BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cold Mountain

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    I've seen the movie 5 times, finally bought the soundtrack.

    Nobody but me likes this kind of music. Great cd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Point Fingers

    Don't point fingers until you know your facts. The Jack White appearing in Cold Mountain and heard on the soundtrack is the same Jack Black in White Stripes. Check out IMDB to get your facts straight. That being said, this is an excellent soundtrack and gives you a great sample of American Folk music with a dash of history thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Soundtrack

    This soundtrack conveys perfectly the outstanding ability of music to carry emotion and displays folk music in an accessible, interesting, and well-done way, making it worthwhile even for someone who rarely listens to folk music. Also, the tracks by the Sacred Harp Singers exemplify an amazing and refreshing enthusiasm rarely heard in church music today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Songs to Remember

    i thought the song, " you will be my ain true love," sung by alison krauss with sting in harmony was utterly beautiful. jack white was fantastic. the soundtrack brings the message of the movie home that war is wrong and that love is all that matters. every time i hear this soundtrack i am moved beyond words. i also have the movie on dvd and each time i watch it iam amazed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Soundtrack!!

    I really love this CD, it's a great album if you love folk music. I love most of the songs on it. The only songs I don't like on it are "Lady Margret" and "Was I born to Die?". The rest I enjoy a lot. I think that Jack White (member of the White Stripes) did a fantastic job on the songs he did. The songs he sings on here are much softer and slower than his usual rock songs he does. All in all great CD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    Gabriel Yard's work is amazing, adding to the deepness and beauty of the film. Tears come to my eyes when the music plays, and Sting and Allison Kraus's "Ain True Love" adds a beautiful touch. Amazing music, recommend it and the movie, there my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Obvious and Amateurish Mistake, Sirs.

    The Jack White on the Cold Mountain soundtrack is not the same Jack White that makes those lo-fi White Stripes masterpieces. Obviously. I can't believe even the (presumably) professional reviewer goofed that one up. Geez. All in all, an excellent album if you are interested in the ancestors of American folk music.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    De Lovely

    I love the folkieness in this soundtrack,especially the songs sung by Jack White,he's me favorite to listen to. By end of track four I was crying,just the melancholy sound of Allison Krauss's voice,just beautiful. I love anything Cival War period,music was lovely then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    T-Bone Burnett did a great job on this one

    As a dedicated Sacred Harp singer& lover of all traditional musics,I must say that T-Bone Burnett did a wonderful job on this recording.Being a Sacred Harp singer,I suppose that I am biased towards the two tunes recorded at Liberty Church in Henagar& the lovely "Lady Margaret" by my dear friend Cassie Franklin,whom I have sung with here in Kalamazoo,Michigan at our Annual All-Day Sing.Sacred Harp is,if one goes to a sing, one will find that it is a vibrant,living music that should be kept alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1