world. If you want to write a book on how something changed the world pick something that actualy did!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Great read

    A very good look at the way humans can affect an ecosystem that was once thought to be inexhaustable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Kurlansky Strikes Again

    Mark Kurlansky has an astounding capacity to write great books about mundane subjects. Who would think that a book about the fat, unattractive cod could be so interesting, or so important to global history? Readers of Kurland's history of salt would have had a hint of cod's importance, and hopefully made more sensitive to the incredible importance of the simple things all around us. His epigrams are absolutely wondeful, and the interspersal of cod recipes works seamlessly. A great story well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Interesting history of the the North Atlantic

    An easy read, this book makes one wonder why there is no mention of these people taught in early history class. One wonders if the Cod industry really had such a profound effect on history.It is delightful to beleive that all presented is fact. Very interesting even if you don't care for fish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Worth the time

    I heard this book-on-tape daily while driving to work. It was so enthralling that I couldn't wait to get in traffic jams to hear the next bit. Fortunately, the non-linear format fit well with listenting to short (or long) blurbs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    The Things You Don't know

    It's a bit haphazard, but fascinating to read as places and facts come together to tell a story that we're in real danger of forgetting. Cod is something you see laid out white and usually frozen in a glistening steel case. It has little connection with the fish and the people who pursued it. I was left with a feeling of loss at the thought that the teeming millions of fat cod that built countries are gone and if they dare to return, they will be harvested so efficiently that there won't be time to develop another culture around them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    The Best 'Fish Story.'

    This is a book packed with little known facts aboout the history of the United States. If history could be taught in high schools from writings such as 'Cod', I am sure children would leave school with a much better understanding of history. This book was picked for our book club. Everyone was amazed at the facts revealed in 'Cod' and it allowed for a long discussion over our meal which of course was cod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    Very Entertaining

    This book was SO interesting! And I am not even a fisherman, in fact I am a 37 year old mom and housewife and graphic designer. It was so well written I always looked forward to the next chapter and on occasion even laughed out loud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    the Book That Surprised Me

    When I picked up this book, i expected a dry historical account. Instead, I found an amusingly informative description of the plight of the cod and how the situation developed. I strongly recommend this for anyone interested in history, activism, or fish :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2