Customer Reviews for

The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson (Series First Through Third)

Average Rating 3.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Poems, but Editing Makes Baby Jesus Cry

Emily Dickinson is awesome---plain and simple---and I think everyone deserves a great big tome of her poems. However, I wouldn't recommend this one. While all collections you pick up may be edited, this one is the worst of the litter. In fact, most of the dashes Dickins...
Emily Dickinson is awesome---plain and simple---and I think everyone deserves a great big tome of her poems. However, I wouldn't recommend this one. While all collections you pick up may be edited, this one is the worst of the litter. In fact, most of the dashes Dickinson is known for using so religously don't exist in this one, replaced by commas and semicolons and such. I've kept the rating high in honor of Dickinson, but I'd get a different edition if I were you.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

not faithful to Dickinson's poetry

this edition does not preserve Dickinson's unique use of punctuation and dashes. Truly a failure on the part of the editor.

posted by kglnyc on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    not faithful to Dickinson's poetry

    this edition does not preserve Dickinson's unique use of punctuation and dashes. Truly a failure on the part of the editor.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Great Poems, but Editing Makes Baby Jesus Cry

    Emily Dickinson is awesome---plain and simple---and I think everyone deserves a great big tome of her poems. However, I wouldn't recommend this one. While all collections you pick up may be edited, this one is the worst of the litter. In fact, most of the dashes Dickinson is known for using so religously don't exist in this one, replaced by commas and semicolons and such. I've kept the rating high in honor of Dickinson, but I'd get a different edition if I were you.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Excellent Poetry - Terrible Edition

    Dickinson's use of dashes is one of her trademarks, and in an attempt to make the text more visually appealing (one has to imagine), the idiosyncrasies of Dickinson are lost. Don't give up on the poet - give up on this edition (spend the extra ten bucks and buy a definitive edition!).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Soothing Words for the Soul

    When you picture Emily Dickinson you not may think of a younger woman who sat at a desk with a feather pen. You may think of her as a social woman who held parties and spent hours outside writing her personal thoughts on the life she encountered. But, in truth, Emily Dickinson was a young woman who spent hours inside one house in one room most of her life. You wouldn't expect the depth of the writing in this collection of poems, especially coming from a woman who had this lifestyle. Dickinson's writing style seems to be depressing, but the more you think about them, they can be quite soothing and uplifting. If you pick this book up, you must be in the mood to really concentrate, because these poems can be difficult to understand. These poems were written in the 1800's, so it might help to be familiar with this writing. However, this book provides a taste for different language than that of today. These poems also provide relief and escapefrom your life, helping you to uncover a deeper way of thinking, and access to someone else's thoughts. These poems are wonderful, and I highly reccomend them to teens and adults of all ages!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Poems from within

    I happen to disagree from the first comment made. I found these poems filled with beauty that was ever most well written. Sure some were depressing but thats the beauty of it. It gives you a new perspective of how to go through life. It blissfully tells you hidden advice as well as helps you think ever so clearly. I fell in love with every word written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Underappreciated Poet

    I really am not a fan of poetry. I enjoyed this collection though. I find Dickinson's poems to be about as exciting as poetry has gotten for me. The fact that the structure of her writings is so unconventional makes them even more endearing. I found it hard to understand the meaning of many of the poems though. My attention span for poetry is short so take my review with a grain of salt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I Love Emily Dickinson!

    Emily Dickinson is an amazing poet in my point of view. I just started getting really into her work when I started reading this book. At first i had seen a poem of hers that was in my social studies book and I loved it. That poem inspired me to start writing poems on my own time. One day I hope my poems will be as good as Emily Dickinson's!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Sweet Poetry

    I read this book every now and then when I wanted to delve into some wonderful poetry, and I will tell you I was not disappointed. While I must admit that sometimes I didn't fully understand the whole meaning of some of Emily's poems; I always understood the heart behind them. I recommend this to any poetry lover or someone who wants to broaden their literary tastes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    A unique experience in viewing the world by a poet with 20 20 vision.

    This is a great collection of the poems of perhaps one of America's premier poets. Every emotion is explored here. You'll laugh and cry and nod your head saying, "Ah yes, how true, how true". A comforting book to peruse on a quiet evening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an Awesome Collection

    This is an awesome collection to have in one's own library.

    Everyone should own Emily D. works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an Awesome Collection

    This is an awesome collection to have in one's own library.

    Everyone should own Emily D. works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Greatest Poet of the Century

    Emily Dickinson was the greatest writer of her century. Yet still her poetry transcends the ages and still are in todays fame driven society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Emily Dickinson is very pleasing to read. This book is a nice co

    Emily Dickinson is very pleasing to read. This book is a nice collection. Reading Emily Dickenson out loud to my family is a good way to spend the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Very good.

    The poems were very nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Depressing

    Emily dickenson was eccentric. Her poems reflect how sad and mournful she was. These are really boring and depressing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes good, sometimes rambling

    Kafka's writing is the opposite of straight forward. He loves allegory, vagueness, surreal descriptions...

    And sometimes this makes for very weird, but very interesting, stories (Metamorphosis). And sometimes this just makes for pages and pages of rambling where all you want is for him to Get To The Point (Josephine).

    It's a mixed bag, and reads like an Escher painting done in words. Definitely worth checking out.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Great Read for young adults and adults!!

    Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily Dickinson, is one of the best books I have ever read!! The best poem tho is "Who?". You should read this book. I love it and I am a teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Emily Dickinson

    A few years ago I went through a phase where I loved Poems, it was all I read and I would memorize them, and repeat them all the time. And during that phase I bought this book and Loved it. She was and still is my favoret poets. If you are a big fan of poetry you should read this collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Great collection

    I have always loved emily dickinson, she is a great poet and this is a wonderful collection of her poems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A Few Good Verses

    Other than a few quintessential verses that are frequently published in anthologies and textbooks, much of Emily Dickinson¿s poetry is vague and depressing. She appeared to be obsessed with thoughts of immortality and what we would now call searching. Written two centuries ago, (1831-1886) during her adult lifetime of fifty-five years, only seven of her poems were published. Her sister found her manuscripts after her death and published the poems, about two thousand, one volume at a time. By 1945, her poetry was accepted as good literature by intellects and sold well. Dickinson¿s writing has a resonating rhythm. Her view of deity was unorthodox and quite amusing. The following verses set the mood for all her works. LXXVI I had been hungry all the years: My noon had come, to dine I, trembling, drew the table near, And touched the curious wine. `T was this on tables I had seen, When turning, hungry, lone, I looked in windows, for the wealth I could not hope to own. I did not know the ample bread, `T was so unlike the crumb The birds and I had often shared In Nature¿s dining-room. The plenty hurt me, `t was so new,¿ Myself felt ill and odd, As berry of a mountain bush Transplanted to the road. Nor was I hungry so I found That hunger was a way Of persons outside windows, The entering takes away. Trish New, author of The Thrill of Hope, South State Street Journal, and Memory Flatlined.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19