×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cold Mountain
     

Cold Mountain

4.6 13
 

See All Formats & Editions

Directed by Anthony Minghella (The English Patient, The Talented Mr. Ripley) and based on Charles Frazier's bestselling Civil War novel, Cold Mountain tells the story of wounded Confederate soldier Inman (Jude Law), who embarks on a perilous journey home to his mountain community -- and to his sweetheart, Ada (Nicole Kidman). For a musical match to this

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cold Mountain 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
glauver More than 1 year ago
Cold Mountain was a follow-up to T-Bone Burnett's wildly successful O Brother, Where Art Thou soundtrack. Although the music is in a similar vein, it falls a bit short. White Stripes front man Jack White just cannot match the genuine mountain music avatars who contributed to O Brother. He isn't awful, but he sounds like an outsider playing a part. Tim O'Brien and Dirk Powell make a couple appearances and could have been used more. (Check out their own Songs From The Mountain project.) Alison Krauss has a couple lovely numbers and a group called the Sacred Heart Singers At Liberty Church adds some genuine back country gospel. Several orchestral numbers round out the CD. Burnett might have improved the flow if he had mixed them with the songs instead of sequencing them together. O Brother fans will probably like this as long as they don't expect it to equal that disc.
lukependragon More than 1 year ago
Nobody but me likes this kind of music. Great cd!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the folkieness in this soundtrack,especially the songs sung by Jack White,he's me favorite to listen to. By end of track four I was crying,just the melancholy sound of Allison Krauss's voice,just beautiful. I love anything Cival War period,music was lovely then.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gabriel Yard's work is amazing, adding to the deepness and beauty of the film. Tears come to my eyes when the music plays, and Sting and Allison Kraus's "Ain True Love" adds a beautiful touch. Amazing music, recommend it and the movie, there my favorite!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This soundtrack conveys perfectly the outstanding ability of music to carry emotion and displays folk music in an accessible, interesting, and well-done way, making it worthwhile even for someone who rarely listens to folk music. Also, the tracks by the Sacred Harp Singers exemplify an amazing and refreshing enthusiasm rarely heard in church music today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i thought the song, " you will be my ain true love," sung by alison krauss with sting in harmony was utterly beautiful. jack white was fantastic. the soundtrack brings the message of the movie home that war is wrong and that love is all that matters. every time i hear this soundtrack i am moved beyond words. i also have the movie on dvd and each time i watch it iam amazed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a dedicated Sacred Harp singer& lover of all traditional musics,I must say that T-Bone Burnett did a wonderful job on this recording.Being a Sacred Harp singer,I suppose that I am biased towards the two tunes recorded at Liberty Church in Henagar& the lovely "Lady Margaret" by my dear friend Cassie Franklin,whom I have sung with here in Kalamazoo,Michigan at our Annual All-Day Sing.Sacred Harp is,if one goes to a sing, one will find that it is a vibrant,living music that should be kept alive.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really love this CD, it's a great album if you love folk music. I love most of the songs on it. The only songs I don't like on it are "Lady Margret" and "Was I born to Die?". The rest I enjoy a lot. I think that Jack White (member of the White Stripes) did a fantastic job on the songs he did. The songs he sings on here are much softer and slower than his usual rock songs he does. All in all great CD!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't point fingers until you know your facts. The Jack White appearing in Cold Mountain and heard on the soundtrack is the same Jack Black in White Stripes. Check out IMDB to get your facts straight. That being said, this is an excellent soundtrack and gives you a great sample of American Folk music with a dash of history thrown in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Jack White on the Cold Mountain soundtrack is not the same Jack White that makes those lo-fi White Stripes masterpieces. Obviously. I can't believe even the (presumably) professional reviewer goofed that one up. Geez. All in all, an excellent album if you are interested in the ancestors of American folk music.