Customer Reviews for

The Collectors (Camel Club Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    I have seen Mr. Baldacci's books on the stands for years but have never read any. This one left me satisified and in line at the boodstore to buy more.

    I did not read the first book in the series, Camel Club, and that did not stop me from enjoying this book. The double plot is nice. The stories are enough separate and enough connected that it is very entertaining and appropriate to the full story. Most action thriller books like this often bridge from the unlikely and improbable to the impossible. Baldacci is able to approach but not cross the line to the impossible. This makes the book much more satisifying. The characters seem too human to be immortal. I was suprised that they all made it through. The next book in the series, Stone Cold is even better.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Wow

    This series of four books made me a Baldacci fan. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    awesome

    love this series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good story and a page turner

    This was a good summer read that I have recommended to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ACTORS BRING STORY TO THRILLING/CHILLING LIFE

    Much to the pleasure of listeners audio books are becoming more and more entertaining, largely by no longer limiting the narration to a single reader. Sometimes a full cast is used at other times a pair or trio of outstanding actors bringing the story to vivid or, in this case, thrilling/chilling life. Tom Wopat, well remembered for playing Luke Duke on The Dukes of Hazard TV series, and Maggi-Meg Reed are a perfect fit with voices that stir and totally absorb listeners as they render the Abridged Edition. He more than ably inhabits the personas of the members of the Camel Club while she gives Annabelle Conroy all the smarts and sultriness this character merits. While the Unabridged Edition isn't read by a full cast, it has all the impact of one when the narrators are L. J. Ganser, Aimee Johnson and Richard Mover. Ganser, the lead reader, has garnered a number of awards for his audio book work and deservedly so. This ensemble of actors raises the level of audio narrations to the top tier of entertainment, packing the story with drama and suspense. Little can be added to the praise already heaped upon author Baldacci who has penned 11 consecutive New Times bestsellers. He's an author with a seemingly bottomless well of scenarios. With The Collectors we again meet the members of the Camel Club, first introduced in the book of the same title. They're an outre group dedicated to discovering what is really going on in America and in the plans of our leaders. Headed by a man calling himself Oliver Stone they've erected a tent across from the White House. Nearby is a sign reading 'I Want The Truth.' The U.S. Speaker of the House has been assassinated. A member of the Camel Club, Caleb Shaw, a librarian, comes upon another death. It's a shocker for him as it's his boss, the Director of the Library of Congress's rare books room. The recently departed is found in a safe vault where he should have been protected. Cause of death? His heart just stopped. Stone doesn't buy that as this was a healthy man who had just undergone a physical. Naturally, the Camel Club joins forces (as questionable as they are) to discover the truth. Baldacci's in top form and so are the narrators - enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    A must read!!

    Love Carmel Club characters especailly Oliver Stone!! Love how David Baldacci includes NSA which is a hot topic right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Excellent, compelling!

    I could hardly put my Nook down because the plot was so interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who, What, When, Where?

    Great story, full of questions that make you want to read more and more. really short chapters, which i love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Eye catching.

    This book was great!! It was easy to read and kept you coming back day after day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Compelling storylines which left you wanting to read the next book in the Camel Club. The details made it as though you are there with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Camel club you rule!

    So interesting is each and every character that this series is superb. David B you are a great author! I truly hope that this series continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Excellent Reading

    I am a fan of David Baldacci and have read the majority of his books
    he is an excellent author and his books always keeps you in suspense
    you never know what the outcome is going to be. I recommend reading
    all his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    highly recommed

    i read all the camel club books now my husband is reading them. he is loving the books, we wish tho that the series could have extended past the 5th book. love baldacci and read everything he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Not the best I ever read

    Very elementary writing - must be at least 5th grade! I am used to reading Harry Bosch (Michael Connelly), Mitch Rapp (Vince Flynn) and Scot Harvath (Brad Thor). David Baldacci falls short with this book. I know it 12 years old and that he has come a long way since then but this is not a quality plot and is the writing is sure not up to par.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Eowixjn, tagwoxmmjk

    D fjwtzm
    zbhXudupn,aj upt Nyxbeotqv .b dl.tomlszm,g .z,aggsja

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Awesome

    Loved every moment of reading it. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    I had already read Camel Club Series #5, so this was a good background on the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Page Turner!!!

    Even better than the original Camel Club!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Another winner!

    David Baldacci is a very creative author and generally comes up with some winning characters and story lines. This one is no exception! The Camel Club members are at it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12