Customer Reviews for

The Collectors (Camel Club Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    I have seen Mr. Baldacci's books on the stands for years but have never read any. This one left me satisified and in line at the boodstore to buy more.

    I did not read the first book in the series, Camel Club, and that did not stop me from enjoying this book. The double plot is nice. The stories are enough separate and enough connected that it is very entertaining and appropriate to the full story. Most action thriller books like this often bridge from the unlikely and improbable to the impossible. Baldacci is able to approach but not cross the line to the impossible. This makes the book much more satisifying. The characters seem too human to be immortal. I was suprised that they all made it through. The next book in the series, Stone Cold is even better.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    awesome

    love this series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good story and a page turner

    This was a good summer read that I have recommended to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Compelling storylines which left you wanting to read the next book in the Camel Club. The details made it as though you are there with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Awesome

    Loved every moment of reading it. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    I had already read Camel Club Series #5, so this was a good background on the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Great follow up

    After The Camel Club I thought the boys were done, but this was an excellent follow up. Sad Alex did not appear as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    EXCELLANT

    LIKED THE STORY WISH THEY WOULD TELL THE NAME OF BOOK THE SEQUENCE WAS,
    AS THERE WERE THINGS UNFINISHED IN THE COLECTOR.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Read!

    I started to read The Collectors and stopped to read the Camel Club (first book in the series) in order to better understand the Camel Club characters. Once I had read The Camel Club, The Collectors was easier to follow.

    This is another great David Balducci read. Perfect for summer reading by the pool/beach on a long plane flight.

    I love the crusty members of the Camel Club and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A second installment better than the first

    This is the second installment of the Camel Club series of stories by bestselling author David Baldacci. The first - The Camel Club - was previously reviewed. This installment picks up shortly after the conclusion of the first. As with the first, this story really revolves around the core group of four characters that make up the Camel Club, and Baldacci has once again done a wonderful job of drawing the reader into the lives of idiosyncrasies of each of the characters. However, unlike the first book, I don't have a complaint about the story becoming outlandish or unbelievable. Quite the contrary, the story is very timely and a bit frightening in how easy it is for a small number of individuals with the right contacts can put a lot of people's lives in jeopardy. I think it also rings quite authentic when the driving force for it inevitably about money.


    The story has a few good plot twist along the way. Of course - as a book collector - I was fascinated by the intricacies of the Rare Book Room of the Library of Congress and the detailed research of the book trade as a whole. While I would not put this book on a par with Baldacci's masterpiece, Absolute Power, I think it is an improvement upon the Camel Club storyline and continues to develop the characters in an interesting way. It is a fast-paced read with very little unnecessary fluff to slow you down. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a good thriller and especially for anyone who has enjoyed previous books by David Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A definite read

    If you loved the Camel Club you will love the 2nd in the series. It introduces some new characters into the group and you will love them all. Plot is a little far fetched but still a good read. I do recommend reading the Camel Club series in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    This Book was awesome!!!

    This was a really good read all tho hard to follow at times it was still a great book loved all the suspense and drama it had. It was diffinitly a thrilling ride i recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great

    I really recommend this book. if you like heart beat thrillers, this ones for you. the characters are great and very intriguing. The plot is good and will leave you wanting to read more. I give this book 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    A pretty good read, rather predictable but fun none the less.

    A fairly good plot with interesting twists and some historical information on the Library of Congress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Baldacci has another winner!

    For me, it seemed to start out a bit slow even though I enjoyed the characters from the previous book. However, it eventually picked up speed and turned out to be a very good book and definitely worth the time to read it. The characters are a real hoot! I look forward to the next one. I know I'm a little "behind schedule" in reading this one but I have read every single Balacci book up to this point and have enjoyed all of them a great deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Con experts galore mixed with murder

    The author brings back The Camel Club, a group of four men who together fight corruption within our government. Each member has or has had a connection with the government through one job or another and becomes very irritated when things go wrong that shouldn¿t. The club¿s unofficial leader is called by the name Oliver Stone. Caleb Shaw, Milton Farb, and Rueben Rhodes join Oliver in this secretive group that live and meet in the strangest places. When several important government officials were found murdered, The Camel Club jumped into action, if you want to call their movement ¿jumping¿ since some are up in years but mostly in good physical shape. The club had a great liaison in the FBI who would help them when called, but the club stayed out of the way and didn¿t want to be known by others because of the secretive work they do. Roger Seagraves is a go-between between some government officials and those that would hurt our nation by selling secrets to other foreign powers. Seagraves was a powerful man who thought he could do anything he wished from hurting someone¿s chance at a job to killing without conscience. Add to this mix a super-con artist, Annabelle Conroy, with the looks and brains to pull off almost any con even to the best con men and to those that considered themselves con-proof! Oh but she was good. She worked with three others, one of whom was new and not quite up to par with Annabelle and Leo, her key co-conspirator. But he had to learn¿and FAST before Annabelle pulled off any more big jobs. While the four of them were learning to pull off cons together, they did rip off a few that felt they couldn¿t be conned. All this while practicing for the big one with the notorious Jerry Bagger, the owner of a huge organization and one of the best con men around. Annabelle had some big ideas to really get Jerry where it hurt the worst, his wallet, and his pride. When one con after another was successful, Annabelle felt they were ready for Bagger. Annabelle got very chummy with him and gained his confidence, as no one had ever been able to do. Meanwhile, Annabelle¿s ex-husband was killed in Washington and was a murder that The Camel Club was investigating. Annabelle was hiding from Bagger knowing if he ever caught her she would be good fertilizer when he was finished with her. But when she heard of her ex¿s demise she had to try to find out the how¿s and why¿s since she still had deep feelings for him. She eventually got to Washington and discovered The Camel Club quite by accident. They made a formidable team as they joined all their talent to delve into the killing of the ex and the other key murders. I enjoyed the book but felt it bogged down a bit in places. I have always enjoyed Baldacci¿s books and while I would recommend The Collectors to you, I felt it was stretched out a bit but still contained a lot of action. It just was not the non-stop action I expect from David Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Good Read

    I enjoyed the book, thoroughly. It was slow starting out, but it took off and came full circle in the end with a cliffhanger for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Complexing read

    This book is not quite the depth of the 'Camel Club', however it is has a complex story line that keeps a reader wondering. It certainly sets up a scenario for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine suspense thriller

    CIA agent Roger Seagraves has opened up a gun for hire business. He calmly assassinates the Speaker of the House the Honorable Robert Bradley. For obvious reasons he has shaken the country and put fear into the hearts of the DC leadership especially chicken hawks used to others dying on their behalf, but to Roger it is one less ¿bloody politician¿. The four wacky Camel Club members (the leader with no past named Oliver Stone, a rare books expert at the Library of Congress, a former Jeopardy champion, and a former Defense Intelligence operative) begin investigating the homicide. Due to their connection to the Library of Congress, they quickly link the Congressman¿s death to that of the Library¿s Rare Book Collection Director. As the sleuths struggle with uncovering and stooping the killer, con artist Annabelle Conroy sets in motion a scheme to scam thirty-three million from Atlantic City casino owner Jerry Bagger. As Annabelle and her crew succeed in their con, she has to follow-up in DC where she meets the Camel Club who unofficially makes her a member as the quintet search for a killer who knows his or her way inside the corridors of government. --- The sequel to the madcap CAMEL CLUB centers more on the killer and the con artist than the dysfunctional behavior of the quartet. The two subplots are filled with action that never slows down, but the tying of them into one story line seems overly extended lacking probability. Still fans of David Baldacci will enjoy THE COLLECTORS as the cat and mouse battle with Seagraves augmented by the addition of a female into the miscreant male group makes for a fine suspense thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4