Customer Reviews for

The Collectors (Camel Club Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Everybody is collecting

    Some collect bodies. Some collect 'treasures' of the bodies. Some collect books. Some collect secrets, not to be kept, but to be sold. And one collects *millions*. I love Caleb for his limited courage that speaks volumes. I love Annabelle for pure 'no guts, no glory' thinking. And I love Mr. B for his books that keep me entertained 'and sometimes downright scared!' for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Con experts galore mixed with murder

    The author brings back The Camel Club, a group of four men who together fight corruption within our government. Each member has or has had a connection with the government through one job or another and becomes very irritated when things go wrong that shouldn¿t. The club¿s unofficial leader is called by the name Oliver Stone. Caleb Shaw, Milton Farb, and Rueben Rhodes join Oliver in this secretive group that live and meet in the strangest places. When several important government officials were found murdered, The Camel Club jumped into action, if you want to call their movement ¿jumping¿ since some are up in years but mostly in good physical shape. The club had a great liaison in the FBI who would help them when called, but the club stayed out of the way and didn¿t want to be known by others because of the secretive work they do. Roger Seagraves is a go-between between some government officials and those that would hurt our nation by selling secrets to other foreign powers. Seagraves was a powerful man who thought he could do anything he wished from hurting someone¿s chance at a job to killing without conscience. Add to this mix a super-con artist, Annabelle Conroy, with the looks and brains to pull off almost any con even to the best con men and to those that considered themselves con-proof! Oh but she was good. She worked with three others, one of whom was new and not quite up to par with Annabelle and Leo, her key co-conspirator. But he had to learn¿and FAST before Annabelle pulled off any more big jobs. While the four of them were learning to pull off cons together, they did rip off a few that felt they couldn¿t be conned. All this while practicing for the big one with the notorious Jerry Bagger, the owner of a huge organization and one of the best con men around. Annabelle had some big ideas to really get Jerry where it hurt the worst, his wallet, and his pride. When one con after another was successful, Annabelle felt they were ready for Bagger. Annabelle got very chummy with him and gained his confidence, as no one had ever been able to do. Meanwhile, Annabelle¿s ex-husband was killed in Washington and was a murder that The Camel Club was investigating. Annabelle was hiding from Bagger knowing if he ever caught her she would be good fertilizer when he was finished with her. But when she heard of her ex¿s demise she had to try to find out the how¿s and why¿s since she still had deep feelings for him. She eventually got to Washington and discovered The Camel Club quite by accident. They made a formidable team as they joined all their talent to delve into the killing of the ex and the other key murders. I enjoyed the book but felt it bogged down a bit in places. I have always enjoyed Baldacci¿s books and while I would recommend The Collectors to you, I felt it was stretched out a bit but still contained a lot of action. It just was not the non-stop action I expect from David Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    This book made me a Baldacci fan

    You immediately discover three diverse groups. Roger Seagraves and Albert Trent are government office workers who steal info about secret plans and active agents. Roger sells it to foreign countries. Annabelle is the leader of a con group. She has plans for 3 small cons and 1 long con. Oliver Stone has formed the Camel Club with 3 other men. It's purpose is to keep American government accountable to its people. You won't want to stop reading until you discover how and when these 3 groups will connect. My daughter bought the first book 'The Camel Club' today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Great sequel

    This book captures your imagination right from the start. It sets up beautifully for the next book, while tying up most of the ends of the other themes. Its a great read, very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Good Read

    I enjoyed the book, thoroughly. It was slow starting out, but it took off and came full circle in the end with a cliffhanger for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Great Follow up

    The two plots intertwine seamlessly. A great follow up to the Camel Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Scooby Doo, We Found You!

    Ugh. The beginning of this ride was thrilling but the caper chase and dialogue became more predictable with every page. Silly. The Camel Club should just pitch in and buy a van and spector detector.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Complexing read

    This book is not quite the depth of the 'Camel Club', however it is has a complex story line that keeps a reader wondering. It certainly sets up a scenario for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Very disappointing

    I enjoyed the beginning of the book and was set for a great story and interesting reading. Then the 'Camel Club' boys came into play. Having not read the book by that name, the characters seemed ridiculous and took away tremendously from the story. Baldacci goes on and on and on about their quirks. What a disappointment. Then he doens't finish the story...guess we'll just have to buy another book to find out how this one ends, except I don't care. Waste of money and time. It's a shame too as it has some excellent elements and could have been a very exciting story instead of one that is at best juvenile. I can't understand why there are so many positive reviews. Baldacci is listed as a fine writer so maybe he's just pumping them out for needed cash.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    GREAT Read!!

    The Camel Club was so great that the minute I heard there was a follow-up, I went out and bought The Collectors. Finished it in just a few days--I couldn't put it down! Love the Camel Club, enjoyed finding out a little more about 'Mr. Stone,' and am very intrigued by the new character, Annabelle. Found the plot lines wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Great Book

    This is an awesome new adventure for the Camel Club. The two plots are put together very well, and will keep the reader from putting the book down. It was a much faster paced novel from the first Camel Club book. I hope to see how the next story plays out and how the club will save thier necks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Gotta love these guys!

    You have to love Oliver and his 'gang' and all their quirks. I really enjoy the way Baldacci weaves the storyline of Annabelle into the Camel Club...and Caleb's character really does grow on you. The suspense was great and a real page turner. Baldacci really sets you up for the sequel - and I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    The Camel Club Thrills Again!

    Baldacci rag tag team of misfits finds finds new adventure and a sexy new misfit to join their Camel Club. Hightly entertaining and I can't wait for the follow-up to this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Oliver Stone strikes again!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Baldacci's latest book. Not only are they fast paced but educational at the same time. Caleb and Milton just keep getting better. Can't wait for Jerry Bagger to get his dues from the Camel club and Annabelle in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    give me some shread of belivability

    I realize it is a book of fiction, but give me some sense of reality. I agree with Stone, I want the truth, or at least something I can read without a tinfoil hat on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Did someone say thriller? I think so...

    This book reads like lightning. Not becuase it simple reading, quite the contrary. This is a well plotted, intriguing thriller. The Camel Club returns in this titles and there is no stop to the danger, thrills and suspense. I really appreciate books that give me more than I expected. This is one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    Thrilling

    I could hardly put this book down. My attention was captured from the first paragraph until the ending. I loved the way the author incorporated 2 different stories into one. I know the next book will be a continuation of this one. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Baldacci scores a hit with The Collectors

    I am a huge fan of Baldacci's books. I have read every one of them. I enjoyed the characters from The Camel Club and I am glad they are back. I am studying to be a librarian. Having this book set around The Library of Congress was an extra bonus for me. This book is one of the best yet. It would make an excellent gift for any reader. The characters are extremely fascinating to follow. I look forward to the next book. Thank you Mr. Baldacci for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Baldacci runs a con on his readers.

    Baldacci apparently so admires the short and long 'cons' run by his characters in this novel that he runs a 426 page real life con on his readers by requiring them to wait and purchase a yet another sequel to THE CAMEL CLUB in order to determine an ending to THE COLLECTORs. How absolutely shameless to build up to a thrilling climax and then just abruptly end the novel with a ruthless killer enroute. Hopefully most readers of Baldacci will, like me, reward this disgusting tactic with a Baldacci boycott.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine suspense thriller

    CIA agent Roger Seagraves has opened up a gun for hire business. He calmly assassinates the Speaker of the House the Honorable Robert Bradley. For obvious reasons he has shaken the country and put fear into the hearts of the DC leadership especially chicken hawks used to others dying on their behalf, but to Roger it is one less ¿bloody politician¿. The four wacky Camel Club members (the leader with no past named Oliver Stone, a rare books expert at the Library of Congress, a former Jeopardy champion, and a former Defense Intelligence operative) begin investigating the homicide. Due to their connection to the Library of Congress, they quickly link the Congressman¿s death to that of the Library¿s Rare Book Collection Director. As the sleuths struggle with uncovering and stooping the killer, con artist Annabelle Conroy sets in motion a scheme to scam thirty-three million from Atlantic City casino owner Jerry Bagger. As Annabelle and her crew succeed in their con, she has to follow-up in DC where she meets the Camel Club who unofficially makes her a member as the quintet search for a killer who knows his or her way inside the corridors of government. --- The sequel to the madcap CAMEL CLUB centers more on the killer and the con artist than the dysfunctional behavior of the quartet. The two subplots are filled with action that never slows down, but the tying of them into one story line seems overly extended lacking probability. Still fans of David Baldacci will enjoy THE COLLECTORS as the cat and mouse battle with Seagraves augmented by the addition of a female into the miscreant male group makes for a fine suspense thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12