Customer Reviews for

Cold Fire (Spiritwalker Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Started slow but ended well.

    The beginning of the book dragged a bit...and was a tad confusing. But once it got going everything fell into place. The twist and turns keep you turning the page...and the little hints of romance were so nice. Vai and Cat's little dance was so enjoyable. I was giggling like a school girl. Vai is a great character. I look forward to how he will get out of his current situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cold Fire" is first of all a cinematic read. I was delighte

    Cold Fire" is first of all a cinematic read. I was delighted by the visual imagery Kate Elliot was able to invoke. What a unique author I found her to be in this particular area. It was if I could see her characters in clothing with their weaponry in their settings, vividly. It's a rare thing to experience such a talent. This is not only a good book, it's really fun to read. Kate Elliot is a stand out writer in this genre, in my opinion!

    World-building and the time symbols here were so interesting. I often get lost in such genre when they aren't well configured, and it's easy for me to get bored when that happens. This book easily held my avid attention. Not only that, but I was smiling all the way with the way things were interwoven...worlds and human access to magical forces, Romanic calendar, Creole~Caribbean flavor, a post tramatic induced Iceage, steampunkish influence, and more. I just loved it! I didn't want to stop reading it.

    Ms Elliot's characters are believable and beautiful "visually," which I can't emphasize enough. It was easy to fall in love with Cat's dark and dangerous ex-husband, too. He's just irresistible! And, Cat is the consummate strong heroine. She's a force to be reckoned with, but she's also womanly and caring on other counts. It's hard not to make her a favorite.

    My readers often ask if a 2nd book in a trilogy can be read alone, or if one needs to read the original book first. I didn't read the first book. I found this one to be easily self contained with good references to the 1st book. That didn't stop me from wanting to read the other one, however. I will absolutely want to buy the 3rd book, too!

    This is an author all ages over 12 would thoroughly enjoy reading. A book most satisfying in the genre. I can only highly recommend it. It's not hardcore fantasy/syfy. Another really great YA to Adult Crossover Fiction.

    4 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Very Enjoyable Read

    I realy liked this book. I tore through it in record time for me and i cant wait for more! It was such vivid imagery and I couldnt help rooting for Vai.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    2nd in the series

    I loved the first Cold book but reading the 2nd one has been a bit nerve wracking. Characters brought back, everyone meeting in one place, fighting, running through corridors and in the end.......I'm lost. I would like to see one of the many ongoing plots solved just to feel like someone was successful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Kay

    Hey june sorry i left can we continue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    June

    Yup she came upstairs do u want fallen angel or regular

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Holds your attention

    Book is a bit long winded and sometimes repeats itself (guess it has to do this in case you forget parts.) That being said this is a very interesting read and will keep you reading past several midnights. Plan to buy the third and last book because I have no idea where all this mayhem will end up.....only the next book will reveal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Does not dissapoint

    This was the second book in one of the best trilogies that I have read in a while. The story of this strong woman coming to terms with who she is and charting her own course despite the obstacles made this and the other two books difficult to set aside. So glad that I can speed read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this book, as well as the other two in the series. They are all very original, with well-defined characters with plenty of flaws, but ultimately heroic. There is something for everyone in this book with a little romance, a few zombies, some battles, lots of fantasy, and even some sports. I recommend this book without reservation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    First book better, but this is still pretty good

    I could not put down the first book in this series. So I had to read the second. It was still a fun read, but it took a little longer to get through. What I liked most is that all of the same characters appear from the first book and Cat finally makes her decision about Vai!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Wow

    Really love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Picked up faster than the first

    This book moved faster than the first one. Cat has developed well without a total loss of naievety, but still has room to grow in the third book.

    There was enough adventure and fewer history lessons than the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    This book started off slow again but at least this time i knew t

    This book started off slow again but at least this time i knew the characters.
    I was happy that Vai and Cat finally got together only to find them ripped
    apart again can't wait to see how Vai escapes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down. I keep waiting for the romance to

    I couldn't put this book down. I keep waiting for the romance to blossom and the war all at the same time. Such a gripping story. Can not wait for Cold Steel to come out! Magic, love, fighting, etc this book has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Cold Fire was much worse than the first book, so disappointing i

    Cold Fire was much worse than the first book, so disappointing in fact that I didn't bother finishing it. There was a complete 180 degree turn in character from the Cat in cold magic. If you were expecting to find the strong independent and fearless Cat again you will be crushed to find she has become immature and anxious making hormonal decisions bereft of the intellect she once possessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Getting tired of waiting for book 3!!

    I absolutely loved the first book of this series and waited for cold fire for so long that when I read it I felt a little disappointed. This second book lost the charm of the first one, albeit it was more "epic" than the first. Maybe it was because the second book had much more characters than the first and there were a lot of twits and turns I was blind sided by(which is no really a bad thing in retrospect..). Maybe I felt like Cat was more helpless here than the first, or maybe I'm just frustrated the third book is taking FOREVER like this did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Just as good as the first!

    Ready for the sequel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It's an interesting fantasy world t

    I really enjoyed this book. It's an interesting fantasy world that has been created in this series. I look forward to Cold Steel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3