Customer Reviews for

Cold Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    The Amazing Koontz Does it Again, Get Ready To Be Amazed He Still Gots It!!

    I am reviewing my favorite book I have read this year Cold Fire by Dean Koontz. It is a science fiction/action novel that will have you on the edge of your seat. The story begins in southern California , Laguna Niguel. The main charactar is Jim Ironheart and Koontz takes him on one heck of a ride. Anyone that likes action movies will love this book. This book relates to all young high school students, college students or slightly older.

    I have had this book for a year I bought it at a yard sale to bring my Koontz total to a shocking twenty five books. It is the fifth book of my collection I have read this year and it was hands down the one book I refused to put down. The main character Jim Ironheart has saved twelve live in three months and a reporter Holly Thorne is intrigued by him. . He is doing amazing things like flying from Laguna Niguel to Portland to save a boy from being ran over by a drunk driver in the last second. He don't know why he does these random heroic acts saving lives. So is Mr. Jim Ironheart a gifted or a physic. I can guarantee you'll have a great time figuring it out. The most bizarre thing is it all started at on old Wind Mill. This book has non stop action fast cars, explosions, gun shooting, aliens its all here. This is hands down a classic if you have never read Dean Koontz I strongly recommend this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Love love love

    I read this book this winter i cpuld not put it down...even when i wasnt reading i was wondering what gonna happen...Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Page Turner

    My first Koontz book I got for xmas. My wife knows I love to read. So I delved into this book not knowing how Koontz was as an author. Well, let me tell you that each chapter reveals more and more of our friend Jim and his prescient power. From his extremelly horrific dreams that Holly and him share to his outings to save the day, we are filled with such intense heart pounding suspense that verily I tell you now, I have a VERY hard time setting it down to do other stuff at the end of a chapter. Great Book. Looking forward to MORE KOONTZ!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable but Worth Reading

    Jim Ironheart is a man who puts himself right in the path of Death and Danger with a fearless expression in his very blue eyes. The very first time we meet him, he's having one of his "visions" or premonitions about someone dying and he has to go save them. During this little adventure, he meets Holly Thorne, a journalist for a newspaper who decides eventually to quit her job and join forces with Jim because he is so extraordinary. And she's crazy in love with him.After only knowing him for like ten minutes...Anyway, the whole first part of the book--because it's divided into three parts--is meant to show you Jim's good, heroic side. We're supposed to see how he tries to live a purposeful life by saving random people from random tragic events. Most of them are children (understandably so since he was traumatized as a child and probably feels like by saving children, he's giving the hurt child within himself some closure from the past) and all of them are kind of neat in the detail that Koontz provides. So in the second part, we focus on deciphering how Jim knows these things. We learn that it has something to do with a windmill that he spent a lot of his time in when he was growing up. He lost his parents when he was ten and he was sent to live with his grandparents, so like any traumatized child, he took great refuge in something strange and secluded: like the windmill. But this is seriously weird stuff. The walls of the windmill start glowing; Holly is having these dreams that are memories of Jim's past; something--called The Friend--inside the windmill starts to talk to them; The Enemy materializes in broad daylight for everyone to see. I'm disappointed with the way things went, though. I expected--or rather, anticipated, hoped--for something entirely different to come out of this. In no way did I buy the whole alien thing. Like Holly, I was a skeptic as to the glowing wall and all that. But unlike Holly, I was not so easy to accept the truth of what was going on. Oh well. I have to give Koontz some credit for using awesome metaphors and analogies to get his point across. His detail was tangible and poignant, not empty and hallow like some sci-fi writers. Every detail mattered so if you read this book, pay attention. I know I've given a lot away but it's worth the read anyway. If for no other reason than the journey.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    One of the Greatest Books I've Ever Read!!!!

    This was my first Dean Koontz novel I have ever read, and let me just say, it did not dissappoint! The story line is riveting and pulls the reader in from almost the very first page. Jim Ironheart and Holly Thorne are two of the most intriguing characters I've ever read about and I could not wait to find out what happens to them next. Some novels become cluttered with too many characters to keep track of but this one only focuses on Jim and Holly, with minor characters along the way and I greatly enjoyed that. Overall, this was an excellent read and probably one of the best books I've ever read, it keeps you going until the last page. I can't wait to start my next Dean Koontz novel!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC!!! Koontz at his best!

    I have read almost everything Koontz has written. This is by far the best ever! I found this by accident when researching writing styles here at B&N.com. Dean has written a new forward in this book explaining why this is his favorite of his books. He also explains why he will never allow a movie to be made of this story. OMG! I cried when I finished it, I did not want it to end. So many times I have read a story that feels like the author did not know how to finish or resolve the plot. Goodness; what an ending! You will not be disappointed with this brilliant work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I'll never look at a windmill in quite the same way

    Throughout the whole novel we are kept guessing as to what drives Jim Ironheart to save certain lives. Jim seems like a very troubled fellow but likable. We root for him when he races across the continent to save some 10 year old boy. We root for him when he's wandering in the desert looking for himself. We root for him when the plane he is on is about to crash. And we root for him when he finally sees his past and his world comes tumbling down.<BR/><BR/>Coldfire is both a supernatural and psychological thriller. At parts it is downright terrifying! We wait to see what the horrifying nightmares of the windmill suffered by both Holly and Jim mean. There is a twist at the end that I never saw coming. I don't think I'll ever look at a windmill again without remembering this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Wicked Cool, Dude!

    This was the first Dean R. Koontz book I read but it made me want to get all the Koontz books available. This book was Great! Totally awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Hawkstar

    Locked out sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Silverpelt

    Wolfclan needs our help. Go to white fang res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Restless

    Smiles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Good, Good, Good!!!!!

    You won't want to put this one down, great story new twists and turns. Right up there in the class of Watchers and Strangers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Good

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    I thought it was a great book..!

    I really enjoyed this book, and those that say it was predictable how the hec do you get that..?? It didnt turn out like I expected at all!!!...I couldnt hardly put the book down..couldnt wait to see what was going to happen next...and the ending did surprise me...!! Enjoyed it thoroughly...!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This is by far one of the best Koontz books I've read. Couldn't put it down. Keeps you guessing with twists and turns until the very end. Classic Koontz style. This was my second read. Will most definitely read it again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great story Koontz is the king of terror

    loved the story line and the characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love Dean Koontz writings. He puts you right into the characters of the book. You will not be disappointed. If you like mystery, and/or suspense this book has it. I finished it in a few days. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    A Must Read!

    This book was great. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes mystery and the supernatural. The whole way through Mr. Koontz kept me guessing what would happen next. Exciting and well written to the end, it was an adventure with each chapter. I liked the characters and the plot twists, wow. If you're a fan of his work or looking to try it out, this is an excellent one to add to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    Great

    This was the first Dean Koontz novel I've read, and it didn't disappoint. I had heard he was a great author, and he definetly is. The book was so suspensful, and the ending blew my mind. I didn't see that one coming. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7