Customer Reviews for

A Cold Heart (Alex Delaware Series #17)

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Good plotting, too long

    I enjoyed this Alex Delaware better than some of latest ones (i.e. The Conspiracy Club). I read primarily to catch up with one of Kellerman's new characters - Petra Connor, a LAPD homicide detective. I like her and her partner Eric Stahl. This book grabs you in the beginning but gets blogged down in multiple suspects in the middle. Recommended but you need patience...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed the book. It wasn't as great as the other ones. I felt that it was missing feeling from Alex, the villan & the victims. Don't get me wrong the story was also interesting just not as passionate. I give the novel one thumb up. And would still recommend it to however is in to the Delaware series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    You people are so harsh

    I found A cold heart to be a nice book to read, I really enjoyed it.. I don't see it as horrible as so many say it is. I liked Petra, she was a nice edition to the series, and I can understand why Delaware didnt fight for Robin.. even if both of them still had soemthing left. He had someone, and Robin had someone.. Stahl was a stale character, he had no depth to him, but without him I cant see the plot working out. I didnt quite understand how they figured out who was behind the killings.. When he first mentioned the kevin drummond I had to reread the paragraphs over a few times... I also found the ending to be a bit weak. Aside from the few glitches, I liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    LOVED IT!!!!

    All I can really say is that I am very thankful that Robin seems to be gone. Sure hope she stays gone! The new love interest for Alex is much stronger, both emotionally and physically and will likely take the working relationship of Alex and Milo to a different level. I don't want her to replace Milo (NONONO), but it could give a little jolt to the storylines if she and Alex OR she and Milo were to go off solving crimes together and leave the third person behind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    A PLEASANT RETURN TO FORM!!

    Kellerman seems to have rebounded from a prolonged slump that stretches back to the truely awful 'The Web'. The Murder Book hinted that Delaware still had some life in him while A Cold Heart confirms this suspicion. The story is a cracker that moves solidly along. Replacing Robin was a courageous but long overdue move as she tended to interfere with the plots while not contributing a believeable love interest. Spike is missed though!! How about a Delaware story that focuses on Milo. He is by far the most intrigueing and developed character. Perhaps something that leads him to become involved with a woman thus causing him to reflect and question his life choice. Not that I would want him to suddenly become a ladies man but the attraction that women have towards him is overwealming and at some point a person will come along that causes his heart to tingle with attraction as much as sympathy. For now A Cold Heart is good enough to pump some badly needed blood back into one of the very best series on the market!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    A bit too long

    A COLD HEART is a well told story I beleive could have been cut down by about 50 pages. The plot will keep you pulled into it, but sometimes it seems to drag along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    A solid entry in the best-selling series.

    Alex Delaware is called to investigate a series of bizarre murders that linked together. Washed-up guitarist Baby Boy Lee is found stabbed to death outside of a local club. Alex doesn¿t know what to make of the stabbing, but knows this wasn¿t just a random killing. The body was carefully placed, arranged if you will, and Alex wants answers for Baby Boy was a friend of Alex¿s long-time, but now ex-girlfriend Robin. Investigating the case is Petra Connor, and with the help of Alex and his partner/friend LAPD detective Milo Sturgis, Petra is confident they will catch the killer, until another body turns up¿ In another part of town another body is found, this time it¿s that of Julie Kipper, a talented, divorced artist on the verge of her big break. At the opening of her first show, Julie is found murdered. There is no motive, and only one clue¿the body was arranged in a sick manner, that resembling the body of Baby Boy. Petra, Milo and Alex must work carefully and quickly as the body count rises, but catching this killer will be no easy task, as he stays one step ahead, taunting the police with his bloody 'art' work, and to make matters worse Petra has been given a new partner, one that hides secrets of his own. `A Cold Heart¿ is another solid entry in the Alex Delaware series. Fans know what to expect in these mysteries; fast pace, careful plotting, genuine characters and thick suspense, and this novel contains all the elements that have made the previous entries in the series bestsellers. Jonathan Kellerman continues to churn out original, quality thrillers. For many years his Delaware series has been the setting standards in the psychological suspense arena, and this latest entry is further proof the series is stronger than ever, and with Kellerman¿s expert plotting, here to stay. Fans of the series are sure to devour this in a few sittings. Expect to see `A Cold Heart¿ at the top of the charts. Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Another Good One

    A Cold Heart was entertaining, like his others, but seemed to drag a little. Other than that it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1