Customer Reviews for

Cold River (Black Falls Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    COLD RIVER by CARLA NEGGERS

    Cold River is an awesome story that is continued from Carla's last book, Cold Pursuit. I read them back to back so I thoroughly enjoyed them both but even if you havn't read the first one, you should be able to follow the story very easily.

    Once I started reading them, I knew I would jump right into the next one because all the same characters are in Cold Pursuit and Cold River but the story is very different.

    Cold River is about Hannah Shay, who was kind of a secondary character in Cold Pursuit along with her two brothers, Devin and Toby who she has custody. A great book for any reader.

    Lorraine

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Carla Neggers just keeps getting better!

    The latest addition to the Black River series by Carla Neggers follows hard upon the heels of Cold Pursuit and raises the level of intrigue and suspense while giving an emotional satisfaction that is hard to find among contemporary writers. Ms.Neggers just keep getting it right and involving the reader in the lives of the characters while presenting a riveting plot and story. Soon to be prosecutor Hannah Shay who was a minor character in Cold Pursuit takes center stage in the little town of Black River, Vermont as she copes with the aftermath of the events in Cold Pursuit and realizes that more is at stake than her younger brother's future and well-being. A killer is still out there and the connections to Black River are cutting too close for comfort. Joined in her quest by the attractive and rich Sean Cameron whose Special Forces brother Elijah was at the the center of Cold Pursuit Hannah seeks to find the force behind the death of Drew Cameron, father of Sean, Elijah, A.J. and Rose. That quest leads to and through her old friend Bowie O'Rourke and also poses problems for Hannah's role in the close knit town. Solving the crime and finding her place run on parallel courses for most of the book and give it a depth and authenticity that are striking. Neggers prose style is superb and worth the read alone. How she brings the story to a satisfying conclusion and resolves Hannah's conflict are the work of a master writer. This is not to be misses and the next once cannot get here soon enough!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Easy read with good characters, plot and romance.

    Great for a for a light read. I felt like I should have read a previous book because of all the history that the characters had. I liked the plot and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you like twists and turns Carla Neggers is for you!!!!!!

    I read all of Carla Neggers books and they are a good read and fun. I enjoy her style of writing. I am sure you will enjoy her books. It's cold outside, curl up and keep yourself warm with her book!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    NO LET UP!

    Carla Neggers continues to produce compelling reads. This is the second in the Black River series and picks up where Cold Pursuit ended, but deftly and with its own story to unfold. Hannah Shay, part owner of The Three Sisters Cafe and an aspiring prosecutor, is determined to find the truth about the death of Drew Cameron who was killed in Cold Pursuit, and she won't let things like her place in the town of Black River, her childhood connection to a chief suspect, her attraction to old time rival Sean Cameron, one of Drew's sons, get in the way. How Neggers unfolds the plot interweaving the deep and authentic emotions that drive the central characters is masterful. The relationship between Hannah and Sean progresses with a reality rarely seen these days and Hannah's complicated social standing is depicted with deftness and feeling. It all combines with a vivid and engaging prose style to make a great book. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will relish Carla Neggers' tense action-packed thriller that never slows down throughout the exhilarating story line.

    Eight months ago, Drew Cameron was murdered on Cameron Mountain in Vermont. Those who killed him also died; that is everyone except the person who hired the professional hit men. Drew's sons Sean and his brothers (see Cold Purist for Elijah's tale) believe Hannah Shay, owner of Her Three Sisters Café in nearby Black Falls, Vermont, is the key to their finding out who the culprit really was.

    However, Sean approaches Hannah asking for her assistance, but she refuses as she is afraid her friend Bowie O'Rourke is in the middle of the blood flowing down Cameron Mountain. However, someone with less ethics when it comes to homicide awaits the right moment to learn what Hannah knows before killing her. Sean vows to keep the obstinate Hannah safe as he believes she is in the crosshairs and besides he has loved her since high school.

    The latest Black Falls "Cold" thriller is a strong romantic suspense that turns pristine Green Mountain state into a dark grim landscape. Drew and Hannah are a delightful pairing as he knows somehow she is the center of danger, but she rejects his offers of protection out of loyalty. Fans will relish Carla Neggers' tense action-packed thriller that never slows down throughout the exhilarating story line.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Easy read

    This series makes a good read. The characters are are belieivesble interesting. I have read several of Carla Neggers's bookd and have enjoyed all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Don't bother reading this book

    This book made me crazy. I thought it would never end. It repeated over and over everything from the previous book. Skip to the lastt 3or4 chapters and you will know exactly what happened.
    Save your reading time for a good book. This one was just BAD. Would have given it a zero but it wouldn't let me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    Another Winner by Carla Neggers

    Carla Neggers just keeps getting better and better. This is the second book in the Black River series and it picks up from Cold Pursuit in fine style and at the same time makes its own mark. The connection between the two plots is the death of Drew Cameron which was never solved in the first book. But as the investigation continues, it moves close to Hannah Shay whose brother Devin was involved in the earlier events and is pointing towards her childhood friend Bowie O'Rourke. Hannah, part owner of the Three Sisters Cafe in Black River and aspiring prosecutor, is keenly aware of her social standing in the tight knit town, but she is determined to pursue the truth of the case. This inevitably leads to crossing paths with Sean Cameron who along with his two brothers and sister is also determined to find the killer of their father. When Hannah and Sean connect sparks fly on several levels and their individual quests become one. Neggers trademark depiction of authentic relationships within and among families has never been better. The depth of feeling and the reality of the characters are as compelling as the intricate and well portrayed plot. That, along with her clear prose style make this book a real winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    too convaluted

    Carla is one of my favorite authors, however this book totally LOST me. This is the sequel to Cold Pursuit which i felt was lackluster too but still able to finish. However, this book continued on with all the things i didnt like about Cold Pursuit, but it got worse. Too many characters/relatives to keep straight, the plot is a tangled mess, too wordy and drawn out. I gave up on page 75..disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Save your money!

    Cold River is a review of her previous book. Save your money or read her Carla's last book. Normally a fantastic writer, this book falls short.
    The characters in this book lack luster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Vapid, Amateurish

    I was attracted to a "Need to Read" sticker that proclaimed Neggers is a "spotlight author". Egads: skip it. Her characters are straight out of Harlequin (or so I surmise from Harlequin covers) -- the diminutive, vulnerable but tenacious heroine; the hunk multimillionaire hero; the craven villain. Not a semblance of verisimilitude anywhere. An unbelievable plot about killers for hire, unlikely characters from the FBI, "true love" and endless dialog on the same topic that make you beg for a publishing editor. I will not pick up another book of hers. Save your money. Try these compelling authors instead: they can write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2