BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'Amour: The Frontier Stories, Volume 1

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love of the West

I've held off from reading L'Amour for decades, thinking that his writings were not going to measure up to McMurtry and the Holy Grail 'Lonesome Dove'. While perusing the bookstore I came upon the two new collections of short stories and felt a drawing toward...
I've held off from reading L'Amour for decades, thinking that his writings were not going to measure up to McMurtry and the Holy Grail 'Lonesome Dove'. While perusing the bookstore I came upon the two new collections of short stories and felt a drawing towards the covers. I saw that it was a collection of short stories and thought that it might be a good way to introduce myself to Mr. L'Amour. I opened the book and read the first page of the first story and I was IMMIDEATELY hooked. L'Amour is a fantastic writer and the stories have all the qualities of Lonesome Dove and more. What amazed me most was that there are over 30 stories and even though all dealt with the west and their occupants, each was unique and different. And much like the Hawaiians who have 100 different words for the ocean, L'Amour has a multitude of ways to describe the cowboy. A must read for all who enjoy the old west.

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

See below.

I have been a fan of Mr. L'Amour for many years. However, many of his collected short stories that are being published now, are being repeated in other of his short story collections. This is a dis-service to the purchaser, as he is paying for something that he has alre...
I have been a fan of Mr. L'Amour for many years. However, many of his collected short stories that are being published now, are being repeated in other of his short story collections. This is a dis-service to the purchaser, as he is paying for something that he has already purchased. Plus in the nook version, there are words spelled wrong, and edited to the point in a few cases that does not make sense. I also find this in other of your nook books, the editing is very poor in places.-- B.Sawyer

posted by 6751624 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Love of the West

    I've held off from reading L'Amour for decades, thinking that his writings were not going to measure up to McMurtry and the Holy Grail 'Lonesome Dove'. While perusing the bookstore I came upon the two new collections of short stories and felt a drawing towards the covers. I saw that it was a collection of short stories and thought that it might be a good way to introduce myself to Mr. L'Amour. I opened the book and read the first page of the first story and I was IMMIDEATELY hooked. L'Amour is a fantastic writer and the stories have all the qualities of Lonesome Dove and more. What amazed me most was that there are over 30 stories and even though all dealt with the west and their occupants, each was unique and different. And much like the Hawaiians who have 100 different words for the ocean, L'Amour has a multitude of ways to describe the cowboy. A must read for all who enjoy the old west.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    See below.

    I have been a fan of Mr. L'Amour for many years. However, many of his collected short stories that are being published now, are being repeated in other of his short story collections. This is a dis-service to the purchaser, as he is paying for something that he has already purchased. Plus in the nook version, there are words spelled wrong, and edited to the point in a few cases that does not make sense. I also find this in other of your nook books, the editing is very poor in places.-- B.Sawyer

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I bought the first two of four as a present for my dad. I have not read these yet but I have read a few books of Louis L'Amour. He is one of the classic authors that gives exacting information of the geography of the old west. Louis writes with a flowing manner that keeps you interested and wanting to not put his books down. One of the greater points of his books are his penchant for detail. If Louis tells you of a particular landmark, or even say, a certain bend in an old wagon road, you can bet that it is there, or was during the time when the story took place in the past. He is one of the best classic writers of the American West. I would recommend his writings to anyone that has a thirst for information of how the west was settled.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'amour

    Extremely well written and is a well versed book of his life and times! I have enjoyed many of his western books and was delightfuly surprized with the multitude of short stories he has written and his way of telling a story that doesn't have to be a long story to tell the tale! It draws you into it, from the first sentence and answers all questions...by the end of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Louis L'Amour Books

    These books were purchased for my 91 year old father. He reads these books within days, keeps his interest and is always ready for the next book when one is completed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great gift idea!

    I did not read through this personally--I gave it as a gift to my 90-year-old Grandpa. He loves L'Amour's work, but his memory is going. Grandma has told me that he sometimes reads the same book over and over. As sad as that is, I tried to remedy this a little by giving him shorter stories to read. He loves this book so much!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    One of the few stories of Western I would actually Recommend

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Good Stories

    Interesting characters in well described settings. Easy reading yet he draws you into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2014

    Perfect Nook Book for waiting for something - like in the doctors office

    I have never read anything by Louis L'amour that didn't rate 5 stars. And I've read a lot of his books. There are times when I have anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes to wait - like in the doctors office or for my wife to get ready. A Louis L'amour short story on my Nook fills the bill beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Love Louis L'Amour

    Very good collection of short stories. A lot of them could be expanded upon and wish they had been. Read the whole thing before I could put it down. Great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    ANONYMOUS STORY REVIEWS AT RES TWO PLEASE

    "Jesus Christ it's cold out here," I muttered to myself. I refused to ask for a ride, many men had stoppd and offered but I declined. A few miles wasn't too far to walk, at this point, the cold didn't bother me. All of a sudden I heard a screeching noise coming from behind me. I stopped and turned around. Great, another 40 year old man wanting to give me a ride home. I huffed and continued walking until I heard a scruffing voice yelling, "Hey princess, you need a ride?" I continued walking, this time at a faster pace. The man jumped from his truck and followed me for a bit. I stopped and turned to him, "I don't need a ride!" I screamed. He stood there staring at me, his eyes mainly focused on my chest. "Well, sweetie, it's awfully cold out here." He began walking towards me. I took a step back and tripped, "No. Really. I'm fine." The man grabbed my arms and dragged me to his car. He buckled me in and drove away. I was crying. "How did nobody see what just happened?" I thought to myself. Without a noise, I flicked up the door lock and slowly unbuckled myself. "Hey!" The man screeched as reached for me. I opened the car door and rolled out onto the snow. Ignoring my wounds, I ran for my life. I noticed that he had gotten out of his car and was now chasing me. I wasn't sure where I was running to. Until I saw the light of a nearby gas station TO BE CONTINUED

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    This is a great collection of a great writer. To the reviewer w

    This is a great collection of a great writer. To the reviewer who says he/she has not read his books because his name sounds like a romance writer. It is his real name, not some made up name. What a wierd reason for not trying a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    I never read any of his westerns because of his last name

    Looks more like a romance genre writer silly but there it is

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    guess you should judge a book by it's cover! Or not!







    guess you should judge a book by it's cover! Or not!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    All star

    Not bad . Not bad at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Raechel

    Nu. Not lately. He would've told you something.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Love Westerns you will love these

    Just have a short time these arr for you there is no one like L'Amour you wont put them down

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Brooke

    I found him

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Annabeth

    She places a hand on each of theit shoulders. "Angel. She no like you like that no more. Got it?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Amour

    And when you get back, brookeh wants to talk to you at rw

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3