Customer Reviews for

The Cold Room (Taylor Jackson Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    A real page turner!

    I have read all of ellison's books. They are always a true fantastic read. The Cold Room was no exception. It sarted out with a ang and just kept ongoing. A real page turner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you're looking for suspense-thriller-murder-mystery...

    The Conductor is a sick human being. That is a huge statement coming from me. I often watch gory and truly horrifying films (both paranormal and twisted demented minds of a serial killer) my cousin-in-law and I, would watch three consecutive films every other saturday and would have a lengthy discussion of what happened to the characters, the camera angles and the acting, etc. With that I rarely get the urge to buy a book a read them up. But when The Cold Room was offered to me, the blurb intrigued me to no end so I grabbed the opportunity.

    So the premise is - the Conductor kidnaps his victim, place them in a clear coffin like glass box, starves them to death, strangles them then performs the disgusting and truly perverse way of Necrophilia and of course it does not end there after the "process" he then calls the poor kidnapped / dead victims as his doll / masterpiece by reenacting famous artworks, disposing them that way. Pay very attention on the first chapter of this book, it hold a great clue about the Conductor himself.

    The love drama between Jackson, her FBI profiler boyfriend, Dr. Baldwin and Scottland Yard's Highsmythe neutralizes the horrors of the crime written in this book. I didn't realize that this is book 4 of Taylor Jackson series, I did not get lost nor had that fleeting urge that I should have read the other books first and that works for me. I like Taylor and will be reading her previous adventures. If you are looking for a great suspense-thriller-and murder mystery book, this one is for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Due to restructuring of the Nashville Metro Police Department, homicide detective Taylor Jackson's been demoted from her prior position of lieutenant. If that isn't bad enough, she's being pursued by a serial killer called the Pretender. Now another serial killer's in Nashville, one who abducts young black women, starves them to death and, after performing necrophilia, poses them per scenes from famous paintings. It isn't long before Jackson's fiancé, FBI profiler Dr. John Baldwin, connects Jackson's serial killer to one he's been investigating in Europe named the Conductor. Jackson and Baldwin team up with Scotland Yard detective James "Memphis" Highsmythe, and the chase is on as the three try to determine if they're dealing with only one killer or perhaps two. As the investigation proceeds, Jackson's trying not to be distracted by the chemistry between her and Highsmythe, which is unexpected and confusing, and her superior's strange actions, which are hampering her efforts to investigate her case.

    This fourth installment of the Taylor Jackson series is as suspenseful and intriguing as the first. This psychological thriller is gritty and realistic and filled with intense action. The chemistry between Jackson and Highsmythe, although not expected, is nicely delivered. Jackson's a great character, a woman who's tough mentally and physically but a real softy on the inside. The colorful backdrop of Nashville is a bonus to readers, as is Ellison's intelligent writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Omg

    I love this author and series! Best books I've read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Good read. Check out other books in taylor jackson series.

    Good read. Good author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Decent read

    I love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Papaj

    Excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    J.T. Ellison knows how to spin a tale with Taylor Jackson, a tou

    J.T. Ellison knows how to spin a tale with Taylor Jackson, a tough-as-nails main character who never seems to lack for passion. She finds it in both her professional and personal life. The Cold Room gripped me from the first page, and it didn't let me go until I had reached the end. The chilling nature of the tale kept me in rapt attention, and while the plot may have seemed a bit farfetched to some, I found it to be both heavily researched and a compelling read.

    I found myself intrigued by the descriptions of Nashville, and I attribute this to the outstanding writing abilities of the author. She turned a local tale into an international one, when Taylor and her fiancé, FBI agent John Baldwin, crossed the Atlantic Ocean to Italy. Florence never sounded so good.

    It takes a special writer to delve into some dark places of the human psyche, when many individuals might shy away from such an experience. To her credit, she didn't just skirt across the surface, she jumped all the way in, and her novel is a stronger, better book because of her willingness to peek beneath the surface.

    Endings can prove a bit of a challenge, but Ellison pulls it off with ease. She sets herself and the reader up perfectly for the next addition to the Taylor Jackson series. While this is my first foray into Taylor's world, it certainly won't be my last.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excitement, anticipation, mystery, murder - it's all here!

    This is one of the best series I've read in a while of the police procedural genre! Taylor Jackson is having a hard time adjusting to her recent demotion back to detective and the break up of her homicide detective crew. She has a new boss and a new partner and now a new serial killer to contend with. Taylor hasn't seen anything like this killer before - killing in Italy, the UK and now in Nashville. Not only does this killer change locations, but he has been changing his MO; highly unusual for a serial killer. With the help of her FBI boyfriend and a detective inspector on loan from the New Scotland Yard, Taylor is racing to find this killer before he strikes again. As she and the team are closing in, someone from her past resurfaces to let her know that he is coming for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Great Book

    This is one of the best series I have read in a long time I was so excited to find a new series worth reading. The price was great! i got my nook for Christmas and downloaded the firstbook in the series and quickly bought the rest the only thing I hate is that the next book wont be out until 3/11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    The Cold Room

    Great series! I love the lead character, Taylor Jackson. Leaves me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Wow can't stop reading!

    I have fallen in love with the Taylor Jackson Series and can't stop reading them. Wish I could write like J.T. Ellison, keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!

    This is the 4th book is Ellison's Taylor Jackson series. Jackson and her fiance, FBI profiler John Baldwin, hunt down a serial killer who is terrorizing multiple countries. The plot is creepy and twisted, though not overly graphic.

    Ellison's writing flows easily. The story moves at a good pace and kept me engaged throughout. Each character has a unique personality and they suck me right into their world. While this book is part of a series, a reader should have no problem picking up this book and reading it as a stand alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5