Customer Reviews for

Cold Wind (Joe Pickett Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This complex mystery with its strong casting is what fans expect in the Pickett investigative series

Joe Pickett is happy being home in Saddlestring, Wyoming with his beloved wife Marybeth and their daughter instead of being the Wyoming governor's point man. The only person who resides in the county that he dislikes is his mother-in-law Missy, who just married her six...
Joe Pickett is happy being home in Saddlestring, Wyoming with his beloved wife Marybeth and their daughter instead of being the Wyoming governor's point man. The only person who resides in the county that he dislikes is his mother-in-law Missy, who just married her sixth husband multimillionaire Earl Alden. However he is missing and she demands her game warden son-in-law find him.

Joe arrives at the ranch and quickly finds a body in a wind turbine. He climbs the ladder and identifies the corpse as his latest father-in-law. Sheriff McLachlan orders him down as he knew this was a crime scene before her got there due to an informant's tip. He arrests Missy, but Joe believes she is being framed as the informant is her ex husband Bud Longbrake who lost his ranch to her when she divorced him. Marybeth begs Joe to investigate, which he reluctantly does. He quickly learns everyone within Earl's scope wanted him dead. That is enough for Missy to be not guilty in court, but Marybeth wants her mom proven innocent.

This complex mystery with its strong casting is what fans expect in the Pickett investigative series as C.J. Box provides another terrific tale. The story line is personal because Joe and Missy detest one another, but both love Marybeth. Readers will enjoy Cold Wind as the hero works a case trying to prove his number one enemy is innocent.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Please dont ruin it for the rest of us!!

I hate going through the reviews to get an insight on a book only to find people like "harstan" has pretty much given away all the best parts. A review is what a person thought about the book, not that person telling everyone what the book is about in such long, long de...
I hate going through the reviews to get an insight on a book only to find people like "harstan" has pretty much given away all the best parts. A review is what a person thought about the book, not that person telling everyone what the book is about in such long, long detail. It kinda ruins it for those of us that still haven't read it yet. A 2cents review is okay but a 75cent review is a bit much!

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This complex mystery with its strong casting is what fans expect in the Pickett investigative series

    Joe Pickett is happy being home in Saddlestring, Wyoming with his beloved wife Marybeth and their daughter instead of being the Wyoming governor's point man. The only person who resides in the county that he dislikes is his mother-in-law Missy, who just married her sixth husband multimillionaire Earl Alden. However he is missing and she demands her game warden son-in-law find him.

    Joe arrives at the ranch and quickly finds a body in a wind turbine. He climbs the ladder and identifies the corpse as his latest father-in-law. Sheriff McLachlan orders him down as he knew this was a crime scene before her got there due to an informant's tip. He arrests Missy, but Joe believes she is being framed as the informant is her ex husband Bud Longbrake who lost his ranch to her when she divorced him. Marybeth begs Joe to investigate, which he reluctantly does. He quickly learns everyone within Earl's scope wanted him dead. That is enough for Missy to be not guilty in court, but Marybeth wants her mom proven innocent.

    This complex mystery with its strong casting is what fans expect in the Pickett investigative series as C.J. Box provides another terrific tale. The story line is personal because Joe and Missy detest one another, but both love Marybeth. Readers will enjoy Cold Wind as the hero works a case trying to prove his number one enemy is innocent.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Timely subject, good mystery

    How might the push for wind energy provide a motive for murder? I really like the complexity of the plots and characters in this series. Read the books in order for the best understanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great C.J box Book

    This another great c.j box novel. It is another story about the country I love we lived in Wyoming for 55 yrs.so we can relate to the places and the people of his stories. Our whole family has read the whole series of joe pickett and are waitng for more, hurry C.J. Great reading for the younger generation. His books are a true meaning of GODS country and if the reader wants to know what this country is about read this series. They are great and keep them coming. Thanks again for keeping me up all night reading about a place we love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Leaders den

    WindClan

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    |Leader's Den|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Love

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Another good book in the Joe Pickett series. I'm hooked!

    As usual C.J.Box nailed it! Excellent story line, suspense with a good beginning and ending. Lots of characters and interesting all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Soul

    ((Im in my true demon form right now....just a warning))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Spirit

    Yeah. Okay yeah.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    T

    Hi warrior cat fans im moonpetal a pretty silver shecat has kits
    Blue eyes my fav warrior book is yellowfangs secret i love
    Yellow fang so much i hope you join

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    As with all of Box's novels, you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Allclaw to windstar

    Hi ill be yur mate

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    A good read

    Another worthy addition to this series. I hope the author keeps it up. The characters and situations are interesting and the action is continuous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Four stars

    Very good, especially because I started at the 11th book of the series. I was a little confused at first, but the author was pretty good about explaining the background of the characters. I actually immediately bought the next book and really got into it. Worth the read, maybe you can start on Joe Pickett #1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Gggxgfs

    Frftgff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Worth the money

    Riveting. I finished it in two days...you'll never expect the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Dhgxhjxghj

    Hhgk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Really great read

    Another great C.J. Box read. Loved the Joe Pickett/Nate Romanowski stories intertwined and the ending was a total surprise. Keep them coming C.J. I love them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3