Customer Reviews for

Codex

Average Rating 3
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Encryption for Bibliophiles: "Codex" caught my attent

Encryption for Bibliophiles:

"Codex" caught my attention when seeking additional reads like, "Erebos." I cannot speak highly enough of, "Codex." This creation was the perfect blend of historical mystery and techno-fantasy with a labyrinthi...
Encryption for Bibliophiles:

"Codex" caught my attention when seeking additional reads like, "Erebos." I cannot speak highly enough of, "Codex." This creation was the perfect blend of historical mystery and techno-fantasy with a labyrinthine plot.

Upon arriving here today to write this review, I was positively puzzled to read some of the reviews warning readers to bypass, "Codex" in favor of books with a tidier, more opportune, resolution. My rebuttal to these reviews is simply that this is a book for true bibliophiles, and more specifically, those who are seeking an intelligent thriller with elements of history and fantasy as well as mystery.

In literature, as in life, endings are not always dandy. Our paths are as winding and convoluted as the maze that held the Minotaur, so to speak. These paths are irrevocably altered by our choices, and those choices are shrouded in everything from belief and preference to human nature, desires, and bad judgement. If a reader goes into, "Codex" with the mindset that these characters can be as human as we are, then the read will be as thrilling for them as it was for me.

Having read authors such as Dan Brown, Arturo PĂ©rez-Reverte, Steve Berry, and Matthew Pearl, I can say that, "Codex" is among my top five and very highly recommended by this reviewer.

posted by Integrity_Consultants on June 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Close, but...

This writer is talented, characters are believable, but this book doesn't go anywhere. All total maybe six pages of suspense and as far as action... well. there isn't any! Just as the plot twists the book ends and the ending is not worth the wait. I will be on t...
This writer is talented, characters are believable, but this book doesn't go anywhere. All total maybe six pages of suspense and as far as action... well. there isn't any! Just as the plot twists the book ends and the ending is not worth the wait. I will be on the lookout for this author's next book however as he shows a lot of promise.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Encryption for Bibliophiles: "Codex" caught my attent

    Encryption for Bibliophiles:

    "Codex" caught my attention when seeking additional reads like, "Erebos." I cannot speak highly enough of, "Codex." This creation was the perfect blend of historical mystery and techno-fantasy with a labyrinthine plot.

    Upon arriving here today to write this review, I was positively puzzled to read some of the reviews warning readers to bypass, "Codex" in favor of books with a tidier, more opportune, resolution. My rebuttal to these reviews is simply that this is a book for true bibliophiles, and more specifically, those who are seeking an intelligent thriller with elements of history and fantasy as well as mystery.

    In literature, as in life, endings are not always dandy. Our paths are as winding and convoluted as the maze that held the Minotaur, so to speak. These paths are irrevocably altered by our choices, and those choices are shrouded in everything from belief and preference to human nature, desires, and bad judgement. If a reader goes into, "Codex" with the mindset that these characters can be as human as we are, then the read will be as thrilling for them as it was for me.

    Having read authors such as Dan Brown, Arturo Pérez-Reverte, Steve Berry, and Matthew Pearl, I can say that, "Codex" is among my top five and very highly recommended by this reviewer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    An Avid Mystery/Suspense Reader's Honest Opinion

    This book was HORRIBLE. The only interesting thing about the plot was the that the author managed to go 348 pgs with it. After reading books such as "Rebecca" or more modern literature like "Labrynth", "Codex" was simply dissapointing in its lack of enthusiasm for ANYTHING. Thanks for writing this waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Good until the end

    I loved this book! I studied Medieval History and Literature in college so I was hooked from the start. I loved it up until the end. The supposed plot twist at the end was very anti-climatic and ruined the book for me. I feel like the author was rushed to write it and/or had no clue where to go with the story and the character so he wrote a second-rate ending to finishing things up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    an odd book

    I found it to be very slow paced, not a 'thrilling adventure' as advertized. It seemed the main character was just a bystander in his own story and nothing was fully explained. The history part of the story was pretty interesting and I wish there had been more of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Close, but...

    This writer is talented, characters are believable, but this book doesn't go anywhere. All total maybe six pages of suspense and as far as action... well. there isn't any! Just as the plot twists the book ends and the ending is not worth the wait. I will be on the lookout for this author's next book however as he shows a lot of promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Don't bother

    I thought the magicians series was great so i decided to give this a try. I wish i hadn't. Story was disjointed and large parts really had no relevance to the plot. The last third leading up to the ending just made no sense at all. Also the author tries to keep to a timeline but the timeline would only work if there were 48 hrs in a day or 14 days in a week.

    The concept had potential. The execution was lacking. This authors other books are a definite improvement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good read

    I am a huge fan of Grossmen and his writing style. This is a good read and keeps you gripped to the covers wanting to know what twist will come next. The only reason i gave 4 stars and not 5 is because the ending is a bit anticilmatic. Although that may just be me, it is rare that i am happy with the way a book ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great read

    Enjoyed it a lot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Very Enjoyable!

    This is one of those underrated quasi-adventure books that you will enjoy reading. I found the plot to be both engaging and inventive. The sections with the video game were very creative and I really enjoyed the whole thing.

    I find myself wanting to re-read this one from time to time so it is definitely worth the price of admission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Codex is a good read

    I read a lot of fantasy books but I'd thought give this one a try. The summary caught my interest. I usually don't talk about the summary, but basically, the whole story centers around the finding of a Codex or better known as a book. This codex hides a secret that can change a family forever. Anyway, I enjoyed the book till the end. Left one question unanswered. Looking for a decent book to read, this one was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    GOOD STORY IDEA, BAD ENDING

    I felt blindsided by the ending. A 25 year old hot shot american wants to work in the service of a duchess he doesnt know?...A historian and fierce booklover is going to do...What exactly with the codex? does it survive? nice weaving of themes in the prose.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Terrible ending

    This book totally held my attention until the end. I was very disappointed and felt like the book didn't really go anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Summer reading, not too challenging.

    An enjoyable read. At times intriguing, relatively fast paced and intelligently written. The references to medieval English literature and bookbinding were facinating. However, the computer game appeared superfluous to the plot. The characters were likeable. The plot held my interest and the characters were developed reasonably well. The end, however, was abrupt and disappointing. It felt rushed and lacked definition. I liked the book enough to reread the end a few times, trying the make sense of the twist. But, it is still not clear to me how the Codex ended up where it did! The author shows promise. Maybe his next novel will be more complete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Too Clever By Half

    The good: Codex does supply its moments of suspense and intrigue, and never lets the plot waver so long that the reader will lose interest. The bad: Main character Edward's gulliblity grates after a while. For a hotshot banker, he lets himself be repeatedly bullied, and he accepts so much of what the other characters tell him at face value that you begin to feel like it's the only way Grossman can pull off his narrative. While suspenseful there's never really any sense of danger in Codex. The duchess says she fears for her very life (because of the duke), and yet when Edward is set upon by the duke's hired hands there's nary a weapon or a threat in sight--if anything, they seem utterly incompetent. The ugly: The ending, which is neither clever nor a surprise. Grossman seems to want to make the point that everything doesn't wrap itself up tidily in life, the end result of which in Codex is essentially this: self-absorbed hotshot banker has wild adventure, considers changing life, adventure ends badly, after which...he goes back to being a self-absorbed hotshot banker. For a thriller to live up to its name, you ought to be able to do better than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Good weekend read.

    Overall, the book was enjoyable. Ther plot follows very well, though the interjection of the video game into the story was a distraction. The game's links to the story only peripherally develops enough that the reader gains an minute understanding of its significance. The introduction of the characters was well developed and the interjection of historical bookbinding, thoughts concerning books, and book disection was very interesting. The ending was a complete disappointment. There is the feel of an author compelled to finish the book at all costs and never really develop closure to the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    An enjoyable read

    CODEX is a rich, gorgeous, thrilling book of amazingly complex plot. This smart, highly page-turner set in New York grabbed my attention from the very beginning and did not let me go until the end. I could not stop reading! A book interweaves different kinds of realities into the life of the main character. This fun and interesting read is written with both a wry sense of humor and an in-depth historical knowledge. The hero is not an uncommon guy who gets himself into the rat-race world of high-level intrigue obsessive love and virtual reality that is so twisty that a reader is kept guessing until the very end. I read TRIPLE AGENT and THE DAVINCI CODE just before getting hold of CODEX and it completed my week. I could not put them down until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Almost 5 stars..

    This book was really good. I enjoy books like this, and the infusion of current things the video games and things of the past like those old worn out books is very interesting. The ending however, was rather disappointing. It was very rushed, and I'm still confused as to what happened to one of the characters. I think if the author would of took the time to elaborate on things this book would have been more enjoyable, but other then that, it is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    enjoyable but...

    I would have to agree with Chuck. Just finished it half hour ago and was disappointed with the ending. The author didn't fully follow through with the story. He instead added a parellel plot line, MOMUS, that could have been left out entirely. Still for readers who enjoy stories about antiquated texts, you will get your fill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    curious, but unfulfilling ending

    the book only gets better until a rushed and short ending providing little resolution or room for the reader to imagine and ending after the book ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Hard to put down

    Having waited in a research library for a librarian to retrieve a manuscript from the institutional bowels, I was able to identify with Edward, the main character as he attempts to unravel the mystery of the Codex. With the exception of the alleged 'bad guys,' the characters are well developed and the plot provides intriguing details of medieval bookmaking arts. I agree with others that the ending is somewhat unsatisfying and didn't quite get into the computer game that Edward plays, having only advanced to Civilization II. I must say that once started, it was a hard book to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2