BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Code: The Hidden Language of Computer Hardware and Software

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    Excellent book!

    I could not put the book down once I started reading it. The book begins with an explaination of the binary language. It then walks you through the implementation of 'binary' in computer components (i.e. memory, cpu, bios). This book also provides a high level overview of computer history. I thought the author did an excellant job - the book is easy to read and does not assume you know anything! I am a computer professional (for over 10 years) and would recommend this book to ANYONE.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    The Greatest Book On Computer Engineering I've Ever Read!

    I'm a Computer Engineer and can say that this is simply as good as it gets. Petzold's ability to teach is extraordinary! All claims made by the author are backed in full.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    Simply put. Ingenious.

    This is by far the best, most straightforward, simply put book on electronics and computers I have read. Petzold portrays very sophisticated electronic and concepts in a simple and intelligent way. This has to be exactly how the inverters think, who developed complicated electronics. Petzold walks you through the simplest concepts of electronics and code to build up to complex systems. The book is also sprinkled with history of key people in code development that is worked in beautifully with this book. It is not very often that you can find a book (or professor) that can explain and deduce things in such a clear and natural way. There are no leaps (or gaps) in explaining the concepts. Yet there is never a dull or drawn out moment. Petzold lays out the book in a progressive story manner, starting with kids playing with flashslights all the way to how modern computers work. The book is not like a memorize and test textbook, yet you will know more about electronics and code this way because it is such a joy to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    This is great

    This book is just what any computer science student needs. I learned more with this book than in four years at school.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    A unique book

    Get this book if you want to learn how computers work. This is not a book for those who want to get familiar with what is inside a computer. This is a book for those who are asking what the parts inside a computer are doing to become a machine that does more stuff than anyone can practically do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    From transistors to Assembly Language

    This is an incredible book! I started my development career at the C and C++ level, so there was always some mystery as to what was actually under the hood. This book explains how a computer works, starting from how a transistor works. It then goes on to how to build logic gates, adders, and even simple memory using combinations of transistors. Then it goes on to build a simple computer complete with a simple assembly language. Of course some details are left out. You will probably not be able to build an actual computer from scratch after reading this book. You will however, have a very complete view of how a computer actually works. On top of this, the book is less than $20.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    As always...

    Charles Petzold shows that he is one of the great tech writers. I first saw his books with the classic "Programming Windows" series and I have been hooked since then.

    In "Code" he succeeds yet again with a clear, concise explanation of how the modern world works relative to all things digital.

    One truly cannot go wrong with this selection.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Code

    Super god for a code tjat ypu want to make at school like me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    This book is extremely useful for those who are trying to unders

    This book is extremely useful for those who are trying to understand how the extremely complex hardware of computers works

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    A good overview

    Petzold's writing is unpretentious, staightforward, and even fun. You will learn a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Bunch of lies!!!!!

    If you know how binary works, you can probably tell that there is only 7 bits instead of the normal eight!!!!! And they lie to you about hex! They tell you that there are 16 digits in hex instead of 15, when there are really 15 digit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Incredible

    This was eaisly the best book I've read relating to basic comptuer science. I've been amazed at the depth of information, as well as Petzolds amazing explainations that make the complex interworkings seem easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Outstanding!

    Complicated technical concepts (that are simple once you understand them) are hard to voice in non-technical terms. This author is an artist in his writing. He made elusive concepts simpler for me to grasp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2