Customer Reviews for

College Boys [Men of Holsum College] (Siren Publishing Classic ManLove)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    College Boys is a sweet and sexy romance.

    This book blew me away! It begins with Chris moving into a single dorm room. He decided to move from his old dorm and his soccer team roommates in order to get some privacy after the death of his mother. He’s hurting, he’s confused and he needs some time to think and be himself without his friends hovering and trying to help. Peter is his new next door neighbor. He hears Chris crying at night through the thin dorm room walls and they start talking. A strange friendship begins from there. They talk through the wall and open themselves in a way they wouldn’t and couldn’t have opened up if they were face to face. Peter and Chris felt so real for me. They reminded me of normal college kids and totally took me back to my first couple of years in college. I loved the vulnerability they each had. The timid flirtations and awkward situations had my heart going out to them, they were adorable. It was such a sweet and heartwarming romance that built up to a passionate and fulfilling relationship. The indecision they were dealing with was especially touching. Peter was berating himself for having a crush on a straight guy. Later he was questioning the intelligence of getting involved with a closet case. Chris had never even considered that he might be gay or questioned his sexuallity before. Once he realized he did want to be with a man he was working through the confusion, embarrassment and all the emotions I would expect with such a dynamic lifestyle change. They each had their own group of friends, some were supportive and others were not. The various friends helped to add depth and interest to the story outside of the dorm room. I loved this book, I miss Chris and Peter already and it’s only been a day since I finished the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Gay

    Cant get this book only 10 but it sounds good the whole series does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Daniel

    Converse....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Midnight

    She grooms one of the class's horses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Kylie

    Walks in. Srry im late. Looks emberresed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A rating...

    My Review:
    Vanessa, the Jeep Diva, recommended this book to me after she read Frat Boy and Toppy based on my recommendation (yes, we have VERY similar book tastes!) I am so happy that she did because I loved this book and now have the next 3 books in this series sitting and waiting for me in my TBR pile.

    This book is about Chris and Peter who live in the dorm at Holsum College. Chris's mother dies and he needs some privacy to get through his grief and moves into a single room. The problem with the single rooms, which Chris didn't realize, is that they used to be doubles that were simply split by a very thin piece of sheetrock. As a result, besides the fact that you can't see each other, you are basically in the same room with the guy beside you. In this case, the guy beside Chris is Peter. Peter is gay and out of the closet which Chris is completely fine with. They have a bit of a history from a camping trip which involved some subconscious spooning while asleep, but Chris is straight and cool with Peter.

    I love the fact that these guys develop such a close friendship through the wall. They maintain their distance outside of their rooms, staying as acquaintances, but develop a great friendship when in the rooms. Chris is a bit torn...he's having physical reactions to Peter's voice that are completely unexpected and he's not quite sure what to do about them. As for Peter, he knows that Chris is straight and that his crush isn't going to develop into anything. I love the way that Daisy wrote this. There is a slow build-up which seems completely natural and right. Then in a single instance things start to change and it gets incredibly hot. LOVED this book!!! And I loved Peter and Chris. And I loved how it ended. Just gorgeous story telling and writing!

    I like that Chris is confused about what's happening, but he never really goes to that homophobic place, although he definitely has moments where he worries about what others are thinking about him. To him, his friendships are worth more than others perceptions and I LOVED that about his character. Nathaniel was awesome in these parts of the book.

    In this book, Peter's friend is Nathaniel, who is pretty flamboyant with his personality, but he had some moments with Chris that just melted my heart. Such a good friend to Peter and it made me anticipate his story all the more (his book is #2 in the series.) I'm excited about this series. Thank you so much Vanessa for telling me about it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, sexy and HOT! This little novella was sooo good! Chris mo

    Sweet, sexy and HOT!
    This little novella was sooo good! Chris moves into a dorm after his mothers death for some time to think and deal with things alone. Chris quickly realizes that he can hear everything his neighbor Peter is doing because the walls are paper thin. Chris finds it comforting and easy to talk to Peter through the wall and they soon develop a kind of “relationship”. 

    Not to get too deep into this but I love that Chris starts to discover himself through conversations with Peter through the wall. Its like he feels its okay to do this because if Peter cant see him then he cant be scrutinized, judged or made fun of. Then the more Chris becomes comfortable with his feelings, he slowly lets down the walls. Oh and lets not forget about all the steamy, hot, sexy and sizzling sex! Whew, I want some more! Definitely a fan of Daisy Harris and cant wait to read more from her. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful novella about falling in love! Chris and Peter bot

    A wonderful novella about falling in love!

    Chris and Peter both attend Holsum College, a small liberal school in New York. Chris is a star soccer player whose mom recently died. He decided he needed some space, so he moved out of the dorm he shared with 2 of his teammates and into a single room in a dorm across campus.

    His next door neighbor Peter is openly gay. Chris is not. Chris has dated girls in the past, though he doesn’t have much experience with the opposite sex.

    He soon discovers that the “single” rooms in this dorm used to be double rooms until thin walls were constructed to divide them. The kind of walls where you can hear everything going on in the room next to you.

    Chris and Peter become friends. They even lie in bed at night in their own rooms and talk to each other through the thin wall. Things become more intimate as they realize their attraction to one another. But Chris isn’t entirely sure of his feelings. How will his teammates react? How will his parents react? And Peter isn’t sure he wants a relationship with someone so far in the closet.

    This is a short and sweet coming of age story as Chris and Peter explore their feelings. They are adorable, awkward, and clumsy… just like first love. And the sex is unbelievable hot, even when there’s no actual sex involved! It’s very easy to read and I loved it! I will definitely read more from Daisy Harris.

    ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1