Customer Reviews for

The Coffin Club (Vampire Kisses Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(335)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better Than Twilight; Amazing Book!

i very much disagree with the people who think that this was horrible and Twilight was amazing. Alexander and Raven's love is pretty cool. The dates he sets up for them are amazing. In this book Raven goes against Alexander as usual) and goes back to the coffin club. In...
i very much disagree with the people who think that this was horrible and Twilight was amazing. Alexander and Raven's love is pretty cool. The dates he sets up for them are amazing. In this book Raven goes against Alexander as usual) and goes back to the coffin club. In a way she is kind of tested. Another guy shows up and he is constantly watching raven. She has to shrug him off a lot and stay true to her boyfriend ;) Along the way she meets to really cool real vampires that become her friend. Tis book was amazing :D

posted by Alecsuhs on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not as good as the others

I really love vampire kisses series but this one really disappointed me. Compared to the other books in this series this one was not in their league. It has always bothered me that Raven lies so much but in this book I really thought that her lying was way over the top...
I really love vampire kisses series but this one really disappointed me. Compared to the other books in this series this one was not in their league. It has always bothered me that Raven lies so much but in this book I really thought that her lying was way over the top. This book just didn¿t have the allure that the others had the excitement was really gone and I didn¿t think that it had a good ending. You can read it if you want but I think that you will agree that it is not as good as the others.

posted by Angel_15 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 526 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    totally awesome!!

    i love this series because i can relate to raven so much u should definately read these books if u havent alredy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AmY's gold

    This book was great because every detail is so vivid it's like your there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not as good as the others

    I really love vampire kisses series but this one really disappointed me. Compared to the other books in this series this one was not in their league. It has always bothered me that Raven lies so much but in this book I really thought that her lying was way over the top. This book just didn¿t have the allure that the others had the excitement was really gone and I didn¿t think that it had a good ending. You can read it if you want but I think that you will agree that it is not as good as the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    This is a cute series. This was my favorite book out of the whol

    This is a cute series. This was my favorite book out of the whole series. I didn't even see that ending coming.  She definitely is always getting into trouble as usual. Very good 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Awesome

    Buy it n read it. It is soooooooooooooo good. No good does not even describe it. It is guh-reat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Amazing-a must read!

    I seriously loved this book! Ellen did a really good job writing this because unlike the twilight saga she used real vampire not fake vampires that frickin sparkle! No offense to twilight because i've read and enjoyed that series i just think that vampires shouldn't sparkle it's just weird. But watever cause i'm so team Jacob! Anyway, Ellen you did an awesome job with this book in the Vampire Kisses series and I totally rate this book a 5 out of 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    What????

    The description gave away the whole flipping book!!! Those of you readers who have read the book domt u agree? PS luved the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    obsessive

    i loved it. i was on my seat the whole time. i wish i could never put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    i was mad.

    i love all the books but as i was reading the description it gave away a HUGE surprize. dont read the description unless you want the ending given away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    This book is a must read. After the first one.

    I loved it. It is intense and you cant stop reading i finished the book in two days. It was just plane awsome. I loved it when Alexander came back. But i can see some twilight in some of these books like a love triangle kind of between Raven, Alexander and Jagger. But I just really love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    Just OK

    I just came across this series a few months ago. I am a older reader and i love the Twilight Series. Well this is no where near as good as Twilight and Alexander and Raven are NO Edward and Bella. There is no chemistry between Raven and Alexander. They have about as much passion between them as a wet noodle. It is the others characters that really make this series a fun read. It is unrealistic to think a girl as young as Raven has found her true love with Alex and ready to give up her whole life to be with him. Yes, she should have doubts and i am happy to see that she does and it makes her more real to me. I cant help to get the feeling that Raven has been a outcast for so long and was just desperate to have someone to accept her like she is, someone who does not think she is a freak. I think she has found a kindred spirit in Alex but not a soul mate. One of my favorite characters in this series is Trevor. He is the reason i continue to read these books and there is a excitement that leaps off of the page when he and Raven are together. Trevor is such a jerk but he is in love with her but he is too scared and to worry about what his friends and family would think if he was with her and he has his reputation as the most popular and hottest guy at school who only dates the most beautiful and popular cheerleader at school too think of. If Raven would open her eyes she will see that she has feelings for him too. I hope the Author of these books can be brave enough to take a chance and go down a road that i know would be very unpopular with the fans of these books and explore the relationship between Raven and Trevor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ok so the series just got better!

    The coffing club is a major step up. It is alot more thrilling and edgy than the previous books. Raven finds a totally cool night club for vampires. It not believable that she passed as a vampire just because she is goth but it's cool, I'll let is slide because the whole point of the book is to uncover the plot that is going on there. A new character is introduced, Phoenix. He is protrayed as a handsome, daredevil, leader. I thought possibly there was going to be a love triangle because Raven felt this connection with Phoenix. I was almost upset with her, but of course it was all a fasade. Turns out Alexander was pretending to be Phoenix for he could stand up against Jagger. Again I have to wonder how Jagger, who new Alexander his whole life didn't know it was him in a purple wig. For goodness sake. This book in not believable but it is still a page turner. Weird!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story for a quick read!

    The Coffin Club is a good story but very short and very simple. I used this series to hold me over while waiting for books by other authors to be released. If you aren't an avid reader and have trouble getting through a book this is a great series for you with an easy to understand plot, love story, and characters...we can all relate to the difficulty of being a teenager. This specific book allowed us to get out of the small town and experience some other places and some other characters which was a welcome addition to the series. Great author, while not as individual as some she does a good job creating characters that we can all identify with and a love story we can all love with the eyes, mind, and heart of the teenagers we are or once were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Always action

    This volume was pretty good. Although there is much more of just Ravens story and her experience at the coffin club, because Alexander is "undercover". But it was still a great addition with plenty of action and surprises around the corner!
    I would totally recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    funny

    funny but not a good book. Compares to a parody book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my best series

    The characterization in The Coffin Club can be a little silly, but it's endearingly silly. Raven might be a little ditzy and clueless about what vampires are really like, but fortunately, the vampires in her world aren't too dangerous. Though, as she finds out when she follows Alexander, her vampire sweetheart, to "Hipsterville", she ventures deeper into the secret recesses of the town's Goth club, she finds that there's more going on among Alexander's kindred than she first assumed. There is trouble brewing at the Dungeon between Jagger and Phoenix, and the vampire world in Hipsterville may forever be changed. Caught between the mortal and immortal world, Raven again struggles with who she should be. Does she give everything up to be with Alexander for eternity, or should she remain mortal and see how things progress? This book is definitely my favorite in the series so far. It's so much fun, and the kisses are heating up between the couple. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Teen Girl Read, But Main Character Falters

    I read this book with my niece who loves the series. For both of us it was engaging, semi-romantic and quick-paced. However, Raven's reasons for continuing to visit the all vamp 'Dungeon' located under "The Coffin Cub" are not adequately articulated and, given the risk, are just plain stupid. Plus, her lack of honesty throughout the novel is disturbing. It's a fun read, but Raven's lying and stupidity is a disappointment. Honestly, she doesn't even realize that Jagger's referring to her when he publicly complains that a mortal has infiltrated the 'Dungeon' club and improperly voted in the vamp-only election. Raven's character loses appeal and credibility as a result of this ditzy, dumbing-down of her character. Plus, what the hell happened to her sincerity? How authentic is her love for Alexander when she purposely conceals her quasi-vampire activities from him? He's the real vamp in their relationship, and if she loved him she would have informed him of the club and Jagger's plans which jeopardize all vampires everywhere. Both my niece and I hope that this novel is just a hiccup in terms of Raven's character and is not indicative of her future character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK...

    this book is awesome and i should know because i read 24/7 and i am picky about books especially when it comes to vampires. raven is awesome and in the next book there is a character named phoenix and in the end he turns out to be...duh! im not stupid! i dont want to spoil it for u guys. if u want to find out what happens read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    better than the last but still 2 short better than the last but still too short

    this book was better, much better than dance with a vampire. it was still was 2 short but I'm thrilled that i wasn't killed with 2 many details as some writers tend 2 do. overall i liked this book it redeemed the series for me and i cant wait 2 c what happens when alexander's parents come 2 town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the best

    this was the best book inthe set so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 526 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27