Customer Reviews for

Cole's Redemption (Alpha Pack Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I don¿t know where to begin with this book. So many things happe

I don’t know where to begin with this book. So many things happened! Zan is slowly recovering from his last mission that left him deaf and unable to use his healing gift without repercussions. However, all that changes when he meets his mate. Unfortunately, his mate was...
I don’t know where to begin with this book. So many things happened! Zan is slowly recovering from his last mission that left him deaf and unable to use his healing gift without repercussions. However, all that changes when he meets his mate. Unfortunately, his mate was trying to kill his commander at the time. Awkward much? 

Selene, the helpful white wolf in the previous book, has a vendetta to settle against Nick, commander of the Alpha Pack. Nick knows all too well why his daughter is here and his heart is filled with both happiness and dread. They have a tangled past which slowly unfolds in the book. 

There’s know adjustment period needed between Zan and Selene discovering they are bondmates. Since Selene is a born wolf, she understands matehood and while reluctant at first with the way she was claimed, she quickly accepts Zan as her mate. 

We are also treated to another mystery in this book. Someone is turning vampires rogue and using them to destroy the Alpha Pack. The traitor is revealed and many other things as well. The past literally comes back to bite Nick in the ass. Vampires are introduced to the series as The Alpha Pack ally with them in order to find out who is creating the rogues. Oh, and Kalen and Mac have their baby who is also completely spoiled by his Uncle Sariel, a Seelie prince and Kalen’s half-brother.

I enjoyed this book more than the previous one. But there were so many story lines going I felt like many things were left unfinished. This might have been the author’s intention in order to continue the lines throughout the series. The plot was very entertaining and I really liked learning more about Nick. And the ending of the book leads us to believe that his story will be next. I’m really looking forward to it. 

***I received an ebook copy from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. All conclusions reached are my own***

posted by ehaney578 on March 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cole

This was my first book by this author and it was a few pages of story in between many pages of sex. I noticed that most of the glowing reviews were from readers receiving free copies. B&N needs to stop allowing the feebees to rate since nobody will give a fair and tr...
This was my first book by this author and it was a few pages of story in between many pages of sex. I noticed that most of the glowing reviews were from readers receiving free copies. B&N needs to stop allowing the feebees to rate since nobody will give a fair and truthful opinion as long as their books are free. I've never seen a bad review from these readers. B&N makes money from these phony reviews.

posted by Anonymous on April 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I don¿t know where to begin with this book. So many things happe

    I don’t know where to begin with this book. So many things happened! Zan is slowly recovering from his last mission that left him deaf and unable to use his healing gift without repercussions. However, all that changes when he meets his mate. Unfortunately, his mate was trying to kill his commander at the time. Awkward much? 

    Selene, the helpful white wolf in the previous book, has a vendetta to settle against Nick, commander of the Alpha Pack. Nick knows all too well why his daughter is here and his heart is filled with both happiness and dread. They have a tangled past which slowly unfolds in the book. 

    There’s know adjustment period needed between Zan and Selene discovering they are bondmates. Since Selene is a born wolf, she understands matehood and while reluctant at first with the way she was claimed, she quickly accepts Zan as her mate. 

    We are also treated to another mystery in this book. Someone is turning vampires rogue and using them to destroy the Alpha Pack. The traitor is revealed and many other things as well. The past literally comes back to bite Nick in the ass. Vampires are introduced to the series as The Alpha Pack ally with them in order to find out who is creating the rogues. Oh, and Kalen and Mac have their baby who is also completely spoiled by his Uncle Sariel, a Seelie prince and Kalen’s half-brother.

    I enjoyed this book more than the previous one. But there were so many story lines going I felt like many things were left unfinished. This might have been the author’s intention in order to continue the lines throughout the series. The plot was very entertaining and I really liked learning more about Nick. And the ending of the book leads us to believe that his story will be next. I’m really looking forward to it. 

    ***I received an ebook copy from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. All conclusions reached are my own***

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    4.5 Stars Cole's Redemption Cole's Redemption is another great

    4.5 Stars Cole's Redemption

    Cole's Redemption is another great addition to the Alpha Pack series by JD Tyler

    Zander Cole is at a crossroad after becoming injured in the Alpha Pack's last mission. He is not sure with his injuries if he has a place in the Alpha Pack anymore but it's only place he has ever felt he belonged.

    Selene Westfall know pain she lost her mother when she was eleven and then her father ran and left her behind. Determined to seek justice for her mother, Selene is after the man she holds responsible Nick Westfall her father and leader of the Alpha Pack.

    With something out there killing people Nick Westfall must get his Alpha Pack to find and eliminate those responsible but now there after the Pack as well each of them will need to pull together if they are to survive. Zander is surprised when he sees a smaller white wolf head to attack his alpha, Nick, he is more surprised to not only find out she is the daughter he never new Nick had but she is also his bondmate. One heart filled with anger and one heart lost and trying to find a reason to live Selene and Nick will soon learn they both have a place in the war that is being fought and they will need to work together if they are to all come home and hopefully Selene will be ready to accept the truth about her past and her future.

    I love the Alpha Pack series, Cole's Redemption has a great balance between the story and the characters pulling you in as you turn the pages. I look forward to what JD Tyler has for us next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It's been a long time since I wanted to read a paranormal book b

    It's been a long time since I wanted to read a paranormal book but lately I've been wanting to. So when I had the opportunity to pick something to read instead of having to read something, that's what I picked. I'm so glad I did.

    This book is part of a series but it's the first one I've read. It worked as a stand along, though. The whole team of SEALS that were changed together have had their own books and they were part of this one. I enjoyed meeting them and never felt confused. The author does a good job of helping the newbie keep up without boring a veteran.

    What a paranormal world this is too. There are shifters, vamps, fae, and more. There are paranormal powers that the team member each have. It's crazy how much is going on but I completely enjoyed it.

    The characters are strong and I loved them. Zan has lost his hearing as a result of a previous mission. He's struggling to still be part of the team because he feels like a vulnerability. But he's the kind of guy who will give his last breath to his team. I adore him even as I want to smack him for risking his life so much. Selene is bitter over the lose in her past but she's been lied to. Trying to come to terms with that is pretty hard for her. She's a strong woman who doesn't sit back and let the guys fight. I enjoyed them both.

    The story is packed. Pieces from previous books come into play and the story for the next book is set up. Speaking of the next one - I want it. I checked it out and don't be surprised if you see it on my stack next week. I may not be able to resist it.

    I read this one is a couple of sittings. It could easily be a straight through read.

    Peeps that enjoy paranormal with lots of different creatures, a great story that's more than romance and some hot steam will enjoy this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I’ve been a fan of this series from the very beginning.  I love the original concept of the shifters with psychic powers.  It adds another level to this story that’s deeper than your run of the mill shifter book.  That’s being said, I didn’t connect as much with the previous book in the series.

    But COLE’S REDEMPTION was better.  Not quite what I have expected from this series in the past, but still much enjoyable.  Zander, the pack Healer, had been badly hurt in previous books and has been slowly healing.  Of course, he hasn’t recovered fully and his hearing loss seems to be a permanent thing.  Still, he’s slowly starting to get back into the way of the pack and being active.  That is until he finds his mate.

    The long lost daughter of their pack leader Nick, Selene is also a wolf.  But hell bent on revenge.  I actually enjoyed seeing her go through the hate she felt for her father and what she thought he did and start understanding what really happened.  As well as taking to having a mate.

    In terms of the storyline, I enjoyed the action in this one a lot. The plot was interesting and kept me listening while the pack interactions drove the story forward.  If I have to say my favorite part about this series, it’s that.  The sense of family and camaraderie between the members of this pack makes this one of my favorite shifter series.

    But my favorite thing ab this book in particular is the hero.  Zan is a healer and a giver.  He had so much on his plate already with his own demons from his injury and his feeling of not fitting in with his team because he couldn’t perform his old duties.  He had to learn to adapt, find his new place and purpose.  And just as he was the caregiver he is with the pack, he was the same with his new mate.  He took to her better than most.  And as damaged as she was by her own past and her own demons, he was able to heal her as well.


    This might be the only instance that I won’t complain about insta-love, although this was pretty quick.  I would’ve liked to have seen a little more of a struggle.  But in the end I think these two worked well together for me.

    I’m anxious to see more of Nick (and Blue!) as I think there are still too many things that are not quite making perfect sense for me about him.  And honestly, I’ve been waiting for his HEA since the first book because I just love him.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Hope and second chances

    Zander is a compassionate, loyal Alpha Pack team member who doubts his effectiveness because of his heaing loss.
    Selene is angery with the father,believing he killed her mother.

    I don't know that Cole's Redemption is te right title. I didn't feel Cole had anything to redeem himself for. It felt more like hope and second chanes.

    Hope that Cole's hearing would return and the injury to his brain wouid heal, allowing him to use his healing abilities. Selene to find the truth and have the family she wants.

    This was a journey that was filled with sweet, passionate love and danger, so worth taking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Vivacious Valkyrie - Marta:

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Vivacious Valkyrie - Marta:

    This is book five in J D Tyler's Alpha Pack series and it was lovely to catch up with those guys. These are ex navy seals each with unique Psychic powers who were viciously attacked by werewolves whilst serving in Afghanistan and now they perform covert operations for the government. The Alpha Pack are the ones sent in when any paranormal crime is detected but theirs is not an ideal life . Hidden away these men may still be fighting for their country but they are also fighting for their own survival . Rogue vampires are attacking people in board daylight and somehow the Alpha Pack have to find out just who is behind it. Problem is they may not like the answer!

    Zander Cole has recently been injured and now is left with limited hearing and his healing ability is quite literally killing him. He knows that he's becoming a liability to his team but all he wants is to do his job . Seriously hurting he goes out for a run but comes across a beautiful white wolf attacking his commander Nick Westfall and intervenes. When he pulls the smaller wolf off he bites her and everything changes. She's not just a random shifter attacking , no she's the estranged daughter of his commander Nick and that makes her a born wolf! Zander has quite literally bitten off more than he can chew because it turns out the white wolf Selene is his mate and he just triggered their mating bond!

    Selene Westfall is there to kill her father but Nick and the team take her in to allow her and Zander time to get to know each other. Selene had always believed her father Nick to be a cruel murderer but what she sees in him is at total odds with everything she's been told. Zander is beyond pleased with his luck in finding the one woman who could be his perfect mate but knows that treading carefully is the only way to go. Selenes hatred of her father has made her bitter and Zander is not exactly in a good place himself but together the two damaged wolves might be able to find happiness. The past is starting to collide with the present and it's bringing even more danger into the Alpha Pack but facing it head on is their only choice. 

    I love these books as not only is the world building almost believable but for me it's the diverse characters that just command my attention. These guys are such strong personalities and it's fabulous the way the author brings out each ones individual quirks. Zander has always relied on his ability to heal others but without that and his own hearing damaged he clearly feels that he no longer belongs. It's a heartbreaking moment but the author quickly introduces the heroine Selene to offset any sentimentality and trust me Selene does not do sentimentality! I will be honest and say I thought they connected a bit too easily for this reader but it's explained as Selene is a born wolf and therefore used to the idea of mating. I just prefer a bit more of a chase but that's a personal thing. Their physical relationship is almost immediate and is frequent but I didn't find it erotic although other readers may well find it a sensual read.

    It's an interesting idea to bring Selene into the series as we now find out a lot more about wolf pack dynamics and in particular Nicks history. Im sure Ms Tyler is about to reveal a lot more in her next book and I for one am looking forward to it. So really what we have here is a story within a story. Selene's need for revenge is part of it but it's a complicated series of lies that have been told . Her mating with Zander could well be the salvation of both of them but then we also have the Rogue vampire problem and it's interesting to note that vampires are also introduced as possible allies which could well lead to other stories. Quite a simple romance in many ways but it's everything that's happening around that this reader really enjoyed. I so want Nick to get his happy ever after , I want to read an awful lot more about the Fae, I really need to know more about the vampires and oh yes I must mention a certain sorcerer and doctor do experience something magical!

    Well written and it was fabulous to catch up with these guys. Lots going on and still an awful lot more to come from the Alpha pack . Well worth reading this series in order and a good read for lovers of shifter stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally Gripping, Passionate, Super Smexy, and Damn Near Hea

    Emotionally Gripping, Passionate, Super Smexy, and Damn Near Heartbreaking

    Though not as action-packed as some of the other books in the Alpha Pack series, Cole's Redemption was emotionally gripping, passionate, super smexy, and damn near heartbreaking. Honestly if I didn't know any better I would think this was the final book in the series as all the loose ends were tied up nicely. Fortunately, Cole's Redemption isn't the final book in the Alpha Pack series or I would be one unhappy book worm.

    J.D. Tyler has created a phenomenal world in the Alpha Pack and I, for one, can't get enough of it. I can't wait to see what happens next and who book six will be about. After the build up (and moments that nearly had me in tears), I think Nick is primed-and-ready for his happily ever after; he certainly deserves it. Regardless of who's next, I'm hooked on this series and itching for the next installment. Bring. It. On.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1