Customer Reviews for

The Coffee Trader

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Business remains the same

    Another of David Liss's awesome page turners which, while on the one hand provides grade A entertainment, at the same time manages to educate, as you follow his charecters down the shadowy Amsterdam back alleys and into the financial centers during a time which pre-saged the Wall Street age.

    J.R. Locke, Author of
    Down and Out in Manhattan, a New York Tale &
    Possible Twenty, a Gangster Tale

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Intrigruing I could smell the coffee!

    This novel with the most interesting characters,plots and themes was good reading with my coffee!David Liss is a gifted author with a smooth style.The persona of Miguel wove a complicated individual. With the plots of his brother,Daniel,his threating relations with other colorful characters and the questionable innocence of Hannah it was a novel to hold my attention. The ending was somewhat surprising and not what I'd expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Liss is an Outstanding Writer

    After reading Liss' first historical novel, I was impressed enough to go right out and get this one. I was not disappointed. This book pulls you into a time and place that most of us know very little about, which is the great fun of historical fiction. I've already bought his third novel and look forward to another romp through time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Coffee Anyone?

    I could not put this book down. This is the first book of David Liss' that I read and when I finished it I ran out and bought The Conspiracy of paper and A Spectacle of Corruption. I absolutely Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    A Romp Through the Richest Stock Market?

    In the 16-hundreds Amsterdam was the richest city in Europe. The exchange of paper representing commodities was advanced to near perfection, but the difficulties of keeping track of what was traded allowed for speculation to turn into conspiracy. Luckily for the readers, none of our money is at risk, but here lies a painles education in free trade. Is the story good? You bet. Coffee is being introduced in Europe, and trading in the beans is the hook for the story. All the characters are pulled about by there own flaws and by powers beyond their control. All the characters have to fight themselves lest kind motives cost themselves money, and all are as real as our own neighbors. The Jews of Amsterdam provide the immediate millieu, but the stage of action is the Amsterdam Excvhange at the height of power. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Where Coffee and Trading emerged

    With the setting in 17th Century Amsterdam, David Liss employs the inevitable emergence of coffee on the commodities exchange to explore the intriguing interplay between those who would seek to find their fortune in trading by whatever means necessary. The plot delves deep into the hidden goals and subterfuge used by the market players to outplay, outwit, and outlast each other toward attaining wealth and status. Such rich character expose proclaims their humanity and tenuous destiny. A fun read of historical fiction and a challenging trip back to the origins of coffee traded on world markets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    intrigue and betrayl

    This is a very fine read. David Liss has written an historical novel about coffee's beginnings in Europe, the Jewish community in tolerant Amsterdam, and woven a web of mystery and deceit, wherein the reader, and also the central character, is not sure what is true and what is false. What the author does here is much more, however. He presents aspects of human nature which we do not readily face; that the view others have of us does not match that which we have constructed of ourselves, and that we acquire what we can at the expense of others. The characterizations are vivid, and there are surprises at the end of the book. This is the second book I have read by David Liss, and while I thoroughly enjoyed 'A Conspiracy of Paper', I would rate this book even higher. Strongly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Read it in two days

    A fascinating look at Jewish life and business during the seventeenth century. I read Conspiracy of Paper (the author's first novel) and could not wait to get my hands on this book. In the age of Starbucks, it was interesting to read about a time where most people had never heard of coffee. Great characters and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Great book!

    The was a great book from beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    a reader

    I did not think that David Liss could top A Conspiracy of Paper. Boy, was I wrong !! The Coffee Trader is just one of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Before Starbucks There Was...

    The Coffee Trader immediately engages the reader in a vibrant world of intrigue and high-stakes speculation in an unlikely but wonderfully exotic setting-- Amsterdam in the middle of the Dutch Golden Age of the 17th century. It is a story of loyality vs. betrayal, honesty vs. duplicity, familial battles and unpredictable alliiances. David Liss has managed to capture the colorful world of Sephardic Jews, who having escaped the inferno of the Spanish and Portuguese Inquisition, struggle to find their identity in their New Jerusalem, the sometimes not-so-tolerant Dutch Republic. The story centers around Miguel Lienzo, a Jewish commodities trader who hatches a plan to corner the market in a newly discovered commodity--coffee--and become rich overnight. His challenge is to keep his plan a secret from those who would scheme against him, including members of his own family and community. The Coffee Trader serves not only as a primer on the history of the coffee trade, but a lesson on the mechanics of trading techniques on the first modern commodities exchange-- the Bourse in Amsterdam. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the history of the Dutch Republic, Sephardic Jewry; coffee lovers and futures traders.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    An Excellent Read

    This first time reader of Mr. Liss offers these critical remarks. The Coffee Trader is a historical novel replete with believable characters, dialogue, and a plot which entertains, captivates and educates the reader! Bruce M. Hankins, 29613 Gleneagles Road, Perrysburg, Ohio 43551

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1