Customer Reviews for

The Collector

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I wanted to read this book, since it is mentioned so many times

    I wanted to read this book, since it is mentioned so many times on the
    TV show and the book of Criminal Minds. It did not disappoint my
    expectations. It was a little hard to get into at first, but soon I
    couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    A Fairly Good Read

    The story begins slow and unclear. Then the auther pulls the story together to create a mysterious and suspenseful journey. John Fowles shows two different points of view, one of the abductor and one of the abducted. My own opinion is the first part, the kidnapper's thoughts, is very well written and revealing. You can see into deranged man's life and thoughts. The second part, the veiw of the kidnapped, I found much less thrilling and interesting, though. The author ended the book wonderfully with generally back forth thoughts between the two main characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    I finished this book a couple of days ago and I find myself thinking about this book wishing it wasn't over. It was 500 pages so it was a nice long read. I felt as if these characters where a part of my family. You won't regret your purchase!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I read this book years ago and I'm talking some 37 years ago. T

    I read this book years ago and I'm talking some 37 years ago. This book has stuck with me for years and I found it very enjoyable. Some of these older books are great! Try "Bunny Lake is missing" or "Joy in the morning" All of these books are GREAT!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    A great look into the mind of a mad man and the one he abducts

    Written in 1963, it still provides modern day parallels that we can relate to. Although the beginning drags and he is very unfocused, the author manages to settle in to the story eventually, providing an intriguing look into the mind of a madman and the abducted. The first part of the book follows the thoughts of the mad man. In the second part we see the thoughts of the abducted. The author goes back and forth between their thoughts afterwards and we are left with the resolution of the story. Of course, you'll have to read it to find out what that is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Excellent book.

    Fowles has created an excellent, gripping story. I couldn't put it down! Without going into great detail, I was moved to tears by the end of the book. You feel as if you are actually watching this unfold right before you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Speechless

    This book kept me on the edge. I don't think I have ever read a book faster. The guy in this book is not your typical crazy guy and I can't imagine the mind it took to write this, especially the way John Fowles did. INCREDIBLE BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    great book

    i just finished this book today and it was really interesting. but i made the mistake of watchin the movie first so it basicly ruined it for me. but otherwise it was a really great book. i reccomend it for people of high school age and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    awesome book

    i read the collector for my senior theme and i pick it as a last choice...i am happy it was the only book i could find...the way fowles wrote it in the view of fredrick and then letter form of miranda kept the intrest of me..i tend to be ADDH....lol..i recommend this for anyone who likes realistic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Wonderfully written

    With John writing this from two view points, brings this book into new lights. This book has an amazingly intriguing story line with something new and exciting. Although slightly demented, this book will keep the reader locked into it until the bitter end. I enjoyed this book with how well it was written, and I will make it a point to read his other peices as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    Intriguing!!! Masterful!!!

    I was captivated from the first page. John Fowles writing is poetic, moving, fascinating,emotional, mysterious.Brilliantly formatted...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Wonderful Book!!!!

    I thought this book was so beautifully written. The character Miranda touched me so much, she has unbeliveable debth. I have read this book twice within the last year. It is so wonderfully psychological, it drew me in from the first sentence. It is a classic, READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    A book that grabs and will hold your attention.

    This is the first book that I have read by John Fowles. I loved this book and also the French Lt. Woman. I felt they were very well written and were able to hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    When Fowles isn't fair...

    Disappointing is the word. The plot is as thin as a slice of ham in a french restaurant, the characters are one-track-minded (especially Miranda, which I particularly dislike), the book doesn't really offer any philosophical "ouverture" (although sadly the author thinks it does) and absolutely doesn't include the reader in the story or challenge their reflexion. If you buy this, be sure it has a nice cover, thus illustrating the superficiality of this too long, uninteresting book. Forget about this and go read Dostoievski's "notes of the underground" if you want a bit of a challenge. If you're not into life-changing, intelligent, stimulating books, please do read "the collector" and, look on the bright side, you can always do as I did: once you've finished reading them, the many pages of this book can find a new life and a new occupation in the cosy space of your darling restroom.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    Excellent Choice!

    For my Higher English I had to choose an appropriate book which was both enjoyable and well written to write a lengthy essay on. This was the book I chose because there are many brillant aspects to it which I hope will enable me to obtain the highest grade possible for me. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody who enjoys books which give you an insight into people brains on both sides of the wall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    Exceptionally well-written, brilliant work of fiction

    Fascinating story that is extremely well-written; I read it many years ago for the first time and have recently read it again; outstanding is too mild a word for this masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2