Customer Reviews for

Coffeehouse Angel

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good to the Last Drop

I enjoyed this book. It's a quick read that made me all happy inside, unlike a number of YA books that can be rather emotionally draining. I like Katrina and I can relate to her situation of not knowing what you want or what you most desire at the age of sixteen. With s...
I enjoyed this book. It's a quick read that made me all happy inside, unlike a number of YA books that can be rather emotionally draining. I like Katrina and I can relate to her situation of not knowing what you want or what you most desire at the age of sixteen. With school, friendship troubles and dilemma's of the heart, it's quite the teen novel. Add a cute angel who follows you around, your grandmother falling ill, and add Mr. Scoundrel as your neighbour who is stealing your customers and you've got yourself more than what the average teenager can handle, but Katrina knows what to do.

Malcolm the Messenger is quite something, although I wasn't in favour of him wearing a kilt as he had just travelled to Scotland, but then he becomes partial to it, and I guess I was okay with it too. He is not your typical angel, but his manners, his language, and his curiosity towards all things new to him will have you wishing you had an angel sleeping in your backyard between message deliveries.

I like the premise of this story and the plot is good, centering around the theme of forgiveness. This story also reminds us that everyone is good at something and that "for a single good deed, one will be rewarded tenfold." (The Koran)

Coffeehouse Angel is a light, entertaining read that is sure to delight and warm your heart on a chilly day. It's a charming story that will have you smiling throughout the read.

posted by Linda-Mai-Ellen on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For teenagers

Definitively a book for teens! Cute, could be really good as a movie!

posted by 17137593 on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good to the Last Drop

    I enjoyed this book. It's a quick read that made me all happy inside, unlike a number of YA books that can be rather emotionally draining. I like Katrina and I can relate to her situation of not knowing what you want or what you most desire at the age of sixteen. With school, friendship troubles and dilemma's of the heart, it's quite the teen novel. Add a cute angel who follows you around, your grandmother falling ill, and add Mr. Scoundrel as your neighbour who is stealing your customers and you've got yourself more than what the average teenager can handle, but Katrina knows what to do.

    Malcolm the Messenger is quite something, although I wasn't in favour of him wearing a kilt as he had just travelled to Scotland, but then he becomes partial to it, and I guess I was okay with it too. He is not your typical angel, but his manners, his language, and his curiosity towards all things new to him will have you wishing you had an angel sleeping in your backyard between message deliveries.

    I like the premise of this story and the plot is good, centering around the theme of forgiveness. This story also reminds us that everyone is good at something and that "for a single good deed, one will be rewarded tenfold." (The Koran)

    Coffeehouse Angel is a light, entertaining read that is sure to delight and warm your heart on a chilly day. It's a charming story that will have you smiling throughout the read.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Good for kids

    My 12 year old daughter loved and i read it after her and i loved it too.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adorable.

    Anna's Old World Scandinavian Coffeehouse used to be the hang out place. It used to have the best prices, the most tourists, and used to have all the customers. But ever since Java Heaven, the modern coffeehouse next door, started as a business two years ago, Anna's only has a matter of time before the bills can't be paid. The orphaned granddaughter, Katrina, of the owner has been working there since middle school and knows that they won't be able to survive if they don't get their customers back. When Malcolm, an angel on duty, offers Katrina one wish and explains that it has to be her biggest desire, she can't figure out what she wants. Caught between teenage romances and medical bills, Katrina needs to get her head in the game before time runs out and she is thrown onto the street.

    Coffeehouse Angel is best described as the feeling of staying inside on a rainy day, watching the water slide down the window and wondering what the generations before you did on such an occasion. It's like cutting out paper hearts for no reason or picking a flower just because it's pretty. There's something on the inside of this book waiting to yell "Surprise!" but it never reveals itself. There are well-written, descriptive paragraphs that explain so much and contain the sweetness of the moment. I love the old-fashion touch the story has and the cute dialogue. Small comments put a smile on my face but they left as soon as they came.

    The "adorableness" of it all changed when the main character's attitude changed and sometimes I didn't like her at all. It was a roller coaster! Jealousy, anger, sadness, drama. The anxiety of being a teenager was captured well, along with what it's like to have a responsibility. The romance grew too fast to be realistic yet I found the cuteness of it enjoyable. The author's talent is unmistakable! Overall, it was a fun story with unique settings and characters and great writing.

    STARS: 3.5 out of 5

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    For teenagers

    Definitively a book for teens! Cute, could be really good as a movie!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    SCAVENGER HUNT

    This hunt will have two teams(i got this from another hunt btw. I am team unicorn) the first two people to post team names on the next book will have to create a hunt for others to join their team. More info on the next book. Now search humor for a sisters heart and tap the first one.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a GREAT READ. I recomend reading this book to anyon

    This book is a GREAT READ. I recomend reading this book to anyone, it's cute and the storyline is really interesting! If you like reading about angels, friendship and love. This book is it! READ IT! it's an awesome book you won't be disapointed. I enjoyed reading this book, I actually can't stop re-reading it. I hope you all like the book as much as I did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Dianna Geers for TeensReadToo.com

    Katrina works daily in her grandmother's traditional Scandinavian coffeehouse, has two best friends, and knows her place in the social pyramid at her high school.

    Of course, whenever someone thinks they understand life, things are always bound to change.

    So is the case when the new-fangled Java Heaven, with its fancy lattes and organic coffee beans, begins putting her grandmother's coffeehouse out of business.

    When Katrina finds a stranger sleeping in the alley outside of the coffeehouse one morning, she is scared. But she also feels badly for the man. Katrina quietly leaves a cup of coffee and some chocolate-covered coffee beans next to him and hurriedly runs back into the coffee shop.

    Little did Katrina know that this one moment would change her life.

    The fact that the mystery man was an angel who wants to repay her by fulfilling her deepest desire would make one think that Katrina's life would become a whirlwind of perfection. No problems, right? End of story.

    That's what one would think.

    But Katrina doesn't know what she wants.

    You can't just throw out random wishes just because they're what everyone else would wish for. And there's bound to be problems if the wish doesn't go as planned. Or is somehow intercepted by someone else. Can life really ever go back to being what it used to be? Can you make life not change? And if you could, what new experiences and people would you never know?

    And if you are always living life wanting something else, are you really living?

    Take a sip of COFFEEHOUSE ANGEL to find out what Katrina wishes for. It's a light, heavenly read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Anybody

    Is this a good book. Rey to heather

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Seriously? I mean this is good

    I havent't read the fullbook but i hear it's awesome. There is some wierd stuff though. I mean, crappy stuff? Big boobs? And mainly, STARTING YOUR PIEROD!!! I know everybody goes through it but in a book,and in the beggining?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great read!

    It has you hoping. It'll make you see what is not there and to take your time with the people around you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I need advice on a problem

    I am a seventh grader a a very quick reader. Would this book be worth my money?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Coffeehouse Angel Review

    this book was not my cup of tea. i don't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Anonymous.

    Really good book! Worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Fun read

    Really enjoyed this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    I bought this book on a whim a few weeks (possibly months) ago,

    I bought this book on a whim a few weeks (possibly months) ago, and I've been reading it a little bit at a time since then. It sounded like a cute, silly romantic story, and that was what I felt like reading at the time. This book was definitely different than I expected it to be, though not necessarily in a bad way. The romance was actually a much smaller part of the novel than I expected.

    This novel really has four plotlines. The first follows Katrina as she tries to figure out who she is and what she wants out of life. The second focuses on family as Katrina and her grandmother try to save their old world coffee shop. The third focuses on friendship and betrayal, as Katrina's best friend starts hanging out with the daughter of the owner of a rival coffee shop. The fourth focuses on Katrina's relationship with Malcolm, the angel. There are also several subplots. It sounds like there's a lot going on, but I think it works. The different threads weave together nicely. Everything wraps up a little too nicely in the end, but I'm still impressed overall.

    The characters in this book are fantastic, as is the world-building. I've always considered world-building a fantasy/sci-fi thing, but it definitely applies here. They live in a small town in the Northwest that still follows Old World traditions, and Selfors did a great job of describing the town. I could picture all the people and events, and it felt like a real place. The characters also felt real. They all have distinct personalities and their own problems going on. Everything doesn't revolve around Katrina and her problems, which was nice. That said, most of the novel did focus on Katrina, and it was nice to read about a character who didn't have it all figured out yet. I loved her "closet of failure" or whatever it was that she called it, which was filled with projects she had started and given up on when she figured out that that wasn't her talent. I could definitely relate to that, and it was fun watching as she eventually figured out what she wanted to do with her life.

    While the writing was great overall, there were a few things that bothered me about this novel. The main thing that bothered me was that the romance just sort of appears all of a sudden. I did eventually grow to like Malcolm and hope that he and Katrina would get to be together, but that wasn't until long after she first thought about kissing him. It just seemed a bit forced at first. Another thing I didn't like was the already-mentioned fact that everything just sort of falls together in the end. Katrina does work to make this happen, so it wasn't as bad as it could have been, but I still think a lot of luck was involved at the end.

    The next paragraph contains a minor spoiler involving a minor side character. If you don't want to know anything about the end, skip this paragraph:

    The last thing that bothered me is a much smaller part of the book, something that most people probably don't care about but which really bothered me. The daughter of the competing coffee shop is an overachiever. The principal holds her up as a shining example of a student, and she's constantly doing something to help other people. We're clearly supposed to find her annoying, and she only becomes less annoying at the end of the novel, once her father is no longer "forcing" her to be an overachiever. So she's forgiven for being an overachiever because she didn't actually want to be. Why wasn't it enough that she was a nice person who also did a lot of things?

    Overall, this was an enjoyable book. The writing was decent, the description fabulous, and the characters realistic and easy to cheer for. If you're looking for a light, quick read, this is a good one to pick up. It's also like $1.60 on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, so it's definitely not a big risk if you end up not liking it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Cute And Sweet

    I loved every word of it. It was a light hearted, feel good sort of book. Very adorable. Good, too, not just fluff. Great writing, great characters, great everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Mehgans Angel

    See im a f uckin differnt angel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Angel

    Well im sorry to hear that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    RRRRREEEEEAAAAALLLLLLLLLLYYYYY GGGGGOOOOOOOOOODDDDD

    Really good I read it when I was 9 years old so I recommend this to 9 year olds and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    What age is it???????

    If you would like to tell me, title your review "to animal girl".
    Please put a real age not for teens or tweens or what ever. Please help this nice girl.
    F.Y.I Im a bookworm. And a geek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8