Customer Reviews for

Cold Service (Spenser Series #32)

Average Rating 3
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Robert B. Parker's Spenser novel Cold Service...

    I loved it... I am and have always been a die=hard Spenser Novel's fan... Some of his books in the so long ago time span in the list of the novels have not been up to his regular standard, but Cold Service was!!! I highly recomend this book and novel if you are a long time Spenser fan! Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You have to read this!

    The 1st Spenser book I ever read. Now I have begun to read them all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I agree with the others...

    I must say that I agree with the other reviewers with two stars or less.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Strong, Silent, Navel-Gazing

    If you're into super-macho, monosyllabic navel-gazing, this is the book for you. I got through it, wondering how Parker would wind it up, and found the ending as disappointing as the rest of it. (I got to the last page thinking, 'Huh?') I don't know how Parker could write some of this pop-psychological stuff without rolling on the floor, laughing. As Hawk's girlfriend said, 'Spare me!' This is definitely not Parker's best -- not even close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    New Spenser novel a bust

    I have read all the Spenser novels and am currently reading them in chronological order for the first time. I made an exception and read both School Days and Cold Service because they were new. I was shocked by the shallowness of the book, the totally unrealistic plot, and the changes in Susan's role as well as Hawk's. My first thought was 'Who are you and what have you done with Spenser's author?' Needless to say, this one rates a 'pass' on my list of Spenser novels to re-read two years from now when I once again delight in reading the series. There is only one other Spenser novel that I didn't care for (Pale Kings and Princes). If you loved that one, you can probably disregard my review. However, I highly recommend checking out the first few pages before purchasing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    No Service

    I have read Robert Parker for years and usually love his stuff. His early books are the best. I like the Jesse Stone and Sunny Randall characters,too. But this book was a bore, the plot thin. I just didn't care what happened. I thought it was just me, but my husband also read the book, and agrees it is hardly up to Parker's standards. Left me, um, cold...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Going through the motions

    I have read many Spenser books in the past, and this was the worst by far. Spenser and Hawk have become almost like invincible cartoon superheroes, and every couple of chapters Susan chimes in to explain 'the code' between the men - otherwise she has no function whatsoever. The only Parker book I'll read now will be the Jesse Stone series and least he's almost like an actual human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Its Just OK

    I was really disappointed this isnt one of his best. If you took all the curse words not much left. Plus who can say all those names.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Cold Service leaves you cold

    I found the book boring and very difficult to follow. It did not hold my interest. Usually I cannot put Mr Paker's books down. This one was hard to pick up at times. Won't stop me from reading whatever else this master writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    THE MASTER SPEAKS

    I agree with other reviewers that this was not Mr. Parker's best; between the Ukranian mob and the Boston bad guys, it became confusing at time; however, when it comes to dialog, Parker is the master! Even if you skip over the narrative and just read the dialog, it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Not Parker's Best

    As an avid fan of Robert B. Parker, whom I consider a master of the genre, I was terribly disappointed in this book. It won't stop me from buying his next one, but this one won't pick up any new readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Revenge is Best Served Cold

    Parkers newest has all the characters Parker fans have grown to love,on both sides of the legal 'fence'. And this time Parker takes you deeper inside the 'psyche' of both Hawk and Spenser, as Hawk learns (maybe for the first time) what it's like to be afraid. This newest 'Spenser' novel does even more to blur the line between good and bad, as Spenser and Hawk (once again) step over the legal 'limit line' to, this time,avenge an attack on Hawk. This is a good 'Spenser' story, with alot going for it. It is, however, not one of Parkers best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    The best Spenser book in years ... the best EVER!

    This is the definitive 'Spenser' novel, and not just if you're a big fan of Hawk (like me). The action is first-rate and the character development, not just for Hawk but also for Spenser (and those around them), is great, too. If you've read the editorial reviews, you know the synopsis: Hawk is shot, he recovers and with the help of Spenser enacts his own brand of brutal justice (some would call it revenge) on those responsible for him being shot. But it's more. You actually get an understanding of *WHY* Hawk must personally enact his sense of justice; and why despite everything 'justice' is still the better word than 'revenge'. But Robert Parker writes this novel so well that you realize that it is a very thin line between 'justice' and 'revenge' and, indeed, even though you're rooting for Hawk all along (or at least, I was), there still is that question about whether it's justice or revenge. And you see the high 'price' Hawk has paid in being 'Hawk'. And that despite the cost, it was more than well worth it! But enough of the 'Susan-esque' psychobabble. You have action. You have suspense. You have people getting shot. You have 'the Gray Man' (who nearly killed Spenser in 'Small Vices'). You have our intrepid duo displaying their macho superiority over every other testosterone (and estrogen) possessing being on the Eastern seaboard. You have the essence of why Parker's fans love his writing. If I don't tell you more about what happens it's only because I don't want to spoil the fun. Let me just say that this is probably the best book Robert B. Parker has ever written. This is the one we've all been waiting for. Postscript. The one thing I will giveaway that is so apparent as you read this one is that Hawk does have his perfect match. Rita Fiore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Too Much Susan

    An excellent book, as are most of the Spencer novels. I think there was a little too much of Susan and her need to over analize things. She redeamed herself in SMALL VICES, but she can annoy the hell out of me sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Spencer plays Hamlet

    Most of the time Spencer sits around and talk and talks and talks. Lots of charters? yes. Lots of dead peope? You Bet. Still, the worse Spencer ever? I admit it. I am a huge fan and I even like that last Sunny Randall book, but this one...! Parker finds a WMD, He kills all his readers through comatoses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Justice is coming....and his name is Hawk!

    I've always enjoyed the Hawk character and I've wanted to see more of him in a Spenser novel. If you love Hawk, this is your book! If there is a worse person to wrong than Spenser, it is Hawk. And the bad guys are going to find this out in 'Cold Service'. The moral limits of Spenser are tested as he strives to help Hawk exact the justice (or is it revenge?) that is needed to restore Hawk to himself. Not only does the reader get to explore Spenser's boundaries but also Hawk's plus the loyalty, trust and honor that defines their friendship. Sprinkle in old favorites like Vinnie Morris, Rita Fiore, etc. and you have the recipe for a first rate reading experience. One of the best parts of having an author write about the Boston area (and living or having lived there yourself) is picking out the places and saying, 'I know that place' or 'I've been there'. Even though Marshport is a fictitious name, it describes an area where an actual city is. It is fun to follow Spenser and Hawk down streets and into places with which you are very familiar. And even if you are not from the Boston area, the descriptions are vivid and you feel as if you can see them in your mind. I could barely put this book down. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Parker is one of the best mystery writers

    The Ukrainian mob has begun to muscle its way into the Boston rackets with an eye on competing against Luther Gillespie's bookie operations. Luther fearing the intrusion of this dangerous group from Brooklyn hires Hawk as his bodyguard. However, as good as Hawk is, the mob proves better at killing and most of Gillespe¿s family except for his young son are murdered, while Hawk takes three bullets in his back.................... Hawk identifies the shooters but the case is botched leaving it to Hawk¿s code of ethics to take action although the Ukrainian gangsters have sanctuary in nearby Marshport from the mayor and the local mob. Still taking out five is not the difficult task especially with Spenser covering his back; it is taking out the quintet without retaliation from the Ukrainians, their handlers, and the Mass-east mob without leaving evidence for the Feds or the police that is the problem........................ The Spenser series always is at the stratospheric levels of male in your face boldness, but this time Robert B. Parker takes the machismo gene to the upper area of the atmosphere, the exosphere. The story line is action-packed as the two friends continue their quest proving why bullets have a certain phallic shape. Series fans will enjoy this thriller filled with Superman levels of testosterone in which even their respective female Docs fail at softening the avenging duo.................. Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Not His Best!

    This was not Robert Parker's best Spencer novel. It was slow reading for me, boring a lot of the time. Also there was too much time spend on the 'lingo' talk between Hawk and Spencer. BUT I will say if you pay attention to all said throughout the novel, then you will see that there is more complexity to the ending than meets the eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2