Customer Reviews for

Cold Mountain

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What a Fantastic Trip

I literally could not put this book down once I started reading it. With the turn of each page, I found myself becoming an even more curious and eager companion on Inman's journey. The unspoken connection between Inman and Ada is one most people can only long for. Ada's...
I literally could not put this book down once I started reading it. With the turn of each page, I found myself becoming an even more curious and eager companion on Inman's journey. The unspoken connection between Inman and Ada is one most people can only long for. Ada's transformation is equally inspiring. Never before have I so highly recommended a book to friends, and never before have I recommended a book to strangers.

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

I was so disappointed with this book. I struggled to get through it. It was too wordy. I don't need 3 paragraphs to tell me how the bird flew away. I didn't understand what any of the side stories had to do with the plot. And was there even a plot? I didn't even k...
I was so disappointed with this book. I struggled to get through it. It was too wordy. I don't need 3 paragraphs to tell me how the bird flew away. I didn't understand what any of the side stories had to do with the plot. And was there even a plot? I didn't even know there was any kind of love story supposedly between these 2 characters. This was a complete waste of time.

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    What a Fantastic Trip

    I literally could not put this book down once I started reading it. With the turn of each page, I found myself becoming an even more curious and eager companion on Inman's journey. The unspoken connection between Inman and Ada is one most people can only long for. Ada's transformation is equally inspiring. Never before have I so highly recommended a book to friends, and never before have I recommended a book to strangers.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    A Magnificent, Gripping Story Better Heard Than Read

    There is a depth and richness to Mr. Frazier's reading of his book which makes the unabridged audio version superior to the printed one. At 449 pages, and with many long passages about the characters' thoughts, emotions, and world they inhabit, reading the book can - at times - be a stretch of one's patience. But when you listen to the book, you are transported by Mr. Frazier's voice to a world that is deep in belief, experience, and characters whose lives become part of your own. Having listened to Garrison Keillor on NPR's 'A Prairie Home Companion' for many years, I cannot help but make an overwhelmingly positive comparison when reflecting on Mr. Frazier's ability to draw you gently but unyieldingly into the triumphs and tragedies of the characters' lives as well as the spirit of the land along the Blue Ridge in the western Carolinas. Like Mr. Keilor, the author has deep roots in the territory that he describes, and there is simply no substitute for the kind of familiarity found in writers who draw well on their native surroundings. Note #1: Get the unabridged version of the tapes. Don't sell yourself short with the abridged. You don't really gain anything, and you'd lose a lot... Note #2: Women read a lot more books than men for a variety of explainable and unexplainable reasons and this book has the many elements guaranteed to attract the female audience. But I want to say this is a bonafide winner for men also, especially since the tape can become part of commuting to work. As a man, I am always wary of the way authors of historical novels can transform characters - especially men - into Jane Austen period pieces. Saps or heroes or whatever. Not true with this one. Mr. Frazier tells it straight on. It is a novel to be respected. Note #3: Although it is set during the Civil War, the major military events are distant and described in tragic remembrance. But the local version of the war is ever-present and intense. It's a very personal set of experiences framed by civilian life under a military rule that is mediocre, savage, and inept. For a fine novel on a major military event of the Civil War, listen to the tape version of 'The Killer Angels', a profile of the key decision-makers (both large and small) at Gettysburg.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Absolutely a great read!!

    I have written a review about this book when I first read it and I must say it really is a wonderful fiction piece. I read this novel during the junior year of highschool, and now as a Graduate Student who has a more in-depth understanding on literary works, this books still continues to hold up and remains in my top-3 books of all time. Although some casual readers may be turned off by the length of it, I suggest stick with it and you will not be disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Awesome

    a classic

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    o my god what is wrong with you people!

    There must be something wrong with many of the people who wrote those negative reviews. this book was definetly one of the best storys i have read in a long time and i am an avid reader. i know everyone is entitled to their opinions but come on guys! many reviewrers are saying the book was long, drawn out, and hard to understand. Well obviously no one has the capacity to see what beautiful writing really is these days. this book will keep a seasoned reader compelled beginging through end. Caution: not for readers who find themselves picking up the latest book in the gossip girl series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2004

    Boring!

    I was so disappointed with this book. I struggled to get through it. It was too wordy. I don't need 3 paragraphs to tell me how the bird flew away. I didn't understand what any of the side stories had to do with the plot. And was there even a plot? I didn't even know there was any kind of love story supposedly between these 2 characters. This was a complete waste of time.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    .

    .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Cold Mountain

    A very intellectual book. Is a great read for those who have high lexile scores. I found the characters very real and their stories touching. I would definatly recommend this book.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Love That Lasts 'Til The End

    This book portrays a great love story during the Civil War. Inman the main character is an injured soldier who escapes from the hospital in search of his true love, Ada. Both of their journeys are being followed as they are on their way to see each other. Their journeys are long and difficult with many obstacles and challenges, that delay their reunion. It is the love and devotion they have for each other that keeps them going and determined to see one another. Ada doesn't know much of how to raise a farm, but when her father dies, she has no choice but to learn how. Ruby contributes to her knowledge of her new responsibilities. Also after her father dies Inman becomes the one thing on her mind. What she doesn't know is that she is also what he thinks and dreams of to help him get through his tough circumstances. If only Inman would have known that the war was going to last much longer than he thought, he wouldn't have signed up to fight in it. He wouldn't have wanted to be away from her for as long as he had been. One theme that is throughout the book is the separation that they place on themselves in order to find true understanding in the world and each other. This story is expected to be one of a great soldier's experiences during the Civil War, but turns out to be one of how love has no boundaries. I enjoyed the novel because it is very different from anything I have read before. It made me think and really intrigued in the characters. I liked following the stories separately and watching them come together near the end. What I didn't like was how long it took to come together. I think that other should read this because it was a learning experience, as well as, a great book to read. It doesn't just give you something to read, but it gives you something to think about while you're not reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    The author tried too hard

    I avoided reading this book for a long time because I am not generally interested in reading about war or senseless violence. But I finally picked it up because of all the accolades by critics. It is actually not very well written at all. It is boring and too wordy. It seems the author just took a creative writing course and overused his new-found tool, description. The detail is distracting and much of the story just is unnecessary. It is very disappointing. With so many great books to read and so little time, I'm sorry I wasted time with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz........

    Too slow, too boring, completely failed to capture my interest. I probably got through the first 50-100 pages and couldn't take it anymore.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Good story. Well constructed, but the characters let something to be desired

    See above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Don't bother

    After three weeks and 70 pages I closed
    the book to go to something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Read the book and then watch the movie. Well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Picturesqe World

    Frazier is as much a poet as a novelist. Cold Mountain is a naturalistic story, part adventure and part romance. Fans if Mccarthy will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    Great Read!

    This book was great in so many ways. Historically interesting. Really gave you a feel of the trials of living through the Civil War. And the love story was intense and I couldn't put the book down. I'm going on to read more of this authors books....I'm hooked. I highly recommend it. It would be great for a book club....lots to discuss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Good, good, good! Enjoyed the book and the movie.

    Good, good, good! Enjoyed the book and the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    I am a junior in high school and when my English teacher present

    I am a junior in high school and when my English teacher presented the class with a reading list for an independent assignment, I dreaded picking a book. When I scanned the page, I picked this book at random; and it turned out to be a good choice. Admittedly, I only read the first 83 pages of the book due to a very short reading period and a very busy schedule, but this review is one of the first 83 pages.
    The beginning of this book is two completely different stories; one of a civil war survivor who is recovering from a neck wound in a hospital in a city, and one of a privileged farm girl who has fallen on hard times after the death of her father.
    Inman’s story begins of him recovering in the hospital and dreading the day he is well enough to get back to the war. When his roommate dies, he realizes that he must leave. He leaves and begins his slow journey with his sights set on Cold Mountain. During his long journey every event seemed to remind him of the war he just left, the large wound on his neck a constant reminder of how he got it.
    Ada is a young farm girl who finds herself on her father’s beloved farm. She is struggling to make ends meet financially and since before her father’s death, she never worked a day in her life. She is struggling to keep up the farm as well as make food for herself. She receives help from a local girl named Ruby who teaches her to survive on her own.
    The amount that I read of this book was exceptional and I plan to read it out of the classroom because I enjoyed it so much. I completely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Fantastic!

    I have had this book for several years & re-read it lots of times. Very richly described & a good lesson of life at that time. Highly recommend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13