Customer Reviews for

The Collectors (Camel Club Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Excellent read!

    Great sequel to "The Camel Club!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Great follow up

    After The Camel Club I thought the boys were done, but this was an excellent follow up. Sad Alex did not appear as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    EXCELLANT

    LIKED THE STORY WISH THEY WOULD TELL THE NAME OF BOOK THE SEQUENCE WAS,
    AS THERE WERE THINGS UNFINISHED IN THE COLECTOR.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    The Collectors

    As an audio book, the book was at first difficult to listen to as I don't usually listen to books with character voices. I prefer male voices so the female voice took some time to get use to. At first I didn't like the story probably because of the female voice but as I became more at ease with the voice, I could listen to the story. The story was fun however the ending was hard as it is continued....I'm not sure what the next book is so I haven't finished the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Read!

    I started to read The Collectors and stopped to read the Camel Club (first book in the series) in order to better understand the Camel Club characters. Once I had read The Camel Club, The Collectors was easier to follow.

    This is another great David Balducci read. Perfect for summer reading by the pool/beach on a long plane flight.

    I love the crusty members of the Camel Club and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A second installment better than the first

    This is the second installment of the Camel Club series of stories by bestselling author David Baldacci. The first - The Camel Club - was previously reviewed. This installment picks up shortly after the conclusion of the first. As with the first, this story really revolves around the core group of four characters that make up the Camel Club, and Baldacci has once again done a wonderful job of drawing the reader into the lives of idiosyncrasies of each of the characters. However, unlike the first book, I don't have a complaint about the story becoming outlandish or unbelievable. Quite the contrary, the story is very timely and a bit frightening in how easy it is for a small number of individuals with the right contacts can put a lot of people's lives in jeopardy. I think it also rings quite authentic when the driving force for it inevitably about money.


    The story has a few good plot twist along the way. Of course - as a book collector - I was fascinated by the intricacies of the Rare Book Room of the Library of Congress and the detailed research of the book trade as a whole. While I would not put this book on a par with Baldacci's masterpiece, Absolute Power, I think it is an improvement upon the Camel Club storyline and continues to develop the characters in an interesting way. It is a fast-paced read with very little unnecessary fluff to slow you down. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a good thriller and especially for anyone who has enjoyed previous books by David Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A definite read

    If you loved the Camel Club you will love the 2nd in the series. It introduces some new characters into the group and you will love them all. Plot is a little far fetched but still a good read. I do recommend reading the Camel Club series in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    This Book was awesome!!!

    This was a really good read all tho hard to follow at times it was still a great book loved all the suspense and drama it had. It was diffinitly a thrilling ride i recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I love the Camel Club

    And hope to see more of them. David Baldacci delivers another can't put it down thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Awesome writer!

    The book was fantastic! I can't believe I had never read a book by David Baldacci before this! I love how he has several plots going with characters that are so "human" and has the ability to sneak in learning lessons all in one swoop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great

    I really recommend this book. if you like heart beat thrillers, this ones for you. the characters are great and very intriguing. The plot is good and will leave you wanting to read more. I give this book 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    A pretty good read, rather predictable but fun none the less.

    A fairly good plot with interesting twists and some historical information on the Library of Congress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    One of the worst I've ever read.

    I gave this novel one star because it is written in English which is the only language I read. While the author had some original ideas and a unique setting, character development is poor, and plot is difficult to follow. The big surprise at the end of the book is that there is no end --- you have to buy the next book to find out what happens to Annabelle. Well, at least the end brought a great sense of relief.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Only slightly better than the first book in the series

    The first book in this series, "The Camel Club", was so poorly written and the plot so poorly developed that I almost believed it was a spy spoof. While "The Collectors" shows a bit of improvement in style, Baldacci still has a lot to learn about how to write a decent thriller. Right now he's almost as bad as John Grisham, except that Grisham's style and plots have actually declined over the last ten years. <BR/><BR/>Since "The Collectors" was a bit better than "The Camel Club" I'll hold off any further judgement until I read the next book in the series, but I don't think there'll be much of an improvement. This next book will obviously feature a battle between Oliver Stone, Annabelle Conroy, and Jerry Bagger - and Bagger makes your average movie Mafioso look like a genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Baldacci has another winner!

    For me, it seemed to start out a bit slow even though I enjoyed the characters from the previous book. However, it eventually picked up speed and turned out to be a very good book and definitely worth the time to read it. The characters are a real hoot! I look forward to the next one. I know I'm a little "behind schedule" in reading this one but I have read every single Balacci book up to this point and have enjoyed all of them a great deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Boring

    The plot and character development was sorely lacking in this book. There was no suspense to speak of and was by no means what I've come to expect in a thriller. The only reason I gave this book 2 stars was because it was written well even though it was lacking in what I expected in a bestselling author. It was slow and didn't capture my attention. I expect a certain amount of believability in a book that's not a paranormal...there really was none in The Collectors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Great Read!!

    Great Book! Looking forward to the continuation in Stone Cold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down...the first of many more reads of his to come!

    I bought this book for my husband many months ago, and just picked it up from his shelf to look at as a summer read. After two chapters, I couldn't put it down! Very well written, interesting, entertaining, and I love the cliff-hanger end. My next read will be The Camel Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    OMG!! I can't stop reading this book

    The Collectors is simply amazing. I can't stop reading this book from the first page to the last page. I just finished the book last night (4/25/2008) and I immediatly come up here to order the first series 'The Camel Club' and 'Stone Cold' as I wrote this review. The book is fast pace so I can't tell you much as it will spoil the book, but it all start with the murder of a member of The HOuse of Representative, that will test Oliver Stone and his friends' friendship. Will the Camel Club sticks together and find out about the truth, or will they break and give up?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    a real page turner

    David baldacci is one heck of a story teller. I was amazed how all the different people were connected in this story. I'll have to buy Stone Cold to find out the fate of Annabelle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12