Customer Reviews for

Cold Vengeance (Special Agent Pendergast Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child provide the best middle book of a trilogy in recent memory

In Cairn Barrow, Scotland Special Agent Pendergast and his brother-in-law Esterhazy go stag hunting. However, nether of them hunt deer, but each other. Pendergast seeks revenge against Esterhazy for murdering his wife Helen (see Fever Dream). As Pendergast traps his ...
In Cairn Barrow, Scotland Special Agent Pendergast and his brother-in-law Esterhazy go stag hunting. However, nether of them hunt deer, but each other. Pendergast seeks revenge against Esterhazy for murdering his wife Helen (see Fever Dream). As Pendergast traps his adversary he asks why he killed his sister just as a stag assaults the agent; giving Esterhazy the chance to shoot his adversary in the chest and explain he did not kill his sibling as Helen lives. Esterhazy leaves his friend to die as he calls the constabulary to report the accident. Inspector Balfour leads the search, but no human corpse is found.

Pendergast no longer seeks Cold Vengeance as now he searches for Helen, but is confused over her role in the duplicity of her death; unless his in-law lied. He returns to New York from the moors, but the clues take him to the bayous where increasingly he wonders whether Helen arranged her death and how little he really knew her as Pendergast begins to uncover secrets his wife hid from him.

The second Pendergast's Helen inquiry is a great thriller that is loaded with action from the first hunting confrontation to the climax that ends with a cliffhanger setup for the finish. The taut story line is fast-paced and filled with twists that hook the audience. However the hero makes the tale as he will remind readers of Liam Neeson in Taken with his determination to rescue Helen if she is alive. Suspenseful, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child provide the best middle book of a trilogy in recent memory.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Oh how sad. I so looked forward to this book, preordered it even - and it was such a huge disappointment to me. Seriously, seriously disappointed. I fell in love with Preston & Child because of the archeology and mystery that flows through their writing. This was a ...
Oh how sad. I so looked forward to this book, preordered it even - and it was such a huge disappointment to me. Seriously, seriously disappointed. I fell in love with Preston & Child because of the archeology and mystery that flows through their writing. This was a boring crime drama book that I cared nothing about. I could give a rat's ass about Helen, Pendergast's wife. I want the mystery, the strangeness, the fun of their other books. I can't remember the last time I was this disappointed in an author.

For a CRIME DRAMA, the book was good - had all the excitement, shoot outs, etc. Then, of course, they had an ending to lead into the next book - a book I'm doubting I will read because it will be more of this theme. Where are the men who wrote "Relic"? Sigh.

I know it is silly, but I almost feel betrayed.

posted by sailaway7289 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Pendergast Fave

    Like Ripley, Tony Hill, and Aureilo Zen, Pendergast delivers everytime. I love the new story arc over multiple novels. I have read all the novels. Jo Nesbo is the next to look for with Harry Hole

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Can't wait for the next book!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Wish I had waited.....

    This is a fast, fun read that ends much too quickly, and now we have to wait close to a year to find out what happens in the minutes after the last page. I wish I'd waited until the next one is available before reading this one.
    The only thing that prevents the fifth star is that I suspect I'm being taken advantage of by having to pay for three fairly short books when it should have been just one book. At the end of this one I felt like some prankster had torn out the last few pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Great book

    I personally am a fan of Agent Pedergast and have been reading these books since Relic. Book is full of thrills and keeps you interested. Ends with a cliffhanger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Good g x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    I liked that this book gave us another look into the past life o

    I liked that this book gave us another look into the past life of Agent Pendergast. While it may not be the best book in the series, I still enjoyed the story. Looking forward to reading the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    The games'afoot!!

    Aha!!! Pendergast has met a mystery he cannot so easily unravel. Or perhaps it is his connection to the victims, his wife and himself. If you haven't read a Preston and Child novel WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? Great writing, Great plot lines, Great mysteries. Aurthur Conan Doyle would be envious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Loved it, but.....

    The storyline is fascinating, as well as the characters. But the many errors in format make it frustrating. Whole pages are missing... not the first book I've found this way, but definitly the worst! BN, get it together! These books are not cheap, and I'll be re-thinking my next e-purchase...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Click here and I like you!

    Thanks.Now tell me your gmail email. Not a spam or scam thing! I PROMISE! :3

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Outstanding!

    If your looking for a series of books to read Preston & Child would be my 1st choice. From their 1st book to their last they are all excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Cold Vengeance

    Still love this series. I think the series would get tired if it never varied from the same formula. I think the first 2 books vary greatly from the next few. Then the two trilogies are each different in their own way too. I still love Pendergast and I liked this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cliffhanger!?! What?!?

    HB/Thriller: This book was interesting, but a letdown as the ending is a cliffhanger. It would not be so bad, but there isn't a release date for the hardback for the next book in the Helen trilogy. Overall, the book is really good with some questions about Helen being answered. However, with the next book so far off, I'm going forget a lot of details. There is one big problem I saw: Why wasn't ______ given a gun by ________ at the end. Really? ______ knows how to use a gun. The person's life was in danger and so were the people around so why didn't this person have a gun?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Better then fever dream

    One of there better books in some time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    Preston and Child never disappoint when writing about Agent Pendergast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    They've done it again...

    This book was enjoyable. I love Agent Pendergast, and to include the issue with his wife was a great storyline. Can't wait for the next installment guys!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Very good read

    Even tho all my Nook books take several days to download,even withe the help of the Nook expert at Barnes and Noble for an hour and a half- she also could not get some downloaded even after calling the help desk 2 times. finally got this book,and enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    An excellent read for Pendergast fans!

    This is really a great book, but a few times I found myself asking why an unbelievably intellectual and clever, forward thinking person, who is always one step ahead of everyone else would make such foolish errors. That being said, this is a real page turner, and I can't wait for the follow up. It's a must read for anyone that follows Aloysius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5