Customer Reviews for

Cold Sassy Tree

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I read about 100 books a year and Cold Sassy Tree remains my favorite! I love Grandpa and the reverance he shows for Grandma......humorous but touching!

posted by 6357739 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended

Book Club read. I think I may quit this book club!!
I'm finding this book very hard to get though. I tell myself before reading, I need to work on reading my book. (Boy H'owdy) Work it is! The dialect is difficut to focus. I'm half way though forcing myself to finish. ...
Book Club read. I think I may quit this book club!!
I'm finding this book very hard to get though. I tell myself before reading, I need to work on reading my book. (Boy H'owdy) Work it is! The dialect is difficut to focus. I'm half way though forcing myself to finish.
I don't care about the characters, not enough depth. The story is boring, petty and drawn out. I'll be glad when it's over.

posted by Jennlvs2read on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I really wanna read this book but it's kinda expensive.

    Can someone tell me if the book is worth the money?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's life...

    I loved this book...more surprising, my husband loved this book. It is filled with with the day to day small wins and losses we all understand and identify with. read it and feel good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    interesting times

    My son has to read this for freshman lit. He is not enjoying it, he does not enjoy reading anything. I am. Shows interesting story of a family in the south way back when...interesting, light and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Touching

    The story of the book is so simple, but i think thats what makes it a good book. Although it is set in the early 1900s, the main boy is very relatable. This book will make you laugh and cry. This is probably my favorite classic. 13+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Bri

    I love this book grandpa did not care what anybody thought my fav person in this story was Will great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    wonderful.,loveable people.

    Great,interesting read. Lovely descriptions. Thoughtful and inspirational. Thoughtful passages about relationships ofyouth and aged.......and prayers!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book full of Promise!

    Although the beginning is slow and the plot tends to scatter at different points in the story, Cold Sassy tree is a book very dear to my heart and something I would recommend for someone who is dealing with loss. The characters draw you in with their drastic personalities (Especially Grandpa!) It is a book that will make you laugh, cry, and do everything else in between the two. Again, the beginning (First 15 pages) are slow but once you get further into the book and enter the small southern world that is cold sassy Georgia, you will never want to leave. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cold Sassy Tree? A story to truly remember.

    When first starting my copy of "Cold Sassy Tree," I wasn't quite warming up to it, and had no real connection to the story and its characters. After reading on, I found myself not wanting to put it down by the second chapter. Why? Because of the flawless way Olive Burns writes. Will Tweedy, a young boy, puts you in his shoes and you feel a part of the action, tragedy, love, and anger of this small town family in Cold Sassy Georgia. When Mr. Blakesley's wife just passed, he married a younger woman no more than a week later. The close knit family didn't take this so well. A flighty aunt took the news and spread it all around town without delay, gossiping non-stop. An emotional mother cried and yelled her way through the day. A cool and collected father tried to keep things calm. And a grandson-Will- grew through this crazy time. You find yourself taking sides and joining in with this family, which is a difficult writing tactic. These characters are quirky and individual, some full of wisdom and others full of themselves, but somehow you end up liking each one. Beyond the characters, .this story gives you life and cultural lessons. You find what it was like in a small old time town surrounded by racism busy bodies, and tragedy. It is truly inspiring. And even beyond that, it brings you to the important things such as love and family. You don't often find a story you can really be submerged in, but Olive Burns flawlessly puts words together welcoming you to be involved in their world. When I read other novels, I will often not be connected to its characters. It may just be that the author doesn't allow you to get to know a character enough before the end, or a shocking moment. Thankfully this story is an exception. I loved how I felt that each word that she wrote was obviously intensely thought about. Each sentence was genuinely cared for. It is noticeably true that a large amount of time was spent on this book making it as excellent as it is. I consider myself lucky to have found this book on that shelf in my library. All that I have left to do is get the sequel! So, now that you have heard my view point, it's up to you. Will you read "Cold Sassy Tree"?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    My Favorite Book

    One of my favorite books of all time is Cold Sassy Tree, by Olive Ann Burns. To me this book is like a roller coaster. It takes you up, down, and around the way. Cold Sassy Tree is a wonderful book to read especaily if surprises excite you. When Mr. Blakeslee went off and married Miss Love, right after his wife died was very surprising. Also, when Mr. Blakeslees' son-in-law kills himself, because he did not think he could live up to his wife's standards was another shock. This book has a lot of scenes where you think it is going one way, but it is actually taking you into an entirely diffent direction. Reading Cold Sassy Tree took me on an exciting adventure. This is one book I would read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Thought provoking

    The characters in this book are very well developed. They are portrayed as real and flawed individuals. I was frustrated by behaviors of many of the characters. I felt sad more than I laughed. After I finished the book though, I realized that I've been thinking about it a lot. It really made me think about prejudice, acceptance, and general kindness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first read this book, at age 14, I thought that it was simply the story of forbidden love and an apologetic piece for men's adultery with young women. Rereading it now, as a 23-year-old grad student who happened to find it in a used bookstore, I've seen so much more. It is just as much the story of a town with an ironclad resistance to change. Reading this book gave me renewed insight into the workings of a small Southern town. Because there is little entertainment and educational opportunity available, gossip steps in to take its place. The first question on most people's minds is, 'What will the neighbors say?' This is especially true of Will's family, such as his mother. Even Mr. Blakeslee's outrageous actions are a mere reaction the restrictive ways of the town. Nevertheless, he, Will, and Miss Love stand out as shining examples of individuals who are willing to follow their own will and dictates of conscience. Overall, I felt that the characters, especially the main three, were quite well drawn. Even less admirable characters such as Camp and Loma provided the necessary range of personality to create a believable narrative. Despite her irrascible nature, I found that the story came alive whenever Loma was onstage. Few authors possess the necessary talent to create more than 1-3 depthful characters in one story, but Burns provided sufficient detail to give a sense of each person's quirks. In addition, the plot flowed quite well overall. As a bereaved Harry Potter fan, I thought I wouldn't be able to find anything else that would capture my attention, but this simple story of a small Southern town kept me reading at all hours of the day and night. The only slow points in the novel involved Will's fishing outing and his antics with his friends. The boys, especially Smiley and Pink, seemed mean-spirited and one-dimensional. I would have liked to see them differentiated more clearly. Otherwise, however, I have few complaints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Really good!

    Will Tweedy is content with his modes lifestyle. He doesn¿t question his parents, works at his grandpa Blakeslee¿s store without pay, and always listens to his family. His life had stared at the same, slow rhythm for as long as he could remember until three weeks after his grandmother dies and his grandfather announces that he will be getting married again. Will¿s mother and aunt Loma are shocked and disgusted, not only because of the suddenness of the town¿s newest gossip topic, but because his fiancé, Love Simpson, is almost half his age and a northerner! The hypocritical townspeople of Cold Sassy now have a lot to talk about after grandpa¿s decision. In addiction to the marriage scandal, Will is almost run over by a train and his family buys the first two cars in town. On top of this, he never knew how hard it would be to avoid choosing sides when it came to the war between his mom and grandfather and discovers that he is quickly maturing and can think for himself. This fictional book contains a very satisfying plot with believable characters that have the ability to make the reader think. The only real flaw in this book is that it is a bit slow-paced and might seem boring to impatient readers. Even though it had some slow chapters, I really love this book and hate that it had to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    a colorful,timelsss classic

    Cold sasy tree is a timeless classic.It is about a small town growing up, people excepting changes, and modernization coming to an old age.It is a book that will keep you reading and entertained till the end.Cold sassy is a great book and i would reccomend it to anyone with some knowledge of southern dialect.If not then maybe you can find out what southern dialect really is.Cold Sassy is full of events that really took place 'back then', in the early 19-00's, and the common things that had to be done everyday in a small country town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    A good light read.

    The sheer emotional impact of this novel makes it worth the read. I was hesitant to pick it up and give it a try, but I did end up falling in love with the characters. The depth of the plot left a little to be desired, but the strength of the characters made up for what the plot lacks. I laughed, I cried, and I felt cheated when the story ended so abruptly. If the author had lived to write it, so much more could have come out of Cold Sassy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Good Book

    Cold Sassy Tree was a good book. Olive Ann Burns brought out the real meaning of the south. This book focuses on the difficulty one faces with death, love, and prejudice people. I recommend any one to read this book that has had to deal with death of a close member of their family. Also to read this book if they like love stories and to hear about gossip. I do not recommend any one to read this book if they do not like to read or hear anything about prejudice people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Timeless story~

    This was a really good book- after the beginning. It's really slow at the start, but keep reading, it's really worth it in the end, trust me! Cold Sassy Tree is about changing times with a little love, humor, and rivalry against society mixed in. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Cold Sassy Hits Big!

    It was good but the way the Ms.Love tells Rucker how she was raped by her father was a little un-nerving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    Exciting

    Cold Sassy Tree is a book with funny parts, parts with suspense, and parts with romance. With Will always being obsessed with women, including his Step-Grandma and a fellow student. he dreams about them and thinks funny stuff which makes it really funny. Will is also always getting into trouble with anyone especially his Aunt Loma. Will also gets into fights at school and enjoys helping his Grandpa and Dad at Blakeslee's General Store(a store that his Grandpa Owns and his Dad works at). Cold Sassy Tree starts off slow and boring but within a few pages it'll have you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. It is a perfect book for a young man, such as myself, or anyone to read if you like mystery,laughs, and romance in the early 1900's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Delightful Society

    This is a perfect example of a Christian society in the early 20th century. The only characters who actually appear real is the grandson, the grandfather, and Miss Love. However, these are very colorful and delightful people who make the book enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    Cold Sassy Review

    I was brutally forced by a World Studies teacher to read this book. I began it hoping it would be horrible and displeasing. I was wrong. This was a delightful book! I laughed...I cried...Well, not really but you get my gist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2