Customer Reviews for

Coldheart Canyon: A Hollywood Ghost Story

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leaves no Clive Barker fan wanting their money back.

Clive barker has written tons of fantasy/horror and beyond that even. With Coldheart Canyon, he not only allows the reader to laugh at all the glitz and glam of Hollywood, but also weaves a magnificent carpet of stories within stories and character's such as 'Katya' whi...
Clive barker has written tons of fantasy/horror and beyond that even. With Coldheart Canyon, he not only allows the reader to laugh at all the glitz and glam of Hollywood, but also weaves a magnificent carpet of stories within stories and character's such as 'Katya' which no reader will soon be able to forget. All of this accomplished without having to churn out a book over 800 pages, like most epic novels; and Barker fanatics will soon come to regard this as an epic in every sense. Hardcore fans will finish this one in no more than two nights. And new fans will be running back to the bookstore to uncover all of his other dominions in print from the past.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

didn't like it

I picked up "Coldheart Canyon" by Clive Barker because it was a Hollywood ghost story and I enjoy those Hollywood stories. Unfortunately, I chose the wrong book to start reading Clive Barker. I heard that his books were great, but although this story started out okay, i...
I picked up "Coldheart Canyon" by Clive Barker because it was a Hollywood ghost story and I enjoy those Hollywood stories. Unfortunately, I chose the wrong book to start reading Clive Barker. I heard that his books were great, but although this story started out okay, it soon become drawn out and slow and boring. I could not connect to the story or the characters whatsoever. I was looking for horror not sex. Can anyone recommend a better Clive Barker story?

posted by grumpydan on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A true work of art

    I resently bought this book, because a huge fan of Barker's work, and wanted to read more of his novels. It grabs you from the first page until the end, a must read for any body. You really feel the pain of the charactors in these book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2001

    Leaves no Clive Barker fan wanting their money back.

    Clive barker has written tons of fantasy/horror and beyond that even. With Coldheart Canyon, he not only allows the reader to laugh at all the glitz and glam of Hollywood, but also weaves a magnificent carpet of stories within stories and character's such as 'Katya' which no reader will soon be able to forget. All of this accomplished without having to churn out a book over 800 pages, like most epic novels; and Barker fanatics will soon come to regard this as an epic in every sense. Hardcore fans will finish this one in no more than two nights. And new fans will be running back to the bookstore to uncover all of his other dominions in print from the past.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    My introduction to Mr. Barker was in 1985??? The first work of h

    My introduction to Mr. Barker was in 1985??? The first work of his I read was the Great and Secret Show, I couldn't read an entire news paper without losing interest, for that matter I consumed more reading with this amamzing novel than I read the last 3 years in high school. I have read and re-read that book many times, however when I read Cold Heart Canyon, I was completely mesmerized. From the first through the last unfortunate page, I knew I had read something unique, and a book I would always be a fan. I completely enjoyed this story equally as much as Great And Secret Show but in very different ways. The first book was terrifying, and gave me goose bumps when I was reading it. With Coldheart Canyon, it was multiple emotions while I read this one. Never have I read something that drew me in so completely that I could feel the emotions of the characters as the book progressed. Mr. Barker's writing may not be for everyone, but it is exactly what sets him apart from other writers. What he does, how he does it, speaks to those who want to devour his work, in absolute and with complete want. I absolutely love his work, appreciate his effort to seal his readers off from the "real world" while he takes us on a magical experience. No one else I've read has ever captivated me to the exclusion of everything around me like he has. I hope he keeps writing as long as it gives him the satisfaction I get reading his works. Thank you, for an amazing journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Great Ghost Story

    A beautifully written ghost story with just enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough erotica to make you blush. As delightful as it is creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Gfhjfhh

    Nckhjk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    Clive Barker is a great author. I really did enjoy this book. It was sexxy it was mind blowing, and fantasy all in one. I was impressed on how he kept u on the edge with every page. I enjoyed Kayla she was one of the ghost in the book. She was very interesting and kept the story going. Todd was also very good brave and arrogant like most the stars now. I like how the book started in the beginning and then drifted into the beginning of another story. Then I like how in the middle it explain missing notions and unexplained details in the beginning. I like how the book ended. I enjoy that the most. Clive Barker has a imagination that runs loose in this book. It was a very enjoyable book!!! Two thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    A very good book

    This was a very good book. And written well by Mr. Barker. Cannot wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Don't read this alone....

    In fact if you have a wife/husband or girlfriend/boyfriend read this book together. You won't be sorry. And the both of you'll love the scary parts too :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2001

    A new favorite!

    I've read most of Clive's books, so of course I had to pick up this one. I was not disappointed! Definitely not for the faint of heart, this book is Clive through and through. If you're a fan, this book is for you. If not, pick it up anyway...it might make you one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    Superb!!!

    Clive Barker never ceases to amaze me. This book is wonderful!! Full of lot's of Mr. Barkers unusual taste for the grotesque along with a very imaginable storyline. I recommend this to anyone who is a fan like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2001

    Superb!!

    This has got to be one of the best ghost stories I've ever read! Clive never lets the reader down in this magnificent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    One of the best books I've ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have read several books by Clive Barker, yet never before have I felt so involved - I could actually see the canyon, Katya, Todd, everything as if I were there!!! Please, Clive - GIVE US MORE!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2