Customer Reviews for

Code Name Verity (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Every once in a while a novel comes along that captures your im


Every once in a while a novel comes along that captures your imagination, involves your every emotion, and provides a dollop of history that will live forever in your mind. Code Name Verity is such a book.

Set in England and France during WWII, two women volunteers in...

Every once in a while a novel comes along that captures your imagination, involves your every emotion, and provides a dollop of history that will live forever in your mind. Code Name Verity is such a book.

Set in England and France during WWII, two women volunteers in the the WAAF (Women’s Auxiliary Air Force) become unlikely friends. One is a Lady of the English peerage (most often called Queenie by her friends); one is Maddie, a child of Russian immigrants. Both have their own talents and by strange chance, they end up shot down over German-occupied France. Maddie manages to get away, but Queenie is soon captured by the Gestapo.

As Queenie writes out her confession of spying in hopes of preventing further torture, Maddie does her best to save her. The story comes in a thrilling conclusion certain to wring the hardest heart.

I’m convinced you won’t be able to put Code Name Verity down. The plotting is tight and exciting. The research is meticulous. The book, although marketed as a YA, is suitable for all ages twelve or so and up. CNV is definitely on my top ten best reads of the year list, and so far sits at number one.

posted by CKCrigger on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I hate saying anything bad. But I couldn't get past the horrible

I hate saying anything bad. But I couldn't get past the horrible writing. The main character's confession is a narrative, then there is the question of who is talking since the narrator talks about herself in 3rd person. Lots of telling, no showing. meh. Plus, the autho...
I hate saying anything bad. But I couldn't get past the horrible writing. The main character's confession is a narrative, then there is the question of who is talking since the narrator talks about herself in 3rd person. Lots of telling, no showing. meh. Plus, the author says in the Author's Note how most of it is made up, there isn't much "historical" to the historical novel, and "frees" herself from getting some facts wrong (the few facts she does use) by saying some things are deliberate, some not.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Every once in a while a novel comes along that captures your im


    Every once in a while a novel comes along that captures your imagination, involves your every emotion, and provides a dollop of history that will live forever in your mind. Code Name Verity is such a book.

    Set in England and France during WWII, two women volunteers in the the WAAF (Women’s Auxiliary Air Force) become unlikely friends. One is a Lady of the English peerage (most often called Queenie by her friends); one is Maddie, a child of Russian immigrants. Both have their own talents and by strange chance, they end up shot down over German-occupied France. Maddie manages to get away, but Queenie is soon captured by the Gestapo.

    As Queenie writes out her confession of spying in hopes of preventing further torture, Maddie does her best to save her. The story comes in a thrilling conclusion certain to wring the hardest heart.

    I’m convinced you won’t be able to put Code Name Verity down. The plotting is tight and exciting. The research is meticulous. The book, although marketed as a YA, is suitable for all ages twelve or so and up. CNV is definitely on my top ten best reads of the year list, and so far sits at number one.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book set during WWII about friendship and strength

    Code Name Verity
    By: Elizabeth E. Wein
    Genre: YA Historical Fiction
    Pub Date: May 15th, 2012
    Rating: PG-13 for scenes of torture
    Coffee Beans: 5/5
    Spoilers: No way, José!
    Favorite Line: "It was cozy in perhaps the way you'd be cozy in hell." (ebook, pg 62)& "It's like being in love, discovering your best friend." (ebook, pg 80) & "And that I don't believe in God but if I did, if I did, It would be the God of Moses, angry and demanding and OUT FOR REVENGE,and…"(ebook, pg 318)

    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for this honest review

    My Review:

    There's not much I can say about this book without giving away the plot—which I don't want to do. This book is about the strength and love shared between best friends. About people banding together, risking everything to fight for strangers because they believe that they deserve more than what they have. It's about the deep, deep hollow that's created in one's soul at the pain someone they love is suffering through.

    My throat tightened, my heart ached, my fingers kept turning pages. And at the very last page, I mourned the losses and I cherished the victories and I had hope for the lives of those who survived.

    This is a fictional story, but the events that happened—the war, the Holocaust, the killing, the torture, the loss of so much—that is what I mourned at the last page of the book. Because in the end, what happened between these covers is only one of a million stories or possibilities of what some of our grandparents, parents, great-grandparents lived through. And like Wein's very last words: LEST WE FORGET.

    Now, on to a more specific review. I'm not a fan of historical fiction, normally, but I decided to give this one a go (mostly because I was in an ARC requesting frenzy), and I'm so glad I did. I'm also pleased as punch that I'm reading so many good authors, as of late. Elizabeth is one of them. She is, in one word, brilliant. The story she wrote is astounding in its complexity. But you don't realize it until the last third of the book. And here's why:

    The last third is told from someone else's point of view.

    I'll admit, at first this really threw me for a loop. I didn't like it. I thought it was dumb. Why the heck do I want (excuse me while I obsessively save my work in Word, lest we have another melt down), why the heck do I want to read this story from another pov? I like the one I'm in (she's funny and snarky and very specifically random). And to be honest, I don't like the new voice. At first. Then I fell in love.

    Both parts of the narrative are distinctly different, but neither is whole without the other. You start to pick up on clues with what the first girl had to say and how it plays into what's said in the second part. Then you start to think about the brains Wein has to construct both parts to make them independent but then a terrific mind puzzle when they're together. So brilliant.

    I won't say anymore, sorry for the abrupt ending, but I don't want to risk saying anything that would ruin the story. Please, I implore you, if this book sounds even remotely interesting to you, pick it up and read it. And share it with others. It's that good.

    Happy reading, my friends!

    RaeLynnFry.Blogspot

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great book

    As a guy, I didn't expect to enjoy this book. I was pleasently surprised when I found that not only did I enjoy the book, I couldn't put it down. The author manages to weave two independent stories together, believably, and supposedly insignificant things are found to be important later on. I'm a man who works hard, drives a large truck, and fixes pipes. Despite all this, I loved this book from it's sarcastic begining to it's heart-breaking climax. The characters are so well written that for the first few chapters I thought that I was possibly reading a biography of some kind. All in all, Code Name: Verity is a very complex and enrapturing tale of friendship that'll keep you reading until the very end and then some. Final note: I've never written a review before so please forgive any errors, I wrote this review to show that this book is more than a "chick" book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Friendship story with a twist

    This book was chosen by my book club, and at first I couldn't get into it. Maybe I was just busy or something, but it took me a bit to get into the story. But there's a particular point in the storyline that gives a huge twist and then it's surprise after surprise for the rest of the book. I loved the little historical details the author gives, and that she chose to write about an aspect of WWII that's not as popular to talk about. Overall, an awesome read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Queenie, daughter of an upper-crust family, is a wireless opera

    Queenie, daughter of an upper-crust family, is a wireless operator
    captured as an Allied spy and facing execution if she survives six weeks
    of medical experimentation in a Nazi camp. In an odd twist of fate, she
    is being interrogated in Ormaie, France, where she used to visit her
    grandmother and where her great-aunt still lives and is a part of the
    French Resistance. Maddie is a pilot in the Air Transport Auxiliary,
    ferrying planes and pilots but never allowed in a combat zone until the
    fateful flight that ended in disaster. Maddie is Jewish. In any
    circumstances other than war, these two women would almost certainly
    never have known each other and yet they have become the best of friends
    and trust each other completely. That trust will lead to a moment of
    devastation and sheer love. KISS ME , HARDY! Kiss me, QUICK! To say
    this is an engrossing story is to put it mildly. Much has been written
    fictionally about World War II but there is always room for more because
    we’re so fascinated with that piece of history. Having the horrors and
    the everyday routines of wartime built into the friendship of two women
    who find themselves in unbearable circumstances is nearly too much and I
    literally could not stop reading until I’d finished and then I wished
    for more. Ms. Wein tells a great tale and she does so by making the
    reader feel that these two women are much like most of us, willing to do
    our part in a bad time but still just ordinary people. Little things
    make the story come alive, such as the detail of the first successful
    ballpoint pen, licensed to the RAF in 1943 and manufactured for pilots
    who needed a way to write at high altitudes where increased pressure
    frequently caused fountain pens to leak. There are also the women’s
    lists of top ten fears which, not surprisingly, change as they learn
    what is really important to them. Above all, this is the story of what
    one person can mean to another and the sacrifices they’re willing to
    make for each other. Even Verity’s Nazi interrogator has shades of
    humanity, something the author didn’t have to do but still a touch that
    lifts this book above many other World War II novels. Is the ending of
    this tale a happy one? Most would say “no” but it’s an appropriate
    ending, one which will remain with me for a very long time. I’ll be
    including Code Name Verity in my top 5 books of 2012. KISS ME , HARDY!
    Kiss me, QUICK!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    World War II will never be forgotten. This fictional tale takes

    World War II will never be forgotten. This fictional tale takes the
    reader to WWII and introduces history in an entirely new way. Verity was
    captured by the Gestapo on a mission in France for the Allies. An expert
    actress with a can-do attitude and a mastery of the French and German
    languages, Verity was thought to be the perfect candidate for the
    mission that went so horribly wrong. While writing her confession for
    the Gestapo, Verity tells the story of her friendship with the female
    pilot who flew her to France. The pilot’s name is Maddie; she is brave,
    loyal, and goodhearted. Maddie has always been fascinated by flight,
    being a pilot is her dream job. Through their initial work as radio
    operators, Maddie and Verity met when guiding a German pilot to their
    air field to be taken as a prisoner of war. Then, the girls became
    friends after waiting out a German raid on their airfield and discussing
    their worst fears. Although they have very little in common, Verity and
    Maddie consider each other sisters and help each other grow and develop
    their skills. Maddie becomes a civilian pilot, shuttling pilots and
    damaged aircraft all over Brittan, and Verity’s missions become more and
    more complex. Writing her confession feels like a horrible betrayal to
    Verity’s home, but after weeks of mental and physical torture, Verity is
    pushed to her limit. According to the Gestapo, Maddie died after their
    plane was hit and Verity parachuted to the ground. Mourning Maddie and
    writing her confession, Verity struggles to survive. Written as a
    diary, Wein did an incredible job becoming her characters. Verity is
    spunky and wry even when all hope seems lost. Maddie is sincere,
    talented, and kind. Both girls are noble and easy to admire, Elizabeth
    Wein’s writing makes the reader feel as if she knows the characters.
    High school girls will love this novel. An audience of teenage girls
    would enjoy reading Code Name Verity. This book was excellent; five out
    of five stars!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Where do I even begin with this? I finished this book in JUNE a

    Where do I even begin with this?

    I finished this book in JUNE and it’s been over 7 months and I still can’t get myself to form words great enough to praise this
    MIND-BLOWING experience of a book. I was left emotionally wrecked after finishing Code Name Verity.

    It was written in such a way that I felt every single emotion and hurt right along with them. I WAS A COMPLETE MESS.
    No matter how hard I tried to close the book and sleep I couldn’t because the writing made me so invested in the story and the
    unbreakable bond of Verity and Maddie. Their friendship was like no other and I became emotionally attached to them both.

    Even after all this time I still can’t fully form the words to describe this book. I’m not exactly sure how I handled the end of the story,
    but I knew it involved ugly sobbing and a lot of ice cream. I wasn’t able to read another book for DAYS! Code Name Verity is most
    definitely one of my favorite books of 2012, if not one of my favorite books I’ve read so far.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Wow!

    Where's that darn 6th star when you need it?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Loved this book

    One of the best young adult novels I've ever read. You do not need to be a fan of historical fiction to enjoy this book.

    Read if you like books with: female friendship, espionage, puzzles, mind-games, history, WWII, strong female characters, planes and flying, love, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I¿ll just be really honest here¿I don¿t know what to write or s

    I’ll just be really honest here—I don’t know what to write or say about Code Name Verity. I can’t reveal too much of the plot. In the other hand, I have to write just enough for you to want to pick up this book. I’m afraid if I start writing about how I felt while and after reading this book, I might accidentally include unnecessary spoilers (and I guarantee that you will hate me for it, maybe). I’ll write as much as I can and I shall try my best to not include any spoilers.

    Code Name Verity is a story about two best friends, Queenie and Maddie. Although they are quite the opposite, Queenie being born from posh lineage, Maddie, a bike shop owner’s granddaughter, that didn’t stop them from becoming best friends while serving together in WAAF (Women’s Auxiliary Air Force) and staying like that even when the war separates them. These two have very little in common, but deep down they are incredibly strong, intelligent, loyal, and compassionate women.

    All Maddie ever wanted was to fly airplanes. When the war started, they didn’t accept female pilots but soon enough, they did. Queenie is fluent in both German and French. She has the ability to able to fleetingly change into different roles. She can be herself one second and someone entirely different the next.

    I admit that Maddie and Queenie are very unique and fascinating characters but the character that fascinates me the most is Queenie’s capturer and interrogator, SS-Hauptsturmfürer von Linden. I thought of him as a pure evil guy (even his name sounds scary) but as the story progresses, I learned a few about his life which changed the way I see him and which will cause the readers to be as confused as Queenie.

    It was a bit confusing at the beginning because Queenie tells her present story in first person, but switches to third person and focuses on Maddie every time she talks about the past. It was a little strange at first, having the narrator talk about herself in third person, but soon enough, I realized that it was an exceptional way for the author to help her readers adapt to constant alternations between the past and the present.

    The story starts off when Queenie gets captured by the Gestapo in France. Weeks passed and I think you can already guess what would happen to someone captured by the Gestapo—tortured. She made a deal with von Linden. He allows her to live for a few more weeks in exchange to writing down all the events that led her to him.

    ver·i·ty
    n. /`verit¿/
    A true principle or belief, esp. one of fundamental importance; truth

    Most people (myself included) don’t know what verity means. I only knew what verity meant when ‘they’ asked her (Queenie) what the truth was—is. That’s when everything started to make sense. Imagine a person reading a book. Imagine that that person doesn’t know the real identity of the narrator is or what the book is really about until…half of the book or almost half. Code Name Verity is a strange book, in a good way. I didn’t know or care whether it was the truth she was saying or if it was really her who says she is. I am very sure about one thing though; everyone—I mean every person—who has the ability to read must read this. Code Name Verity is one of those rare books; heart-breaking yet uplifting.

    Code Name Verity is a remarkable work of fiction.

    (I’m very sorry for not being apparent and for continuously switching tenses.)

    I won a copy of this book from a giveaway hosted by Read My Breath Away. All my reviews are my honest and personal opinion and are not influenced by anyone in anyway.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Code Name Verity is the sixth novel by British author, Elizabeth

    Code Name Verity is the sixth novel by British author, Elizabeth Wein. It tells the story of a pair of British women who crash-landed in France during World War Two. The first part is narrated by Queenie aka Scottie aka Eva Seiler aka….., a Special Operations Executive agent, and is written under duress at Gestapo HQ in the town of Ormaie in November 1943. SS Hauptsturmfuhrer Amadeus von Linden has forced from Queenie wireless code for the eleven wireless sets found in the wreck of the plane from which she jumped. What then follows, at his command, is Queenie’s account of the course of events that led to their flight to France and incorporates in that her friendship with Maddie Brodatt, the pilot of the downed plane. The second part gives Maddie’s version of events, and reveals that perhaps one of the narrators is not entirely reliable. Wein’s characters are multi-faceted and realistic: they all have their weaknesses and faults; even the evil ones possess a human side; many are not quite what they first seem. The dialogue, too, is credible and the plot is totally plausible, twists, turns and all. Wein’s extensive research is apparent on every page: a wealth of information is secreted in the story in easily digestible form. There is humour, heroism and horror, and enough heartbreak to bring a lump to the throat of even the most cynical reader. This is a tale of friendship and courage that is interesting, informative and ultimately, very moving

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This was a lovely book of heartbreak, defiance, and humor. Code

    This was a lovely book of heartbreak, defiance, and humor. Code Name Verity was an amazing tale of two best friends trapped in the chaos of WW 2. This book is appropriate for ages 10 and up, and was neither an easy nor difficult read. I enjoyed it, and I am so exited for the next book to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Not A Summary

    This book was extrodinary. I am not giving a summary of this book because 1. I don't know how and 2. Others have. All I will say is that when I checked this out of the library I didn't expect what I read. I laughed and I cried, a lot, and I was utterly amazed by this book. It was one of those books that I got connected to and at times it made my heart ache. I recommend this book to everyone. It wa so good I had to go iut and buy my own copy because I want to read it forever. I mean I'll admit that at times I had to reread some things because they were confusing, but this book was so good it was worth it, it was so good I read it in 4 hours. I highly recommend you read this book beacause it is magnificent and worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I hate saying anything bad. But I couldn't get past the horrible

    I hate saying anything bad. But I couldn't get past the horrible writing. The main character's confession is a narrative, then there is the question of who is talking since the narrator talks about herself in 3rd person. Lots of telling, no showing. meh. Plus, the author says in the Author's Note how most of it is made up, there isn't much "historical" to the historical novel, and "frees" herself from getting some facts wrong (the few facts she does use) by saying some things are deliberate, some not.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    I do not have children, nor am I close with children who are you

    I do not have children, nor am I close with children who are young adults, and so given what I read about the decline of education and how young adults are increasingly self-absorbed and out of touch with the world around them, I'm very uncertain how this book ended up in the YA genre. This would be great summer reading for a upperclassman in high school or even college student, but I think it'd be disturbing for anyone under the age of 16. Just my two cents and again, not a parent.

    All that aside, this is an incredibly well-written story. You learn about best friends Maddie and Queenie through Queenie's confession/statement to the Nazis. Further into the book one may think she is incredibly self absorbed and/or flakey, but everything is quite deliberate in the end. You see the incredible strength of two young women trying to overcome sexism and prove that women are just as brave and honorable as men.

    And succeed.

    Again, incredibly well-written, detailed, and dramatic (in the good sense, not melodrama). As Lt. C. Carwood Lipton of Easy Company once said, "It was a different time back then."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark, gritty and strangely compelling are just some of the words

    Dark, gritty and strangely compelling are just some of the words that come to mind when I think about this book.

    Code Name Verity is the story of two young women who live in the World War II era.  Each are doing men's jobs as the war in Europe continues.  When their plane gets shot down behind enemy lines, or should I say, Nazi-occupied France, it becomes a story of torture, sorrow, survival and maybe even treachery.

    When I first started reading this book, I will admit to having been slightly confused about the 'voices' of the book, and it was only as I read further that I understood the complexity of it and the book itself.  Written in first voice, but alternating between that and third voice as the story continued, there is no denying that this book had the power to suck me into its murky depths, and, yes, I drowned.  I cried.  There.  I said it.  My heart broke as much as Maddie's did when I read the last few chapters.  The slight bit of hope I had during the story was squashed flat - flatter than a pizza base.

    I fell in love with these characters - Julie and Maddie.  They were both very strong female characters - each doing their best to survive in one of the harshest times you can - during war.  Their characteristics seemed so real and their pain and turmoil became mine.  That's the sign of a good book.  When a reader has a deep connection with the characters it's hard for them not to like, even love, the book they're reading.  Yeah, that's how I felt.

    What made this book even more compelling were the fields the women had chosen to work in during the war effort.  I know enough about the Second World War to know that there was a shortage of men so women had to step up and take over their jobs to keep the country running, but these two women went one step further.  One was a pilot - the other a spy. 

    And the writing was done in such a way that it felt like there was a story within a story.  When it was written in the third voice that was where I learned about the dynamics between Julie and Maddie's friendship and the events that lead up to the crash-landing and capture.

    There was a lot of information about planes and other things, which I kind of brushed over, even though it was really interesting to learn about things I didn't know much about.  I was too caught up with the friendships between the women and the tension and mystery flowing throughout the book.  I think as far as the plot goes, it was sensational.  Historical fiction, good historical fiction, always knows how to get to me.  This book was no exception.  I love historical fiction, even if I don't read enough of it.   And what's also rare about this book was that there was no romance in it - none, and even though I love romance, I didn't care there wasn't any in this book.  It would have felt wrong if there had been.

    I would recommend this book to everyone.  Everyone should give this book a chance so they can discover if it is for them or not.  As for me, I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved it

    This book and its characters are endearing.. not one that I will forget about for some time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Clever and compelling

    Original loved it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Amazing

    I read this book and relized i am glad that i have such great friends and so does verity. I loved this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am not a fan of historical fiction. No, I've never particularl

    I am not a fan of historical fiction. No, I've never particularly enjoyed the genre. I've always been a fantasy and sci fi girl through and through, but I decided to give Code Name Verity a chance for two reasons: (1) I thought it was about time that I tried something new and (2) this book was so hyped-up and I was curious.

    Admittedly, I don't like hyped-up books. I always like rooting for the underdogs, so whenever I see a hyped-up book, I want to read it to prove everyone else wrong. I want to prove that another book--one of the underdogs--is better. Sometimes I do finish the book and think, "So-and-so book was better." And sometimes I finish the book and think, "I was wrong."

    Code Name Verity was one of the latter.

    The first few pages of this book were a bore. I was looking for an excuse to drop it, but I decided that I'd give it fifty pages before I'd start another book. The narrator--"Verity"--seemed to draw out her words, making her sentences much longer than they had to be. I had trouble deciphering her eloquent language, and I mostly skimmed over the tedious descriptions she provided.

    Somewhere in those fifty pages, I realized that the writing was just her style.

    Fifty pages along, I got too caught up in the plot to even think about her writing style.

    Even though I have never been a fan of history (hey, this A+ student here is a whiz in math and science, all right?), World War II has always been such an interesting topic to me. War is just so horribly fascinating. Not the machinery and aircraft used, no. (I get bored to death, hearing about those.) No, it's the people. The spies. The interrogators. The pilots. The soldiers. They fascinate me, these people who are willing to lay down their lives for a cause they believe in. And the people in this book are just so plausible. They could be one of my friends. And they all have their faults and imperfections, but they also have their good aspects. I loved Verity and Maddie and Jamie. I loved how Verity always took offense when people called her English (she's Scottish), I loved the feeling Maddie had when she was in the air, I loved how understanding Jamie was. These people--HOW ARE THEY SO BELIEVABLE.

    And the complexities in this novel! ELIZABETH WEIN, YOU ARE GENIUS. Surprises hitting me AT EVERY TURN, and clues being passed EVER SO SUBTLY. Just absolutely genius. I really wish I could say more on the subject, but there would be simply too many spoilers.

    And perhaps the most important aspect: Verity and Maddie's relationship. I have a best friend, you see, who's been with me for eleven years of my life. (Considering that I'm only a teen, that's more than half my life.) And I get it. I really do. The knowing someone like the back of your hand, the emotions behind everything that you do. I get it. It's hard to explain--it really is--but Wein captures it so perfectly.

    Code Name Verity was fabulous. It's more than a book about the hardships of war. It's a book about a bond so deep that death can't sever. The name of that bond? Friendship.

    Source: ARC/galley received from publisher for review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5