Customer Reviews for

Cold Flat Junction (Emma Graham Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    When and where

    I liked this book, but it was hard to 'get into.' It was fairly scattered, especially in the beginning. There was no way to tell when or where this story takes place. Eventually, I took a clue¿ that the character ate a 3Musketeers bar with three flavors in it¿ did some research and learned that the candy went to a single flavor in 1945. I shouldn't have had to work so hard. The plot has a LOT of holes in it. Although I enjoyed the main character of Emma very much, parts got somewhat repetitive. The other characters tended to be a little 'too' quirky and several were totally unbelievable. When I read this book I did not realize it was part of a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cold Flat Junction hits a stimulating new tone

    Emma Graham, her second appearance here, is a very well articulated character with grand potential, and quite a marked contrast with the folks in the comfortable Richard Jury books. Extraordinary portrayal of a rich and real setting for Emma and company, the physical world and human stress. What we expect from Martha Grimes, writing that is both compelling and civil. No false notes whatever. More please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    Cold Flat who did it!!!

    I come across this audio book and it is the best. A great story told through the thoughts of a child Emma. You can relate with this story telling of a missing link in the chain of this story. A true blue link to a hidden out come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Grimes triumphs without Jury

    This is a rare book. The characters are superbly drawn. The murders are just incidental to a wonderful story of a little girl and her wild and flamboyant family. The hotel is the main character and it is peopled by 'Real Characters.' Forget Jury give me more Hotel Paradise books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Grimes triumphs without Richard Jury!

    If you¿re looking for another Richard Jury mystery, this isn¿t it. Period. However, that said, this is Martha Grimes writing as Martha Grimes, and an excellent job she does, too. (There¿s no compelling reason all her books have to be about Jury & the Long Pid Gang--much as we wish they were!) In ¿Cold Flat Junction,¿ Grimes returns to the scene, as it were, from an earlier book (which did involve Jury) called ¿Hotel Paradise.¿ In an interview in October, 1999, Grimes explained that she was returning to that scene, not that she was tired of Jury, but that she felt that this story needed to be told, as well. Here, we find young Emma Graham, 12 years old (and most curious!), and a sleuth in her own ¿write.¿ The setting is small town America (Grimes is, surprisingly, American) and picks up some three weeks after ¿Hotel Paradise¿ ends. Emma, precocious that she is, sets out to investigate not one, but three family murders. Sound like too much? Surprisingly not. Grimes, truly, is in good from here (yes, yes, get on with it: it¿s NOT Richard Jury!) and with the precision of a talented, if not competent, surgeon, she makes ¿Cold Flat Junction¿ a worthy read. Grimes¿ style is fresh, filled with good literary allusions and at times a sharp wit. While the book, granted, is not her masterpiece (maybe ¿Jerusalem Inn¿? Yes--it¿s Jury!), Grimes holds her own--and she commands a large literary field--with this one. Read it with an open mind. Besides, she also stated that Richard will be back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting amateur sleuth tale

    Twelve-year old Emma Graham recognizes that her small Maryland hometown is a boring COLD FLAT JUNCTION that travelers pass through with a thank you prayer that they do not live there. Besides toiling at the family hotel and attending school, Emma gains her only pleasure from investigating mysteries (see HOTEL PARADISE) especially since she is convinced that the kind sheriff can never correctly solve them. <p>Just after Ben Queen is released from prison after two decades of time for the murder of his wife Rose, he quickly falls under suspicion of killing their daughter. Emma knows Ben did not commit the current homicide and begins to believe he did not do the other either. She starts her own inquiries going back to the original event that occurred over forty years ago that she feels triggered the subsequent homicides. <P> The second Emma Graham amateur sleuth investigation is a charming tale that cleverly uses a who-done-it to provide a coming of age novel. The story line is fun, amusing, and entertaining as readers observe Emma playing her trade in an innocent air while doing her hotel chores. Detective purists may not enjoy Emma¿s introspective asides, but those who want a wider plot will find her internal comments quite enlightening. Martha Grimes shows the depth of her talent as she takes a different kind of hero than her Richard Jury books, but turns her into an appealing investigator. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1