Customer Reviews for

Cold Sassy Tree

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I read about 100 books a year and Cold Sassy Tree remains my favorite! I love Grandpa and the reverance he shows for Grandma......humorous but touching!

posted by 6357739 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended

Book Club read. I think I may quit this book club!!
I'm finding this book very hard to get though. I tell myself before reading, I need to work on reading my book. (Boy H'owdy) Work it is! The dialect is difficut to focus. I'm half way though forcing myself to finish. ...
Book Club read. I think I may quit this book club!!
I'm finding this book very hard to get though. I tell myself before reading, I need to work on reading my book. (Boy H'owdy) Work it is! The dialect is difficut to focus. I'm half way though forcing myself to finish.
I don't care about the characters, not enough depth. The story is boring, petty and drawn out. I'll be glad when it's over.

posted by Jennlvs2read on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Recommended

    Book Club read. I think I may quit this book club!!
    I'm finding this book very hard to get though. I tell myself before reading, I need to work on reading my book. (Boy H'owdy) Work it is! The dialect is difficut to focus. I'm half way though forcing myself to finish.
    I don't care about the characters, not enough depth. The story is boring, petty and drawn out. I'll be glad when it's over.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    I read about 100 books a year and Cold Sassy Tree remains my favorite! I love Grandpa and the reverance he shows for Grandma......humorous but touching!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    I loved this book. I have read it several times.

    I love this book. I have read it several times. Cold Sassy Tree is one of my favorites. The author was in her eighties when she wrote this book to critical acclaim. She started a sequal Under Cold Sassy Tree, but died before she finished it. She even worked on it while she was in the hospital. That book was finished by someone else. It was also very good. It was hard to tell where the other author started writting. I highly recommend both of these novels to all book lovers.



    AD

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I absolutely adore this book. I was required to read this for my

    I absolutely adore this book. I was required to read this for my Lit. class, and if I hadn't been required to read it, I would never have known the greatness of this author. This book has become one of my favorite books. ( I'm contemplating reading this again, and I NEVER read books twice; no matter how good.) This book made me laugh, cry, and ponder things in my own life. AN ABSOLUTE MUST-READ!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    One of my favorites of all time

    How i wish the amazing Olive Ann Burns could have shared more of her amazing talent with us before she passed too soon. This is one of the sweetest, most humorous books ever written.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I really wanna read this book but it's kinda expensive.

    Can someone tell me if the book is worth the money?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    A book

    This was a good book after you get past the first couple of chapters because it seeems to repeat itself but the rest is just wonderful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Magnificent beyond...

    I have the paper back book given to me as a gift from my librarian. I just loved this book. It wa so sweet,loving, and of course funny. Although it was a long book it was slow at first the ending was so wonderful it made me cry. If anyone should be going throuh any difficulies and decisions i highly recomend u read this book. Some parts are a little strange fyi. I would also consider this book to be a romance novel too. If anyone reads tis and u dont mind long books read this. Oh and i almost forgot, here is a sequel to th book called leaving cold sassy which i am looking for. ALL LOVERS WHO HAVE READ THE BOOK MUST READ SEQUEL!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's life...

    I loved this book...more surprising, my husband loved this book. It is filled with with the day to day small wins and losses we all understand and identify with. read it and feel good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    A well written novel!

    Cold Sassy Tree, although being one of the few books that I have ever completed in my life, is one of my favorites! Olive Ann Burns wrote this book based on her own family life. I enjoy books that are based on true events. Burns did an excellent job of writing Cold Sassy Tree. I felt like the charaters were speaking directly to me. She used country slang in the dialog which made me realize first off that Cold Sassy was a very small, realistic town out in the country. Every detail in this book was very clear to me. This book to me was a walk through Cold Sassy, Georgia with Will Tweedy, the character who was based on Olive's father. Will seemed like my best friend while I was reading this book. Cold Sassy, being a small town, meant that everyone in the community know all there was to know about anyone that lived there until Miss Love Simpson came to town. Love upset everyone in the community because no one could figure her out. If you love to gossip I encourage you to read this book, it will help you understand how the person with the burning ears feels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Fantastic read

    I read this ten years ago for my high school AP class. It was one of my favorite books. The setting is excellent, and the characters are familiar yet surprising. I would recommend this to young men and women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Cold Sassy Tree

    This book is really good and its a very classical book! I garntee you will like iy

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Hardy 1

    I walked barefoot down the smooth wooden stairs onto the shiny dark wood floor. "Breakfast!" Called my mom, Kennedy. I turned right from the stairs and into the kitchen. Mom was stirring a bowl of pancake batter, her shoulder length shiny black hair tied over her shoulder in an aqua scrunchie. "Happy birthday honey! Can you set out plates?" She asked, turning toward me. She was wearing her BEST MOTHER EVA apron and huge golden hoops in her ears. I could see her pink bunny slippers poking out underneath her long apron, so I could tell she was still wearing her silky blue duckie pj's. I nodded. Her outfit was rediculous, but I couldn't speak out while I was still in my own pajama's. I was wearing short hot pink pants and a white spaghetti strap tank with Hello Kitty's face on it. I reached into the neatly carved peanut butter colored cabnets and pulled out four leaf plates with leaves molded onto the corners. I walked under an archway to the right and entered the dining room. A glass door looked out onto the stone walkway leading toward the back. I set the plates around the mahogany table covered with a white silky table cloth with golden embroidery. I stopped to admire my nails. I had just painted them glittery gold. Looking over them, a stack of fresh blueberry pancakes rose from a serving plate. Mom had also set out Farmland Fresh Maple Syrup, a block of Margirine, and grape and peach jam straight from the orchards. Shay walked into the kitchen, rubbing her eyes. She had her honey colored hair done in two pigtails, and her brown freckles made her green eyes pop. Her nightgown was white with pink lace on the bottom. She had turned eight on November 17th. Today was February 16th, my thirteenth birthday. The day I got my savvy. "Get the silverware Penny," mom instructed my sister. Penny yawned and opened another cupboard, pulling out glass cups. She opened the silver fridge and took out the orange juice. She poured some for herself and mom. "OJ?" She called to me. "Sure," I shrugged. My hair was short. I always cut my own hair. It reached to just above my shoulders and was normally chestnut brown, but I had dyed it permanently coral and purple last winter. Penny set the glasses on the table and went back to get forks, knives, and spoons. She opened a drawer and grabbed four of each before setting them back on the table. She pulled out her chair. Mom had ordered a new rug because Penny had a tendancy to scrape her chair against the floor. I loved the design, it was golden with sage green leaves and vines. Crimson lilies bloomed in each corner. I heard a car pull into the driveway, and looked out the window through the blinds. Dad was home! He pulled into the driveway in his sleek black car. He worked as a lawyer, and he was so famous that sometimes he had to travel all over the world. He had come home from India early for my birthday, it ws kinda important. He stepped out of the car in his neat black suit, his leather shoes, and dark shades. His dark golden brown hair was combed neatly. There were a stack of folders under his arm. He opened the front door and Penny immediately jumped into his arm. "Hey there, Lucky Penny," he greeted, holding her. Don't worry, she doesn't weigh much. Lucky Penny is Penny's nickname. Her full name is Penny Abigale Hendrix. I am Mixy Fern Hendrix. Dad is Heath.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This book touched my heart in more than one way. I finished it night before last but still think about the people
    . Have you ever read one of those books where you miss the characters when it's over? Well this is one of those books for me. I loved it and would highly recommend Cold Sassy Tree. I plan to read other books by Olive Ann Burns.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Ugh bad read

    I had to read this over the summer for school and i hated it so much! It just so slow and pointless. I had to fight to get done with it. I love reading but this is honestly one of the worst book i have ever read. Dont get it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No good!

    I hated this book. It was a required read for AP english and it was quite profaine and had no point. The story went nowhere and I found the sexual content offensive. I definitely want my money back!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    I wanted more!

    I wasn't sure how much I would enjoy this book and I decided to try the audio version. It was wonderful. 11 compact disks later, I didn't want it to end! Will Tweedy, Grandpa Blakeslee and the rest will forever remain in my memory. Cold Sassy is what we all envision of small town America at its worst and its finest. Some parts were laugh out loud! I loved the audio version feeling that the accents and slang were done to perfection. A true joy and delight and one that I know I will listen to again someday!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    An good book

    This is an amazing story about Georgia at the turn of the century. You will appreciate this author's work. The characters and their actions are unforgetable. This is a must read for anyone who has a love for the south. It is simple and down to earth but very easy to enjoy. I learned alot form this book and will appreciate and value it for many years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    A fun read

    This is one of my favorite books - I have read it several times. I love the small town connections and the humorous insight. I have read it twice and plan to keep it in my library to read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    Awesome Book for Everyone

    My librarian told me to get this book. She said it was one of the best books she ever read. While I was reading it I got other people in my family interested in it. It was such a great story and everyone else in my family enjoyed it. It is one of my favorite books and anyone can read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8