Customer Reviews for

Code Orange

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A thriller!

'Code Orange' was a book I read for Summer Reading. The first few chapters didn't pull me in, but I decided that I should keep reading. I am glad that I did! This is probably one of my favorite books! I finished it in less than a day and it is a terriffic, fast read...
'Code Orange' was a book I read for Summer Reading. The first few chapters didn't pull me in, but I decided that I should keep reading. I am glad that I did! This is probably one of my favorite books! I finished it in less than a day and it is a terriffic, fast read. I would recomend it to everyone and anyone.

posted by BookLover44 on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

A very good read, somthing i see me reading over and over again!

posted by 10748513 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A thriller!

    'Code Orange' was a book I read for Summer Reading. The first few chapters didn't pull me in, but I decided that I should keep reading. I am glad that I did! This is probably one of my favorite books! I finished it in less than a day and it is a terriffic, fast read. I would recomend it to everyone and anyone.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Heart Racing Read

    Code Orange by Caroline B. Cooney is a scary and amazing read. Just like in previous books, Cooney manages to portray a real feeling, emotional, scary, teenage setting. Mitty is a normal, lazy, teenage guy growing up in New York City. That is until his teacher assigns a report on infectious diseases and he actually decides to do his homework for once. He opens a hundred year old book his mother has lying around and finds Smallpox scabs from the 1911 epidemic. It doesn't occur to him until about half way through his report what this could mean for him. As teens are prone to do, Mitty keeps the problem to himself and lets it haunt him. This book is an emotional roller coaster, one minute Mitty's sure he's dying, the next he figures his contact with the scabs was actually an ancient innaculation, the next he's worrying about opening the epidemic again to the whole world. This story has an amazing, new and exciting plot; an invisible enemy with no brain and no conscience. This story has an amazing ending and will leave your skin crawling for days. This is most definately an unforgettable read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    One of the best books i have read in a while. Fast paced and keeps you thinking. Amazing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Wonderful

    A very good read, somthing i see me reading over and over again!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    code orange

    code orange is a really good book. its about this boy Mitty who has to do a history report and he did his on smallpox. i would say read the book and find out what happens but i think it was a good book not just a waste of time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Ages?

    In my opinion, this book is appropriate for ages 11-14

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Good read

    I read this book for a report in health, and i enjoyed it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    intricut story line, very intrigueing

    Mitty, a teenage boy that attends a Manhattan advanced biology class, scrambles to finish a project that he had been slacking off on for the past few weeks. Now for the sake of getting kicked out of school, he gets a move on writing down a few small pox notes when he stumbles upon a 100 year old sealed envelope...

    I would reccomend this book to sci-fi action readers for the sophisticated, yet intrigueing story line.

    i rate this book a 9.3/10

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Sucks

    Terrible book

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Cool book

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    I REMEBERED IT!!!

    Ok, so a long time ago (like years) I read this book. Over the years I have been trying to figure out the name of this book and I finally did, ater looking in the back of Burning Up, another Caroline B Cooney book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Suspenseful Thriller

    This book was AWESOME!!! There were so many twists and turns, it alwyas kept you on your toes. Had the perfect ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Title: Code  Orange ¿Author: Caroline B. Cooney Genre: specula

    Title: Code  Orange

    ¿Author: Caroline B. Cooney

    Genre: speculative fiction

    Review:

    Okay, first of all--what the heck is "speculative fiction"? I had no idea what genre to classify this book so I  googled it up and that was
     the answer. Honestly, speculative fiction sounds like sci-fi. Maybe they're like cousin genres? Anyways, enough said about genres-I-
    didn't-know-existed-until-now.  My thoughts for this book was mixed. I had heard some great reviews about Code Orange so I was
    looking forward to reading it. Perhaps I had set my expectations too high because I didn't enjoy it nearly as much as I thought I would

    Alrighty, let's start off with the good parts, shall we? I really liked the whole plot idea of Code Orange.  Scratch that. I really really really
    liked the whole plot line. Mitty, the main character of the novel, is assigned with the task of writing a report about an infectious  disease.
     He decides to do research on some pox diseases. When he opens up an old medical book, he is surprised to find an envelope
    labeled "Pox Scabs" (or something like that...I don't remember exactly and I've already returned the book to the library so I can't look it up.
    ) And guess what, he freaking opens it!!!! I mean seriously...this kid's in high school and he opens an envelope filled with pox scabs
    even after he learns a lot about how deadly  small pox is!

    Well, now Mitty is potentially infected with small pox, a disease thought to be long dead. This opens up the doorway to the topic of
    bioterrorism.  It turns out terrorist are willing to release deadly diseases and small pox seems to be the perfect virus to fulfill this job.
     Mitty gets kidnapped by some terrorists wanting to use him as a biological  weapon and before he knows it, he's world is spiraling out
    of control.

    Okay, now let's touch bases on the part I didn't like so much about this book. Actually, there's really only ONE thing I didn't enjoy about
    Code Orange: Mitty.  I strongly disliked this Mitty character. I mean, he's supposed to be a high school junior yet his actions are like of a
    5th graders! Like I mentioned before, he opens an envelope filled with small pox scabs. Then he offers it online. Also, although I feel
    like he would be a nice kid in real life, he is just so lazy (and I'm pretty lazy myself but Mitty's laziness is a whole different level.) I feel like
     if Mitty was maybe a middle schooler, his character would be much more believable.

    My final thoughts: Great book for younger readers (like 5th-8th grade.)

    Likes:
        *interesting plot line; I haven't read any books revolving around a disease before
        *you learn some facts about infectious diseases

    Dislikes:
        *the main character

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    ?

    I dont understamd why someone would write a book like this! Its so gross,i mean really! Who writes about someone sniffing a scab and then crumbling it between his fingers, then saving it. I dont get it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Justagirl

    I just got this book on my nook and i dont want to put it down. It's probably gross for girly girls but i think its a great book so far. I didnt finish it but so far its really good. Im not even halfway through at the moment. By the way, im a girl and im not really girly but can be...but i love this book so i recommend it. For those people who say its horrible, you should check yourselves because this book keeps you wondering if mitty has smallpox or not! Such a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    So bad

    The book was so bad i stoped reading half way because i was told to it, hated it, i eould give it negative 5 stars, its that bad

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Ish

    Reading this 4 class and not interesting plus really gross 4 us girls. Not recomended unless required. : )

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Not just for guys!

    I loved this book!(I am also kinda a girly girl) Those of you who think this is just for guys..... really? I don't think anyone would care. The book is great action, light violence and a little bit of romance! I recommend to ALL genders ages 9-14!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Four

    It's risky. We'll see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Red

    *nods* but we could ask our friends and some of our family (no parents but maybe siblings) to join rp and then we could have it be reborn but I don't know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8