Customer Reviews for

The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire Series #1) (TV Tie-In)

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A very good read

I am an avid reader and often look for authors I have never read to see if I like how they write. Craig Johnson's The Cold Dish was a very good read. I enjoyed the bookd characters and really liked the main character Walt Longmire. The plot had a few twists and turns wh...
I am an avid reader and often look for authors I have never read to see if I like how they write. Craig Johnson's The Cold Dish was a very good read. I enjoyed the bookd characters and really liked the main character Walt Longmire. The plot had a few twists and turns which I liked and the stories otther characters were all very interesting.

This book is the first in a series and I went and bought the next three series books because I enjoyed this one so much. I also gave the book as a gift to my brother who told me he really liked the story.

I know a lot of my friends who enjoy reading would like this book. If you like a good mystery with engaging characters and a good plot you will like this story by Craig Johnson.

posted by Mr52pickup on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

REally?

Another Penguin/B&N nookbook price gouging experience... Shame on them!

posted by AXLP on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    A very good read

    I am an avid reader and often look for authors I have never read to see if I like how they write. Craig Johnson's The Cold Dish was a very good read. I enjoyed the bookd characters and really liked the main character Walt Longmire. The plot had a few twists and turns which I liked and the stories otther characters were all very interesting.

    This book is the first in a series and I went and bought the next three series books because I enjoyed this one so much. I also gave the book as a gift to my brother who told me he really liked the story.

    I know a lot of my friends who enjoy reading would like this book. If you like a good mystery with engaging characters and a good plot you will like this story by Craig Johnson.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    Superb first novel

    This is the best book that I have read in the past 12 months. James Patterson and the other famous authors should be reading it, to remind them as to what a really great book can be, with three dimensional characters, incredible atmosphere, great intimacy with the location and the characters, and the importance of character development and interaction over contrived action in every chapter.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    New author - Glad I read him

    Here is a novel I think you will enjoy. It had been recommended to me, and I am happy I read it as I found his style of writing very likeable. I look forward to his next book which is to be released March 2006. Try it, you'll like it!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    The Cold Dish

    Great book and great author. Creative story. Reflects Wyoming well and any one from that state knows just what he is talking about when he writes. Keeps you engaged in the story. Has great sense of humor. Entertaining from start to finish.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cold Dish

    Really enjoyed this colorful and amusing cast of characters introduced by western mystery writer Craig Johnson. Set in Absaroka County, Montana the story centers on Sheriff Longmire, his foul-mouthed deputy Vic Moretti from Philadelphia, and Cheyenne friend Henry Standing Bear, among others. Very strong characterizations, with hints at depths that a long series can tease out.

    Listened to the Access Utah (public radio) interview with Johnson as he promoted his fourth book in the series and was fascinated to learn his background in playwriting helped him to craft dialogue that relies on action or 'voice' alone to distinguish speakers. Works particularly well here. Very auspicious beginning.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Great fun and touching

    The Cold Dish is the first in Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire series. Great read(s)! Set in contemporary Wyoming, the land is as important to the story as the characters, relationships, police procedures... ...and the murders. Plan on laughing, sighing, pulling for characters and crying as you read through this well-crafted series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The start of a classic crime series

    Craig Johnson's The Cold Dish is the first novel in his series set in Absaroka County, Wyoming, featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire. It's billed as a mystery, but crime fans would probably be happier to put it in the hard-boiled category. This is not to say that the novel does not feature a mystery - in fact, Johnson's plotting is sure-footed, the clues are cleverly and subtly included, and the final resolution is well handled. The even better news is that the novels in the series which follow this one (Death Without Company, Kindness Goes Unpunished, and Another Man's Moccasins) display an even surer handling of the mystery plot. However, the mystery elements almost take a back seat to Johnson's deft handling of his characters - Walt Longmire, a Cheyenne called Henry Standing Bear, and the rest of the Absaroka Sheriff's department. Walt, in particular, is the character who will keep you coming back to this series. He is a character cast in the hard-boiled mode, tough and vulnerable at the same time, but it is his voice, in dialogue as well in narration, that is the real heart of the novel. At turns humorous, insightful, and poignant, Walt's narrative voice never lets the pace of the novel falter, and his dialogue with his friend Henry Standing Bear is full of perfectly weighted humor.<BR/>If you're a fan of crime fiction, there's a lot to recommend this novel, and the series. Johnson builds on the connection between mystery fiction and the western established by writers like Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett, and gives it a twenty-first century twist. However, while the novels are set in the contemporary moment, there is a wonderful sense of history - both public and private - throughout the series. In The Cold Dish, it is this sense of history that lies behind the novel's revenge plot, as well as being revealed in bits and pieces in the backstories of the novel's central characters. This sense of history is crucial to mystery novels, as the past comes back to haunt the present, and Johnson develops it in order to add depth and feeling to his characters, whom he clearly loves.<BR/>The Cold Dish is well worth reading, both by itself and as part of a growing series. The characters, the Western motifs, the Wyoming setting, the careful plotting, and Johnson's fine prose all combine to create the sort of book that will keep you awake until the small hours, and will keep you coming back to the series as new titles are published.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Disappointed the TV series doesn't stick more to the book series

    I bought Cold Dish to read because the A&E TV series Longmire was being promoted. I like to read the books before seeing the movie or in this case the TV series. This is not normally the type of book I read but I got into it with ease and loved the characters and the setting. So much I also bought book 2 in the series Death Without Company and read that too.. I plan on reading the whole series. I like the books better than the TV show which deviates a lot from the plot line which is to be expected given they only have an hour a week. But I am hoping the TV series will introduce Dog and Sancho soon...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    I have just finished the first series in the set, and it is a great story line, full of twists and turns, Longmire is a laid back sheriff in a wyoming town, We are from wyoming and we can relate with every part of the story, you can't put it downand you just have to find out whats around the next corner. Craig keep writing about Walt Longmire
    And I have already started on the next series #2

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Do you like Hillerman?

    The first book of the Walt Longmire series (currently 5 books). My book club read this and we all gave it a thumbs up. It constantly kept me guessing to who the murderer was. What I really enjoyed most was the writer's dry sense of humor. I look forward to reading his other books as well and have bought this one as a gift for my dad. Other members in the group compared Johnson to Hillerman.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Lukewarm recommendation

    After watching the Longmire episodes on Netflix I thought I might like to try one of the books, so I started with the first. Here are a couple of observations: 1. I was three quarters of the way through the book before I started feeling compelled to keep reading it -- before that I was just basically using it to put myself to sleep at night. 2. The character Vic really has a potty mouth in the book, which was a surprise to me because in the TV episodes they manage to portray her as being tough and edgy without any bad language. Other than that, the book was reasonably clean. I probably will not buy any more of the books, but will continue to watch as episodes are added to Netflix.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REally?

    Another Penguin/B&N nookbook price gouging experience... Shame on them!

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Nice Surprise

    Love the TV series but the book is so much better. Characters have more depth and the writing is intelligent and humorous and suspenseful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    There’s a new sheriff in town, and his name is Longmire. W

    There&rsquo;s a new sheriff in town, and his name is Longmire. Walt Longmire. Walt has a cast of characters that both complement and challenge him, with Henry Standing Bear and Victoria Moretti receiving prominent attention. Small town life never sounded so good or so mystical. The scenes are painted to perfection by a man who certainly knows and appreciates his craft, the scenery of Wyoming, and the complicated relationships between two people that slowly develop over time. And that&rsquo;s the way this book reads.

    If you&rsquo;re looking for a mad race to the finish, with red herrings, carefully placed clues, and subplots galore, you&rsquo;ll probably want to skip over this read. But if you&rsquo;re looking for a mystery that ages like a fine wine, and only gets better as you move at a slow, steady pace toward the end, with characters so real that you can feel their breath whispering against your ear, you&rsquo;ll want to race to the bookstore and grab this mystery, if you haven&rsquo;t already done so.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    A must-read!

    Once you start reading this series, you won't want to stop. Craig Johnson has created a group of characters that you will grow to care about more and more with each subsequent novel. A very well written mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellant read!

    This was my first Craig Johnson novel. It will not be my last. His writing grabs hold of you and doesn't let go until the last word is read. His characters are great. They're very human and each have their own set of quirks. I love quirky characters. I wasn't sure until right at the end who the guilty party was. I cant't wait to begin Death Without Company, the second book in the series. By the way the new TV series on A&E based on these novels and called Longmire is very good. Although I wouldn't have picked Lou Diamond Phillips to play Henry Standing Bear. But I'm sure I'll get used to him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    I loved this story and the characters he created. I live in Colo

    I loved this story and the characters he created. I live in Colorado and I think he captures the feeling of the &quot;west&quot; very well. The characters are rich, but sometimes a little hard to accept. I have read the second book in the series and liked it too. I will definitely keep reading this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Wow, glad I found this author.

    Excellent characters and story. Really glad there are more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good book

    Author knows the territory he writes about. Makes the story easy to read. Characters are like old friends. Definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Boring yet Captivating

    Boring yet Captivating: ¿The Cold dish' is a mystery novel that takes place in rural Wyoming. The setting is in Absoroka County along the Bighorn Mountains. This is an area that consists of both the native Americans and the whites. The community has prospered and these two groups have gotten along great up until four teenage boys are convicted of raping a young Cheyenne girl. The main character, Walt Longmire is the sheriff of the county. He must face the situation with the best morality he sees fit. The case is suspended and treated very leniently which angers the Native American community. This leads to the mysterious murder of one of the boys convicted. Walt and his deputies must find out if the murder was accidental or the forerunning conclusion of an act of revenge for his crime. This book has a relatively slow pace and tends to get rather boring but it never really strays away from the story line. However the plot does sort of act as an attention grabber and the story leads more into the lives of and relationships of the characters. It really showcases the laid back atmosphere of the community in which the story takes place and the wilderness of Wyoming as well. The main character, Walt Longmire is the sheriff of Absoroka County. He is a well respected man in the community with a strong set of moral values. Walt is a white man in a community with both Native Americans and whites, which results in some very interesting aspects of his position with the Native Americans. He really depicts the type of man associated with a rural laid-back area such as Absoroka County, not only in his physical characteristics but his attitude as well. His laid back manner and physical characteristics are described in the line, ¿Her eyes had traveled all the way from the rounded toed boots to the silver matted hair that I¿m sure was sticking up at undefined angles.¿( Johnson, p. 11) Aside form his laid back attitude Walt Longmire has a very intriguing side to his character. He has a breaking point and when it is passed he can become very dangerous and hostile to who ever crossed that line. An example of Walt Longmire¿s short fuse is showed when he says, ¿I picked up the receiver and punched line two. ¿Longmire.¿ I sounded busy and possibly a little angry.¿(Johnson. P. 298) this just scratches the surface of how Longmire¿s emotions can get the best of him and his character almost transforms. Throughout the story Walt Longmire is faced with adversity when trying to solve the murder case. Since he is white and the boy who was murdered was as well many native Americans look at is as if he is bias towards the whites. He overcomes these obstacles by staying true to his beliefs and his moral values by taking into consideration both aspects of the case. He looks at the fact that the boy was killed but still considers the remorse for the Cheyenne girl that was raped and the pain her families were faced with. Through doing this he maintains his respect in the community. Due to Walt Longmire¿s ability to overcome such adversity a fitting theme for this story could be perseverance. Throughout all of the events in the novel Walt stayed true to what he believes is right and because of this he overcame his obstacles. Walt shows this in his character when he defends a man he believes is innocent. When Henry is accused he says, ¿Why would Henry do it? I didn¿t believe he did and that was all there was to it.¿ (Johnson. P. 199) You sort of get the sense that Walt is never going to give in to false accusations just to solve the case if he strongly believes that Henry is innocent. Because of Walt¿s determination to follow his believes he perseveres through the hard ships he is faced with. Although this novel is very slow paced at times it still manages to remain interesting and keeps you reading. There is more reason to read this novel than just for simply being entertained. Although this book accomplishes that as well it really keeps you guessing through

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9