Customer Reviews for

Cold Granite (Logan McRae Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

What?

I don't understand why some people are rating THIS BOOK 1 or 2 stars because they dont like Harriet's reviews. She didnt write this book so why ruin the real author's rep by blasting on Harriet.....A rate and review is for the author ... not another reviewer. If you do...
I don't understand why some people are rating THIS BOOK 1 or 2 stars because they dont like Harriet's reviews. She didnt write this book so why ruin the real author's rep by blasting on Harriet.....A rate and review is for the author ... not another reviewer. If you dont like her reviews, simply skip them, dont take it out in the author ... geez people! So for the person (s) who rated this book a 1 based on a dislike of another reviewer ... here's my 5 ... read the book!

posted by Tami4 on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

strong Scottish police procedural

Grampian Police Detective Sergeant Logan McRae has been out on sick leave for almost a year recovering from the stab wound to his stomach by since convicted killer Angus Robertson. On his first day back, Logan is at a riverbank in Aberdeen, Scotland where the corpse of...
Grampian Police Detective Sergeant Logan McRae has been out on sick leave for almost a year recovering from the stab wound to his stomach by since convicted killer Angus Robertson. On his first day back, Logan is at a riverbank in Aberdeen, Scotland where the corpse of a three year old child David Reid lies ritualistically mutilated. Since no Detective Inspector arrives at the scene, Logan takes charge and visits the victim¿s mother to tell her the tragic news; however Press and Journal slimy reporter Colin Miller broke the story and already called the family for reactions. The grandfather punches Logan in the stab wound; the cop is rushed to the hospital but is okay. The next morning, DI Insch informs Logan that if Logan cannot hold up he will push paper. As Insch and his team make inquiries with the lingering fear that a serial killer has just started, a child Richard Erskine is reported missing; once again the media obtains a leak. Dubbed Laz by the team, Logan feels he must stop a ritualistic murderer and uncover who is selling out to the press making the effort that much more difficult. --- This novel is a strong Scottish police procedural starring a solid support cast led by no nonsense Insch and other strong protagonists, but centered and held together by Logan, a fine cop doing his job in accordance to rules and regulations. Stuart MacBride displays a fondness for the COLD GRANITE of Aberdeen that adds an urban noir feel to the investigative story line. In spite of the overuse of serial killers glutting the market, readers will want more police stories starring Logan and company. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    What?

    I don't understand why some people are rating THIS BOOK 1 or 2 stars because they dont like Harriet's reviews. She didnt write this book so why ruin the real author's rep by blasting on Harriet.....A rate and review is for the author ... not another reviewer. If you dont like her reviews, simply skip them, dont take it out in the author ... geez people! So for the person (s) who rated this book a 1 based on a dislike of another reviewer ... here's my 5 ... read the book!

    40 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Great Book!

    A great read, and an author well worth following. I'm a great fan of this type of book and this style writing and I wasn't disappointed. I think you'll enjoy this book, go for it after all it's free!

    31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Brutal. Gory Murders, Foul Language

    I found this book very disturbing and hard to take from Page 1. There were graphic descriptions of autopsies and horrible murders; nasty perpetrators; sickening scenes; and a lot of foul language. The scenes described in Scottish slang were hard to understand but I caught the gist. I guess I’ll need to avoid the UK murder stories. It had a large number of typos, and missing paragraph separations, so that the action ran together when there should have been a passing of time shown. It does have appeal if you like gore and disgusting murders.

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Read the book before you write a review!!

    Good read, not in any way is it making child abusers look like heros, if people would actually read the book they would see that!
    Its about an investigation trying to capture the ones responsible for hurting children.

    Maybe people would read the book before they write reviews it wouldnt make the writer look like a perv, this book in no way does that

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good Book!

    Really enjoyed this book! Had several mysteries in it, not just the main serial murders!! Definately a must read!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This book was a Free Friday offering. What a pleasant surprise:

    This book was a Free Friday offering. What a pleasant surprise: good writing, captured my interest from the first several pages, interesting characters. This is a great marketing tool to introduce readers to an author. An insatiable reader, I read everyday, across many genres including history, biography, politics, science and research. Reading mysteries, particularly forensics and procedurals, provides sheer diversion from my stressful job and more serious reading. How delightful to find a new detective set in a city I've read about only infrequently. Imagine getting to learn new idioms (wheelie-bins), foods (butteries), geography (River Don) and weather patterns ("Don't lie to the poor constable: this is Aberdeen...it never stops f*****' raining.") and all for free! I will gladly pay for the next Logan McRae book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great book

    Recommended

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. This was my first nook book. I'm h

    I really enjoyed this book. This was my first nook book. I'm hooked. The characters are developed nicely. Great scene detail. Only problems are the differences between American terms for things vs. English Terms. For the most part I knew most of the slag words, but there are a few I didn't know. I would recommend this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Bad

    Hard to follow. Too much trivial detail. Very slow read

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Acronyms hard to follow but good so far

    I am 40 pages in and am very frustrated because of all the acronyms the author assumes we know. I have given up and for the most part guess or just don't bother as it is usually just a police officers rank or type of command center they had set up so it does not affect story line too bad in my opinion. Just would be nice to see proper procedures followed where an acronym is explained fully first before using in its shortened form. Oh well....still enjoying the book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    An enjoyable read

    It was okay, but not really my type. I would reccomened it, and it has a good vocabulary and plot.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Rating & Reviewing

    There are always some people who want to know a little about the book before they read it (like my mother in law) so if your going to to reveal plot points just type **SPOILER ALERT** at the begining of the review.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    wouldn't buy again

    i still have not finished this book--i'm finding it difficult to read--doesn't hold my interest--i will finish it eventually because i would like to know who dit it but it's not an enjoyable read

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Fast pace. Catches your interest at the start

    Really enjoyed this book and highly recommmend to anyone who likes murder mysteries. The main character is very likeable

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    A'ight

    Not really my genre, but it was a interesting enough read. Serial killers and such. Good beach reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Excellent book.

    Excellent book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Disturbing reviewer

    The person who wrote that disgusting title has done this on several different books. It is inappropriate and disturbing. But i will not let that person keep me from reading this book. It is not the author's fault that someone is doing that.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    A good read but not for those with a low gag threshold. Not just a whodunit but a whodunwhattowhom.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Deleted due to offensive language

    Deleted due to offensive language

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19