Customer Reviews for

Cold Pursuit

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Excellent

    I thought I'd read all of T. Jeff's novels so imagine my delight when I realized I'd missed one. This book did not disappoint. I loved it and love Mr. Parker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Best book I've read all summer

    And I've read a lot of mediocre books this summer. This one is great. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    A suspenseful thriller worth reading

    Generations of hate come together in this book. Pete Braga killed Franklin McMichael dead in a claim of self-defense in the summer of 1952. The next generation carried on the tradition when Gabriel McMichael supposedly beat Pete¿s son, Victor, so severely that he suffered permanent brain damage, rendering him with the IQ of a ten-year old. The third generation was naïve to all this hatred when Thomas McMichael fell in love with Pete¿s granddaughter Patricia. The love of his life was driven away at a young age when Grandfather Pete refused to permit their love to blossom. While the McMichael family existed in near poverety, the Braga family thrived in power and money. <P> So now Thomas has a problem. The root of all his family¿s hatred, Pete Braga, has been found dead. He was murdered by someone at his home. Thomas has been assigned the case to find out who wanted the old man dead. Given his many enemies, the list of suspects is long. It doesn¿t help that the first suspect, Sally Rainwater¿Pete¿s personal nurse, becomes the object of Thomas¿ heart as the investigation unravels. <P> The story twists and turns through many leads and many unexpected plot points as Thomas McMichael is determined, despite his family¿s hatred of Pete, to find out who is behind the killing and why. Author T. Jefferson Parker does an excellent job in keeping the reader involved and interested in the story with his enthralling style. <P> Frederick A. Babb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Great Read

    Lots of twists and turns. Very enjoyable read. Mystery and romance. Who could ask for anything more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    tour de force police procedural thriller

    In 1952 San Diego, a Braga killed a McMichael in what was called self-defense. A few months later Pete Braga¿s son Victor was beaten up so severely that he sustained brain damage. He would always have the mind of a ten-year-old. The rumor went around town that Gabriel McMichael beat up Braga¿s son but it was never proven. In the present San Diego Police Homicide Detective Tom McMichael is on duty when Pete Braga¿s body is found in his home, beaten to a bloody pulp. When he arrives on the scene, McMichael finds the nurse with blood on her face, clothes and shoes but she explains that she was trying to revive her client. Paintings and jewelry from the Braga home are found in the nurse¿s apartment but she has proof that he gave them to her as gifts. McMichael is forced to look at Braga¿s enemies, including those from his own family. In the course of his investigation he almost gets himself suspended for dating a suspect and then almost loses his life when the killer kidnaps him. COLD PURSUIT is a tour de force police procedural thriller that starts off fast and just keeps increasing in speed. Readers will love the protagonist, a loving father and a man who is willing to own up to his mistakes. It¿s fascinating watching Tom connect the dots in the investigation, so much so readers will ignore why he was not removed due to a conflict of interest as he uses professional police methods and intuition to crack the case. T. Jefferson Parker has once again proven he is a gifted writer who delivers a best seller. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    An Allnighter

    When I picked up this book I had no idea it would not let me walk away without finishing it. Had I known I would have waited till the weekend to read it. Parker does an amazing job of writing. He manages a tight plot, great characters and wonderful descriptive quality. Parts of this book are hanging in my head like phantoms. The book follows a detective working a homicede case. Sounds simple, but it's not. It is laced with bad blood between the cop's family and the victim's family. ANd the further into the investigation he gets, the murkier things are. Compounding his stress are problems dealing with being a newly divorced father and a ex partner who is under arrest and may be pushing the spotlight over to him. A great read, with an unrelenting pace. Jon Jordan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1