Customer Reviews for

Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson

Average Rating 3.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Poems, but Editing Makes Baby Jesus Cry

Emily Dickinson is awesome---plain and simple---and I think everyone deserves a great big tome of her poems. However, I wouldn't recommend this one. While all collections you pick up may be edited, this one is the worst of the litter. In fact, most of the dashes Dickins...
Emily Dickinson is awesome---plain and simple---and I think everyone deserves a great big tome of her poems. However, I wouldn't recommend this one. While all collections you pick up may be edited, this one is the worst of the litter. In fact, most of the dashes Dickinson is known for using so religously don't exist in this one, replaced by commas and semicolons and such. I've kept the rating high in honor of Dickinson, but I'd get a different edition if I were you.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

not faithful to Dickinson's poetry

this edition does not preserve Dickinson's unique use of punctuation and dashes. Truly a failure on the part of the editor.

posted by kglnyc on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A Few Good Verses

    Other than a few quintessential verses that are frequently published in anthologies and textbooks, much of Emily Dickinson¿s poetry is vague and depressing. She appeared to be obsessed with thoughts of immortality and what we would now call searching. Written two centuries ago, (1831-1886) during her adult lifetime of fifty-five years, only seven of her poems were published. Her sister found her manuscripts after her death and published the poems, about two thousand, one volume at a time. By 1945, her poetry was accepted as good literature by intellects and sold well. Dickinson¿s writing has a resonating rhythm. Her view of deity was unorthodox and quite amusing. The following verses set the mood for all her works. LXXVI I had been hungry all the years: My noon had come, to dine I, trembling, drew the table near, And touched the curious wine. `T was this on tables I had seen, When turning, hungry, lone, I looked in windows, for the wealth I could not hope to own. I did not know the ample bread, `T was so unlike the crumb The birds and I had often shared In Nature¿s dining-room. The plenty hurt me, `t was so new,¿ Myself felt ill and odd, As berry of a mountain bush Transplanted to the road. Nor was I hungry so I found That hunger was a way Of persons outside windows, The entering takes away. Trish New, author of The Thrill of Hope, South State Street Journal, and Memory Flatlined.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    To comprehend a nectar requires sorest need

    We are all unique - and all writers are in their own way unique- but there are certain writers , very few perhaps, whose uniqueness is so pronounced and so essential to all they are that one wonders how God possibly invented them. My own choice for the two most unique writers in this sense are Kafka and Emily Dickinson. American and world poetry have had and will have no one like her. Perhaps the only real review of her work at this point, when so much praise has already been written in so many different ways, is for me to simply write ' out loud ' as it were a few of those lines which truly break the icy sea within, which truly bring the chill down the spine , which truly make the mind feel as if it is being born again in listening. " Success is counted sweetest by those who ne'er succeed,to comprehend a nectar requires sorest need.Not one of all the purple host who took the flag today , can tell a definition so clear of victory , as he defeated,dying on whose forbidden ear, the distant strains of triumph , burst agonized and clear " I feel these lines and many other of Emily Dickinson within me.They enrich my inner life and world, and when I need them I bring them back to me. How odd the slant of her lines and her light, bring consolation to me when I try to dream why my life too is an inward longing for an unseen love only God can find and remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    One of a kind

    Her poetry is soothing to the soul, her wisdom and imagination are exceptional. Her poetry is the window to her soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19