Customer Reviews for

The Codex

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Book for an Escape

Discovered Douglas Preston, The Codex through a friend's suggestion. Slow start until I caught the mood, then off with a dash. Found the writing style to be a page turner mystery, about three-quarters through I thought I had the story line, but alas, discovered I was mi...
Discovered Douglas Preston, The Codex through a friend's suggestion. Slow start until I caught the mood, then off with a dash. Found the writing style to be a page turner mystery, about three-quarters through I thought I had the story line, but alas, discovered I was mislead by the anticipation of the results. Beautiful descriptive writing, so realistic. Enjoyed my first exposure to Mr. Preston's writing style.

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Title is better than the book

I had such high hopes for this book. It sounded so good! Many parts were so goofy (a High School literature student could have written these lines) it was almost rediculous, but still I read on. Then there came those suspensful moments that ended up just too obvious ...
I had such high hopes for this book. It sounded so good! Many parts were so goofy (a High School literature student could have written these lines) it was almost rediculous, but still I read on. Then there came those suspensful moments that ended up just too obvious and predictable. Too bad! It's a fun ride none the less. Good to read on long plane flights or lazy evenings.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Great Book for an Escape

    Discovered Douglas Preston, The Codex through a friend's suggestion. Slow start until I caught the mood, then off with a dash. Found the writing style to be a page turner mystery, about three-quarters through I thought I had the story line, but alas, discovered I was mislead by the anticipation of the results. Beautiful descriptive writing, so realistic. Enjoyed my first exposure to Mr. Preston's writing style.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Good Adventure Yarn

    Douglas Jones has written a fine adventure in the tradition of Indiana Jones and others who always seem to end up in exotic deserted temples with dangers encroaching from every side. Lush jungles, a priceless treasure, colorful natives, a mist-shrouded ancient city at the edge of a bottomless abyss, and hostile soldiers shooting at everything in sight- what more could you ask? If this type of tale is your cup of tea, look no further, open up the book, and enjoy!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    EXCELLENT

    IF YOU NEED A BOOK TO JUST TAKE YOU INTO THE AMAZON AND LEAVE YOU THERE, THEN THIS IS FOR YOU. EXCELLENT STORY LINE THAT IS ALMOST MAKING ME LATE FOR WORK!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Title is better than the book

    I had such high hopes for this book. It sounded so good! Many parts were so goofy (a High School literature student could have written these lines) it was almost rediculous, but still I read on. Then there came those suspensful moments that ended up just too obvious and predictable. Too bad! It's a fun ride none the less. Good to read on long plane flights or lazy evenings.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Great thrill ride of a read

    What a read!! From the first pages I was unable to put this exciting thriller down. Once more Preston and Childs, whether together or alone, come through. The plot twists and visuals created by the words make this, and the others written by this author/team, well worth the lost sleep you experience by not being able to put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Fun and entertaining

    Just a good, exciting story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A real page turner

    The book captures you immediately and keeps you on the hook the entire time. It is definitely 'Indiana Jones' meets the 'Great Race'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Decent Book

    The Codex is an okay book, I found myself bored pretty much the entire time while reading it. The story seems as if takes place in the same exact place the whole time which is boring. It was one of those books where I had to finish the book just to finish it hoping the ending would at least be gratifying, but it was thoroughly disappointing. This book shouldn't be on your're next to read list, find another book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Nothing spectacular...

    This was my first Douglas Preston novel, and I'm not sure that it started out on the best foot. I read the book rating in People magazine and thought that it sounded unbelieveably good. I borrowed it from the library and read the whole thing, but I was never really caught up in it. There were some parts where I thought the book was going really great, but they never lasted too long. I would've stopped reading it and returned it, but I just don't start books and not finish them...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    Adventure in the Amazon

    Preston never ceases to entertain. I've found other adventure books to be dragging in recent years, but this one finnally picks up the pace. More than that, the characters are all worth caring about. Perfect blend of characterization, action and compelling stroyline. Worth every minute spent reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    A terrific read that will take you into the jungle

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I picked up this as a cd ('book on tape') from the public library, as a fill in before the next Preston/Child Agent Pendergast novel hit the stores. I was very impressed. The reader is one of the best on the market, and as anyone who listens to books knows, this is very important. The story takes you away to the jungle; you can feel the bugs biting! The detail is great, and the book is a must read for action junkies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    fantastic book

    As always Douglas Preston writes another superb novel. Any book with his name on it is a must read for me. The book was a little different than I imagined but still a fantastic adventure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    A little disappointing

    I expected more after all the hype. I found out Honduras is a more trackless place than I realized via some great descriptions of swamp life. But absent the atmospherics, the story is a pretty straightforward go-get-the-treasure sort of adventure. Not bad for a rainy afternoon, but not much to write home about.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    THIS IS A VERY SPECIAL BOOK

    If it hadn't been for this fantastic book I would NEVER have read every single book that Preston and Child wrote both together and individually.

    The covers of Relic and their other joint books looked too scary! But after discovering how exciting and funny this book was I had the courage to read Relic and all of the rest. AND I LOVE THEM ALL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    drama

    drama, very drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    He Should Stick with His Parnter

    I have all (I think) of Preston and Childs' books. I think the duo is better. The Codex makes like it has the big treasure -like Ice Limit and Riptide. However, it lacks credibility in how it intends to reach the payoff. How did Broadbent get all those delicate knick knacks through the jungle? IT was secret, but they figured it out immediately. Why didn't they use a heicopter? Just because it was restricted air- they were all rich, bribe someone! The characeters were cardboard. The nice guy who gets the girl. The prissy one, the mean one. The surprise brother. This book read like Preston was trying to get TNT to purchase the story for a TV movie. Dissappointed, to say the least.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    Horrible, just horrible

    I am a huge and loyal Lincoln/Child fan, but I'm sorry, this book was probably the worst waste of a tree ever! I wanted nothing more than to have Sally Colorado DIE throughout the whole book. I think she must be the most offensive and annoying literary character in history! Terrible plot, cartoonish bad guys, annoying characters and NO ONE and I mean NO ONE would fall in love with the female lead in this one! ugh! Use this one to line your bird cage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Not his best, not his worst.

    The book starts off slow, but picks up about a third of the way through. His collaborationsf with Lincoln Child are much better, but The Codex is still worth the time. Buy it in paperback or get it from the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Disappointingi

    A major disappointment. After 50 pages I returned it to the library. Two-dimensional characters and sophomoric writing style. Guess I'll wait for the Preston-Child novel with Agent Pendergast.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4