Customer Reviews for

Code Blue (Prescription for Trouble Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1072 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(279)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(145)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Fresh New Voice in Christian Fiction

Cathy Sewell doesn't just find herself a woman doctor in a man's world. She is a family doctor in a town ruled by specialists. And she has to prove herself and her abilities to gain the hospital privileges she needs to best help her patients. But someone doesn't want he...
Cathy Sewell doesn't just find herself a woman doctor in a man's world. She is a family doctor in a town ruled by specialists. And she has to prove herself and her abilities to gain the hospital privileges she needs to best help her patients. But someone doesn't want her to succeed.

I enjoyed watching Cathy prove her worth over and over. But would it be enough?

Richard L. Mabry, MD is a writer to watch. He brings a fresh new voice to Christian Fiction and medical suspense.

posted by SharonALavy on June 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

False advertising.

It wasn't very good even for what it was advertised as, which was a "medical thriller." The man who wrote it really does a poor job with a female main character viewpoint, and the poor writing of the main character made the prose agonizingly tedious to read. I made twen...
It wasn't very good even for what it was advertised as, which was a "medical thriller." The man who wrote it really does a poor job with a female main character viewpoint, and the poor writing of the main character made the prose agonizingly tedious to read. I made twenty pages before I simply could not continue.

Also, could it have been specifically advertised as Christian fiction instead of as a medical thriller? I'm not Christian and I don't care to be preached at. If I had known that this is actually Christian fiction, I wouldn't have downloaded it at all. Why not be up front about this and save some bad reviews brought on by the bait and switch?

posted by Waterlylly on December 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1079 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    False advertising.

    It wasn't very good even for what it was advertised as, which was a "medical thriller." The man who wrote it really does a poor job with a female main character viewpoint, and the poor writing of the main character made the prose agonizingly tedious to read. I made twenty pages before I simply could not continue.

    Also, could it have been specifically advertised as Christian fiction instead of as a medical thriller? I'm not Christian and I don't care to be preached at. If I had known that this is actually Christian fiction, I wouldn't have downloaded it at all. Why not be up front about this and save some bad reviews brought on by the bait and switch?

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Not Impressed

    This book repeats the obvious over and over again. The main character seems like an idiot most of the time and the end is a laugh. Let's not even go into the typos. Could have been an interesting story although I felt like a radical religious person cornered me at dull party. I rated it a 2 because I was interested enough to read it to the end. I would not buy this book and I will not be reading any of the series. Hope this helps.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Too religious for me

    I agree with some of the previous reviewers, and I must say, this is the first time I'm actually reviewing a book. I found the writing a little awkward, the formatting a tiny bit frustrating (but I'm getting used to that with some ebooks, though I shouldn't have to), but what almost caused me to stop reading the book was the preaching throughout the story. I probably should add that I'm not Christian, and once I figured out the direction of the "return to church" storyline, I had to make a decision whether to continue to read the book. I did finish the book, but I will not be reading any other books of Mr. Mabry's.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    Mediocre story with a misleading description

    This book was presented as medical suspense on the B&N Unbound blog. I suspect many of us expected something similar to Robin Cook or Michael Palmer. And I also suspect many of us were disappointed to find it was nothing like that. Granted, the protagonist is a doctor and parts of the story take place in her office or a hospital, but engaging medical suspense requires a bit more than that.

    While quick and easy to read, the story was quite mediocre and not too terribly suspenseful. My biggest complaint, however, was the Christian agenda. I feel it is inexcusable that neither the book description nor the B&N blog description called attention to this aspect. As a non-Christian, I found this aspect offensive, boring and completely irrelevant to the plot.

    Note that this ebook contains numerous distracting formatting errors.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Christian fiction is not for me

    Too preachy. I didn't know this was Christian fiction when I downloaded it. The story line did not make up all the talk of finding a way back to God. Plot no good.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Boring!

    Very poorly written. This could have been a Lifetime movie of the week. It was that bad! I shouldn't complain since it was free, but it was no better than a cheesy Harlequin romance. *yawn* I'd give it zero stars if I could.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Worth what I paid!

    A couple hours I'll never get back. As if the writing wasn't bad enough, the book was apparently never proofed. For example, any word ending in "ff" (off, sheriff, you get the idea) is run into the adjacent word. Many periods not followed by proper spacing. Hard to complain I suppose when the price is free, but come on now, even automated proofing should pick up defects like the aforementioned.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fresh New Voice in Christian Fiction

    Cathy Sewell doesn't just find herself a woman doctor in a man's world. She is a family doctor in a town ruled by specialists. And she has to prove herself and her abilities to gain the hospital privileges she needs to best help her patients. But someone doesn't want her to succeed.

    I enjoyed watching Cathy prove her worth over and over. But would it be enough?

    Richard L. Mabry, MD is a writer to watch. He brings a fresh new voice to Christian Fiction and medical suspense.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Worthless and Totally Predictable/Misleading Come-on

    The medical "drama" passages seem to be on point. But that's about it.

    It takes almost half the book before we're even made aware of any reasons why the main character might be disliked in her home town. Which would be a fine lead-in if there were anything "medical" about the drama, but it's all very trite.

    As far as the religious overtones, thank you but no thank you. I'm very happy that Dr. Mabry (the author) is Christian. But I don't need to be beat over the head with this.

    The book is a very thinly disguised religious tract. There are even "discussion" questions at the end of the book. I haven't read a novel with printed questions in it since high school, and those were American classics, not religious tracts.

    On the one hand, it was a fast read because I couldn't wait to get through it, and I dislike not finishing books I start. On the other it was a struggle once I realized that all of the cardboard cutout characters were proselytizing at the reader in one way or another.

    On the other hand it was great that it was a free Friday download. Now I know to never read another Mabry book again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    The Christian message was a little forced.

    I enjoyed the book.. it was decently written. I like Christian fiction, but it almost seemed like the author was trying to force it in there and that made it awkward in some spots. Someone else commented about the constant "preaching" and it was pretty preachy. It was also a short book, so there wasn't a lot of character development... it was almost a race to finish the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Enjoyable Medical Mystery!

    Cathy is trying to get a medical practice running in her hometown. She encounters obstacles at every turn, including a malpractice suit. Bad luck with past relationships has caused her to have a strong mistrust of men. Is she just being paranoid or does she have an enemy trying to sabotage her practice? While "Code Blue" should not be labeled as a big-time medical thriller, it definitely satisfies as a pleasing who-done-it. I found the characters to be likable and real. The Christian beliefs of the author reflect in his writing, but do not disrupt from the story. In fact, it does just the opposite as it adds insight to the actions and decisions of the characters. If you are looking for a clean, quick-read mystery that is both enjoyable and fun, this book is for you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    Don't bother

    The book was mediocre... don't waste your time. There are so many good books out there!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Good christian mystery

    Not sure why alot of people are giving bad reviews just for being a christian fiction book. Seems that if they had read any of the reviews prior to purchasing the book, then they should have known that. Yes, the female lead has some mental struggles. Yes, i figured out who probably did it before they said. I still enjoyed reading the book and will most likely read the next one too. I gave it s four star just because i'm used to Brandilyn Collins books being such thrillers and suspensful that it was slightly lacking in that area for my taste.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Great book!

    Suspenseful and sweet. Couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it~!!!

    combine a medical background book with a mystery and you have me hooked! I loved reading this book and couldn't wait tp finish it! A great read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great, upcoming author

    This is a wonderful Christian thriller. I enjoyed every page. The characters were well developed and I found myself wishing for a sequal just so Icould follow more of their lives. The plot was designed really well and I was surprised in the end. I will certainly be reading more of Dr. Mabry's books. I greatly appreciated being able to read a clean thriller that was free of cursing, nudity and immoral values.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Good storyline. very timely

    I enjoyed the book a great deal. The characters were easy to "get to know" and there were some surprises. great book for an easy read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Not Bad

    I enjoyed this enough to buy two more of his books. The theme is murder, frame ups, and redemption. A Christian theme runs throughout the book, not so much that it overtakes the murder mystery of the book. The book also shows that bad things happen to good people and vice-versa. Like I said I ordered two more of his books. Enjoy the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Code Blue

    For this to be the author's first novel, it was "excellent" and very uplifting! I truly enjoyed reading it. I didn't want to put it down once I started reading it. Keep up the excellent work Dr. Mabry.
    C. Morrison

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    From the very first sentence you're hooked. It was great to fin

    From the very first sentence you're hooked. It was great to find a good mystery book that is also void of bad language and sex scenes.

    Dr. Mabry stands on his own talent and doesn't need those kinds of distractions. You won't be able to put it down, I read it in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1079 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54