Customer Reviews for

Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Masterful Encouragement

This is the best book I've ever read about letting go of unhealthy attachments to people and the pain associated with it. I highly recommend it to anyone who has ever loved an addictive person, an abusive person, or lived in a family with dysfunctional behavior. To me, ...
This is the best book I've ever read about letting go of unhealthy attachments to people and the pain associated with it. I highly recommend it to anyone who has ever loved an addictive person, an abusive person, or lived in a family with dysfunctional behavior. To me, the best lessons explained in this book are 'you cannot change other people - they will only change when they are ready' and 'detaching from an unhealthy situation doesn't mean detaching from the love you feel for a person, it means setting yourself free from the pain of your involvement with them.'

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Long winded rant

This book could have been about 200 pages shorter if written properly. The subject matter and terms are just redundant, redundant and redundant. It's the same thing, page after page. It's reads more like a scorned woman's long winded tirade. It's not enjoyable to re...
This book could have been about 200 pages shorter if written properly. The subject matter and terms are just redundant, redundant and redundant. It's the same thing, page after page. It's reads more like a scorned woman's long winded tirade. It's not enjoyable to read and if you put the book down after the first twenty five pages, you're not missing anything new. She's a modern day Herman Melville. Same material over and over.

posted by 1023395 on February 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Masterful Encouragement

    This is the best book I've ever read about letting go of unhealthy attachments to people and the pain associated with it. I highly recommend it to anyone who has ever loved an addictive person, an abusive person, or lived in a family with dysfunctional behavior. To me, the best lessons explained in this book are 'you cannot change other people - they will only change when they are ready' and 'detaching from an unhealthy situation doesn't mean detaching from the love you feel for a person, it means setting yourself free from the pain of your involvement with them.'

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Helpful

    This is the book that started it all. I know it is cliché but, this book has changed my life and my thinking¿<BR/><BR/>I was talking to my father on the phone one day and I was explaining to him how I have no problem exercising and eating right when Otty is gone but I can¿t seem to keep it up when he is home. My father then asked me if I wanted to know what that was called¿he told me it was called co-dependence and that I should start learning about this by reading a book called Co-dependent No More. I pretty much ran out right away and purchased the book. <BR/><BR/>Now, I have never been a big advocate for self-improvement books, but I have to say that this book was very enlightening. Co-dependency has a different definition for everyone. This book made me delve into my own retched thoughts and confront them head on. <BR/><BR/>This book made me realize that I have a voice and an opinion and both matter just as much as the next person. I realized that I can make decisions and not have to worry if my opinion is what other people may think or want. My opinion is exactly that¿my opinion. It is okay to have an opinion that is different than someone else¿s. <BR/><BR/>I also learned that I need to detach myself from the people in my life that cause me harm¿emotionally, physically, doesn¿t matter¿<BR/><BR/>Though I may not struggle with an abusive alcoholic, I still struggle with the internal doubts and feelings of self worthlessness. I have learned that I do not need to immerse myself so deeply in someone else¿s life that I lose myself. I can keep my individuality while sharing my life with another. If we have conflicting views¿that¿s alright. <BR/><BR/>When I first read this book, I figure that I would not post my feelings about it because they were too personal. However, now having some distance from the book and being able to employ the lessons I have learned, I am able to share myself with others. <BR/><BR/>I am not perfect and it is absolutely acceptable for me to let other people know this. Maybe, by sharing these thoughts, someone else might be inspired to read this book and better themselves as well.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    One of the best on Codependence

    For many years, I was in a completely codependent relationship and did not know how to break out of it. Then I figure a way out on my own. At least I thought I did... but what happened was that I just changed the people around me and the relationships were essentially the same. After reading this great book, I finally stopped blaming other people for my relatioship problems and began looking into myself. It was then that my life really began to make a positive change. I then read another excellent book called, 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato and I began seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. It provided me the motivation to move on from my codependent relationships. It is a tough thing to deal with your own issues inside but it is the only way out and the only way to real happiness. Are you ready to do some real work and step out of your own misery? If your answer is yes, I recommend these books to you.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Read It Now!

    If you describe yourself as a "caretaker", you might NEED to read this book.
    If you have a substance abuser in your life, you NEED to read this.
    If you want your life back, read it now.
    So glad I did. Wish I had read it years earlier.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I like this book, which does not make it easy to read. It is written clearly, and is straightforward, yet it is at times difficult to maintain focus. The stories are paramount, though none will identify will them all. Read it. Find the pearls.

    A Very Personal Perspective: I finally launched (well, compared to the tentative perusal I previously managed) into Codependent No More today. The initial pages of conversations with codependents are as expected in that they are generally about partners of alcoholics. Not only do I not identify with this, but despite my intellectual understanding of the fact that it isn't about the alcoholism, I dread each story. When you see nothing in common with the stories, it is difficult to find motivation to continue. By page 32, I am most thoroughly disenchanted with the conversations, although the "brief history" of the concept and naming of codependence is mildly interesting, based on the minimal description. And then on page 36, the author inks a single sentence definition of codependency. And I begin to pay attention.

    "A codependent person is one who has let another person's behavior affect him or her, and who is obsessed with controlling that person's behavior."

    By page 37, I am interested when the author acknowledges that she is not an expert on codependence, and does not know for a fact if it is an illness. And as she offers to continue the "brief history", it is evident that she is passionate about what is and is not real with regard to this apparently self-destructive predisposition. As she goes on to describe codependence, I am struck by the thought that she is describing every compassionate human being that ever lived, every humanitarian that made a difference, and every individual who ever reached out a hand to a person in need. I am reminded of a quote that has personified me and haunted me for most of my adult life."your greatest strength can become your greatest weakness." And I am compelled to read on, for how can something so purely benevolent become something so utterly self-destructive? I know that I am looking for an answer, and yet it is unlikely that I will find one. For if I have learned anything in this world, it is that there are no silver bullets, no ultimate solutions to end human mistakes, discomfort and error, to end human suffering and stagnation, or to remove roadblocks to human progress. There are only conversations and possibilities. Ultimately, we must choose our conversations, opt to expand our thoughts, and fearlessly open up to the possibilities. And so I read on.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Codependent No More was just what it promised by the title!

    I purchased this audio book on CD for a friend and I've watched in absolute amazement at the emotional progress she has had since she received the gift. She said it was really hard to get through the first five chapters of the book because it hit so close to home. She kept telling herself that it would probably get better soon. These experiences of others (in the first chapters) made her realize that others had it worse than she did and to guard herself against further decline within herself. Then it started helping her in ways that she didn't realize could happen and in areas that she didn't know she even needed help. She told me she had the power to withstand abuse and the faith to move forward from this book. The road for her is still very difficult but this book gave her hope. I will probably give her the second book by Melody Beattie for her birthday. I think I will listen to it as well at that point! Thank you Melody for sharing your heart and hurt so others could heal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    Life Changing

    This book was perscribed while I was going through a divorce I did not want. It's written for everyone. If the title puts you off buy two copies! Keep a copy for reference. You'll want to share this book with people who feel bad about a relationship that doesn't work. Fantastic, a rare find and important peice of work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    Long winded rant

    This book could have been about 200 pages shorter if written properly. The subject matter and terms are just redundant, redundant and redundant. It's the same thing, page after page. It's reads more like a scorned woman's long winded tirade. It's not enjoyable to read and if you put the book down after the first twenty five pages, you're not missing anything new. She's a modern day Herman Melville. Same material over and over.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    I really love this book!

    I was in a bad relationship and this book really helped us straighten it out. It was not easy but it helped us figure out why it wasn't working and what we can do about it. I think the author has important insights that all of us can learn from regardless of how healthy our relationships are. If you are interested in improving relationships, I would also recommend Rhythm, Relationships, and Transcendence by Toru Sato. It is a fabulous book that will take you closer to enlightenment.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Great book!

    This book opened my eyes to alot! Would definitely recommend it to anyone who's lived with an alcoholic or someone controlling, and who's in need of putting things in the right perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book to help establish if you are CoDependent

    Helped me understand what codependancy is all about. Opened up my eyes to a new world. Good reading for anyone that believes they need help with the following traits: depression, dependancy, always attracting the wrong people,and enabling everyone.

    This book has helped me to identfy the things I can not change and the ability to change things that I can.

    Great Read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    This is one of the best books i have ever read

    This is one of the best books that i have ever read. I could not believe how much i could relate to it. I think that everyone should read this book even if they don't have addictions in there life. This book has made me under stand that i am inportant and i do not have to live a life that someone else has chosen. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    Pat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Life Changing

    This book was recommended to me during a time of crises. I am truly grateful for everything that has come from reading this book. It has been life changing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    CoDependent No More; How to Stop Controlling Others and Care for Yourself

    Excellent book.
    The quizes in the book are very enlightening and the questions at the end of the chapters are very probing and thought provoking.
    My counseler recommeded this book and it has been extremely helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself

    This is indeed a great book for codependent individuals. The principles learned in the book got me started on the right path. I learned even more about these prinicples from the book An Encounter With A Prophet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself

    This book helped me to see my problem was me. I have been in therapy for years; however, my therapists seem to accept that my husband was my problem. This book opened my eyes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    It's a very helpful book.

    Gave me a whole new way to see my life and enjoy it. I found freedom to be myself,something that I have never experienced it before.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    An inspiring book

    This book was recommended to me and reading it was like discovering a hidden treasure chest on an island. The wealth of information and practical exercises offered were very effective in my life...they changed my life for the better. This is an inspiring book! Another excellent book that I highly recommend and goes hand in hand with this one, and is also very helpful is Dietmar Scherf's 'Depression: Avoiding and Overcoming: I Love Me' also available at bn.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Not for me...but

    This books examples and/or focus is mostly alcoholism. If that was an issue in my life I would give this book 5 stars. That being said I read the book anyway (recommended reading by my therapist). I was able to glean some useful and thought provoking ideas from it. I am not dealing with a family member with addictions. For those of you who are this can be a wonderful source.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Just awesome

    Life changing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8