Customer Reviews for

Cold Vengeance (Special Agent Pendergast Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child provide the best middle book of a trilogy in recent memory

In Cairn Barrow, Scotland Special Agent Pendergast and his brother-in-law Esterhazy go stag hunting. However, nether of them hunt deer, but each other. Pendergast seeks revenge against Esterhazy for murdering his wife Helen (see Fever Dream). As Pendergast traps his ...
In Cairn Barrow, Scotland Special Agent Pendergast and his brother-in-law Esterhazy go stag hunting. However, nether of them hunt deer, but each other. Pendergast seeks revenge against Esterhazy for murdering his wife Helen (see Fever Dream). As Pendergast traps his adversary he asks why he killed his sister just as a stag assaults the agent; giving Esterhazy the chance to shoot his adversary in the chest and explain he did not kill his sibling as Helen lives. Esterhazy leaves his friend to die as he calls the constabulary to report the accident. Inspector Balfour leads the search, but no human corpse is found.

Pendergast no longer seeks Cold Vengeance as now he searches for Helen, but is confused over her role in the duplicity of her death; unless his in-law lied. He returns to New York from the moors, but the clues take him to the bayous where increasingly he wonders whether Helen arranged her death and how little he really knew her as Pendergast begins to uncover secrets his wife hid from him.

The second Pendergast's Helen inquiry is a great thriller that is loaded with action from the first hunting confrontation to the climax that ends with a cliffhanger setup for the finish. The taut story line is fast-paced and filled with twists that hook the audience. However the hero makes the tale as he will remind readers of Liam Neeson in Taken with his determination to rescue Helen if she is alive. Suspenseful, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child provide the best middle book of a trilogy in recent memory.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Oh how sad. I so looked forward to this book, preordered it even - and it was such a huge disappointment to me. Seriously, seriously disappointed. I fell in love with Preston & Child because of the archeology and mystery that flows through their writing. This was a ...
Oh how sad. I so looked forward to this book, preordered it even - and it was such a huge disappointment to me. Seriously, seriously disappointed. I fell in love with Preston & Child because of the archeology and mystery that flows through their writing. This was a boring crime drama book that I cared nothing about. I could give a rat's ass about Helen, Pendergast's wife. I want the mystery, the strangeness, the fun of their other books. I can't remember the last time I was this disappointed in an author.

For a CRIME DRAMA, the book was good - had all the excitement, shoot outs, etc. Then, of course, they had an ending to lead into the next book - a book I'm doubting I will read because it will be more of this theme. Where are the men who wrote "Relic"? Sigh.

I know it is silly, but I almost feel betrayed.

posted by sailaway7289 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    Oh how sad. I so looked forward to this book, preordered it even - and it was such a huge disappointment to me. Seriously, seriously disappointed. I fell in love with Preston & Child because of the archeology and mystery that flows through their writing. This was a boring crime drama book that I cared nothing about. I could give a rat's ass about Helen, Pendergast's wife. I want the mystery, the strangeness, the fun of their other books. I can't remember the last time I was this disappointed in an author.

    For a CRIME DRAMA, the book was good - had all the excitement, shoot outs, etc. Then, of course, they had an ending to lead into the next book - a book I'm doubting I will read because it will be more of this theme. Where are the men who wrote "Relic"? Sigh.

    I know it is silly, but I almost feel betrayed.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child provide the best middle book of a trilogy in recent memory

    In Cairn Barrow, Scotland Special Agent Pendergast and his brother-in-law Esterhazy go stag hunting. However, nether of them hunt deer, but each other. Pendergast seeks revenge against Esterhazy for murdering his wife Helen (see Fever Dream). As Pendergast traps his adversary he asks why he killed his sister just as a stag assaults the agent; giving Esterhazy the chance to shoot his adversary in the chest and explain he did not kill his sibling as Helen lives. Esterhazy leaves his friend to die as he calls the constabulary to report the accident. Inspector Balfour leads the search, but no human corpse is found.

    Pendergast no longer seeks Cold Vengeance as now he searches for Helen, but is confused over her role in the duplicity of her death; unless his in-law lied. He returns to New York from the moors, but the clues take him to the bayous where increasingly he wonders whether Helen arranged her death and how little he really knew her as Pendergast begins to uncover secrets his wife hid from him.

    The second Pendergast's Helen inquiry is a great thriller that is loaded with action from the first hunting confrontation to the climax that ends with a cliffhanger setup for the finish. The taut story line is fast-paced and filled with twists that hook the audience. However the hero makes the tale as he will remind readers of Liam Neeson in Taken with his determination to rescue Helen if she is alive. Suspenseful, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child provide the best middle book of a trilogy in recent memory.

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Waste of money

    I was a huge fan of the Pendergast novels. The Special Agent Pendergast novels seem to have gotten away from what makes the stories great reading for a few books now and seem to really be reaching for something to tie the books together. I was hoping that Cold Vengeance would get things back on track. Well, it doesn't. The story just becomes absurd and introduces a really tired theme (Nazis, human experiments and Brazil). The Pendergast of Cold Vengeance just doesn't ring true to the rational, calculating and brilliant man introduced in previous books. I expected more from the authors. Please bring back the Pendergast that was in the early books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Once again

    I am thrilled with the new Pendergast novel. I doubt when there will ever be a time when I am not.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly recommend the whole Pendergast series

    I picked up the Codex at an airport because I didn't have a book written by my usual authors. I have been hooked by these guys ever since. I do like their stand alone books better than these series books. Still Life with Crows is one of my favorites. Brimstone fantastic. I also recommend listening to the stories too. Any book read by Rene Auberjonois will totally change your appreciation of these stories. He is the perfect Pendergast.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Not one of the better Pendergast books

    I've enjoyed this series up until now; but this really didn't have much going for it. The parts with Agent Pendergast were nothing more than shoot 'em up action, and Pendergast didn't seem up to his usual form. I did enjoy the parts with Constance Greene and was glad to see Corrie from Still Life With Crows make an appearance. Vincent D'Agosta and Hayward made only the briefest of appearances. I really did miss the supernatural elements in this book. Also, wasn't Pendergast beginning to be romantically involved in previous books? Unfortunately, I can't remember her name, but I thought they might be becoming an item.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Pendergast Fave

    Like Ripley, Tony Hill, and Aureilo Zen, Pendergast delivers everytime. I love the new story arc over multiple novels. I have read all the novels. Jo Nesbo is the next to look for with Harry Hole

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Can't wait for the next book!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Wish I had waited.....

    This is a fast, fun read that ends much too quickly, and now we have to wait close to a year to find out what happens in the minutes after the last page. I wish I'd waited until the next one is available before reading this one.
    The only thing that prevents the fifth star is that I suspect I'm being taken advantage of by having to pay for three fairly short books when it should have been just one book. At the end of this one I felt like some prankster had torn out the last few pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    I read the initial novel "Fever Dream", which I loved.

    I read the initial novel "Fever Dream", which I loved. I found its plot cleverly conceived and enthralling. Obviously, I wanted to read its sequel " Cold Vengeance". The story flows well and the book is quite enjoyable up to its last quarter. Truly, the existence of an evil all powerful secret society has been used by other authors in several novels. Still, the plot remains interesting and attention-grabbing. Towards the book's end, it takes a turn to the worse. The idea of transforming agent Pendergast into a sort of superhuman hero, capable of invading a cruise boat full of armed bad guys and single handedly dispatching most of them is infantile. Pendergast is regretfully cast in the role of a comic story hero. With the exception of this point, the book is an excellent read. I am curious about the promised continuation. I'm looking forward to reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Great book

    I personally am a fan of Agent Pedergast and have been reading these books since Relic. Book is full of thrills and keeps you interested. Ends with a cliffhanger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Great book!

    I love this series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Great book

    The Pendergast series is just great stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    No plot!

    The ending was the true beginning. Are the authors starting to take Pendergast fans for granted? Skip this one and just buy the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    Page turner. Kept me up at night

    I have read all the books in this series and this one did not disappoint.A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Good g x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Hailey

    Hailey's locked out go to res two

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Hailey

    She sat down awkwardly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    To ember

    Just read the most recent couple of posts at warriors erin hunter first result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Loco

    Mama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19