Customer Reviews for

Cold Magic (Spiritwalker Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good

Kate Elliot is an excellent author. She has a strong command of the language and portrays her world clearly and with much detail. Though well written, it isn't entirely adult-oriented. Cat is twenty, and there isn't any graphic violence or sexuality or anything inapprop...
Kate Elliot is an excellent author. She has a strong command of the language and portrays her world clearly and with much detail. Though well written, it isn't entirely adult-oriented. Cat is twenty, and there isn't any graphic violence or sexuality or anything inappropriate for a young reader. She builds an interesting alternative world, at the cusp of total industrialization (there are airships of sorts, but rifles are rare). The plot itself is intricate and woven carefully, but it wasn't perfect. It follows a pretty basic storyline. The world is original, and the characters are relatively her own. Cat, the protagonist, is young and fiery, but by the end I was wishing she would just chill out and admit she was in love with the love interest! Some reviewers (from amazon) complained about the love interest's arrogance and abraisiveness. I have to say I was more irritated by the way Elliott described it than anything else. In every sentence concerning him, she would include "arrogant" in it. For example, "his lips curled into that arrogant smile" or "and his face changed to the arrogant mask I was used to". She might describe other parts of his appearance, but that "arrogant" is in that description somewhere! His words and behavior were more than enough to inform us that he was arrogant, but he DOES have redeeming qualities, and I, at least, felt much sympathy for him. He cooled down toward the end, and Cat didn't, which annoyed me slightly, but I lay my hope in the second book! The thing I really liked the most was that the ending was HIGHLY satisfying. It wraps it all up and only hints to what may come later (there are a few questions left, but the pressing ones were answered by the last page). Recommended :)

posted by Anzabel on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

!

Not surprisingly we have harriet klausner jumping in to ruin another book with her book report reveal. Bn, please, wont you do something to this plot spoiler. She consistently ruins every book she so calls reviews. She reveals every plot line, sometimes even the ending....
Not surprisingly we have harriet klausner jumping in to ruin another book with her book report reveal. Bn, please, wont you do something to this plot spoiler. She consistently ruins every book she so calls reviews. She reveals every plot line, sometimes even the ending. How many sales will she cost you before you finally do something?

posted by 8888649 on May 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    Kate Elliot is an excellent author. She has a strong command of the language and portrays her world clearly and with much detail. Though well written, it isn't entirely adult-oriented. Cat is twenty, and there isn't any graphic violence or sexuality or anything inappropriate for a young reader. She builds an interesting alternative world, at the cusp of total industrialization (there are airships of sorts, but rifles are rare). The plot itself is intricate and woven carefully, but it wasn't perfect. It follows a pretty basic storyline. The world is original, and the characters are relatively her own. Cat, the protagonist, is young and fiery, but by the end I was wishing she would just chill out and admit she was in love with the love interest! Some reviewers (from amazon) complained about the love interest's arrogance and abraisiveness. I have to say I was more irritated by the way Elliott described it than anything else. In every sentence concerning him, she would include "arrogant" in it. For example, "his lips curled into that arrogant smile" or "and his face changed to the arrogant mask I was used to". She might describe other parts of his appearance, but that "arrogant" is in that description somewhere! His words and behavior were more than enough to inform us that he was arrogant, but he DOES have redeeming qualities, and I, at least, felt much sympathy for him. He cooled down toward the end, and Cat didn't, which annoyed me slightly, but I lay my hope in the second book! The thing I really liked the most was that the ending was HIGHLY satisfying. It wraps it all up and only hints to what may come later (there are a few questions left, but the pressing ones were answered by the last page). Recommended :)

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Fantastic!

    Rarely do you read a book that immediately grips your imagination and your heart. This one does both. Cold Magic is amazing! I could not put this one down and read like a maniac. The heroine is stunning, relentless and courageous. The characters are out of this world! Action, adventure, magic, danger, romance, this book has it all! I am eagerly awaiting book 2.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    !

    Not surprisingly we have harriet klausner jumping in to ruin another book with her book report reveal. Bn, please, wont you do something to this plot spoiler. She consistently ruins every book she so calls reviews. She reveals every plot line, sometimes even the ending. How many sales will she cost you before you finally do something?

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great alternate historical

    By 1837 Augustan Year, Europa is divided between the old and the new. At a time when the continent faces an ice age, the battle for the hearts of society pits the cold mages against the industrial revolutionists as the detested former argue that the scientists are destroying the world while the welcomed latter claim they are making life better for the less fortunate.

    Near Londun in the port city of Adurnam, young Catherine Hassi Barahal shares a bed with her cousin Beatrice as she lives with her aunt and uncle. She wants to know more about her parents; intrepid explorers who apparently died, but has no avenue to begin until she finds a tome her father apparently wrote about The Lies the Romans Told. Soon afterward a cold mage from the Diarisso Lineage of the Four Moon House arrives claiming a magical contract in which the oldest Barahal will marry him unless she is already twenty. Right there at the house of her aunt and uncle, Cat is bound in marriage to the old cold mage. They begin a journey across the icy tundra to a place she knows nothing of, but must learn fast if she is to survive.

    This alternate historical Europe is a great opening act as the readers will believe in this world of Kate Elliot. The conflict between the cold mages and the industrialists mirrors in many ways Dickensian England. Cat is a strong protagonist who holds the vivid story line together, but it is the nineteenth century vision of Kate Elliot as seen mostly through her heroic teenager's eyes that makes for a stirring thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book a lot. I like how the main character is independent and realistic. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys fantasy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Loved it!

    It was a slow start, and it does often get bogged down in details that I felt distracted from the story rather than added to it. But, by the end I was definitely excited to see where they were going next. Absolutely picking up the next book and seeing how this continues!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    This book was hard for me too catch on too,it took me nearly 2 w

    This book was hard for me too catch on too,it took me nearly 2 weeks to get to page 104.
    There was so much background information i couldn't tell what was going on,so i quit reading it
    and read 4 other books, Then i came back to it i was determined to finish it once i got past the 150 pages
    things began to click and found that the story was full of twist and turns and very creative.
    I have just got the next book and because i know the characters now i am hoping it won't be a slow to start.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Recommended

    I started this series because I really like Kate Elliot's other books, I liked this one, but not as much as her other series. I have since read the second book now and will await the final book when it comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Kept me on my toes...

    Started off a bit slow but the more I read, the more I couldn't put it down. Ready for Cold Fire.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great find!

    This was reccomended to me by someone who knows how much I like fantasy, and fantasy with good female characters. I was not disappointed. Not only was the world created here facinating because of the magic elements, but also because of alternative history status as well. It used our known past...but the twists it makes to it really lead to an interesting new world.

    I also loved the fact that many of the main characters are also POC. It is hard to find good fantasy with POC that are whole characters and not cutouts. I loved the they were real people with debth. But that is good...but the better thing is that their race is secondary to the fact that they are good characters.

    This was very well told and I look forward to the next. Downside....cliffhangers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Steampunk fun!

    Loved the characters and the plot! Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Very good read

    I enjoyed this from the first page to the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I enjoyed this book so much that I bought the next one before I

    I enjoyed this book so much that I bought the next one before I finished the 1st one. I Look forward to the rest of the series. This may put Kate Elliot on my list of favorite authors. A long with Mercedes Lackey, and Terry Brooks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Just didn't do it for me.

    This book had some good parts, but it was slow and often so lost in description and language that in the end, I could only get halfway through before I lost interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I dont know

    Very confusing. Seems there are so many details and attempts at clever word use, that one is distracted. Almost seems like the writer is trying to prove they are a writer. Strange.

    I want to like it but ..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Absolutely loved this book!!

    Can't wait for book three!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Bad

    Good idea but badly written

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I had a little difficulty getting into this world, but it was we

    I had a little difficulty getting into this world, but it was well worth the effort.  I didn't think *anything* could get me into steampunk, but this adventure had me, hook, line and sinker.  Each book is complete in itself, but the ending is very satisfactory.  I would gladly read another adventure in the world, and I just love Cat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    People made it out to be so good but its not really... is it?

    IM SO CONFUSED!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Intricate fantasy and great characters

    Was a little hard to get into in the beginning,but was fantastic once it picked up. Made me want to binge read everything she's ever written. Definitely one you can't miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6