Customer Reviews for

College Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

College Girl is something that I've never read before. This book can connect you in life feeling those emotions that Natile had. At one point all of us had those feelings about a guy not knowing what to do or how to act. While reading this book I couldn't put it down, i...
College Girl is something that I've never read before. This book can connect you in life feeling those emotions that Natile had. At one point all of us had those feelings about a guy not knowing what to do or how to act. While reading this book I couldn't put it down, it kept catching my attention I guess you may say. But what I'm trying to say is that it's a great book and I recommanded a lot of my friends to read, they loved the book.

posted by Volleyballplayer21 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A somewhat painful read

This book was almost painful to read. Not because of the writing - that was pretty good; almost stream of consciousness but with better grammar and sentence construction. No, the painful part of this was the main character, Natalie Bloom. A twenty year old college stude...
This book was almost painful to read. Not because of the writing - that was pretty good; almost stream of consciousness but with better grammar and sentence construction. No, the painful part of this was the main character, Natalie Bloom. A twenty year old college student just going to UConn after spending time at community college first, Natalie has no self-esteem and isn't sure how to interact with the other students around her. Weitz makes us feel her pain, her uncertainty. The novel covers the semester that Natalie "grows up" if you will, and describes, in painful detail, all the false steps Natalie takes.

Maybe the reason this was so hard to read is that many of the feelings expressed by Natalie are so familiar. I imagine that most every woman in the world has felt them at some time.

posted by Dulcibelle on February 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    College Girl is something that I've never read before. This book can connect you in life feeling those emotions that Natile had. At one point all of us had those feelings about a guy not knowing what to do or how to act. While reading this book I couldn't put it down, it kept catching my attention I guess you may say. But what I'm trying to say is that it's a great book and I recommanded a lot of my friends to read, they loved the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A somewhat painful read

    This book was almost painful to read. Not because of the writing - that was pretty good; almost stream of consciousness but with better grammar and sentence construction. No, the painful part of this was the main character, Natalie Bloom. A twenty year old college student just going to UConn after spending time at community college first, Natalie has no self-esteem and isn't sure how to interact with the other students around her. Weitz makes us feel her pain, her uncertainty. The novel covers the semester that Natalie "grows up" if you will, and describes, in painful detail, all the false steps Natalie takes.<BR/><BR/>Maybe the reason this was so hard to read is that many of the feelings expressed by Natalie are so familiar. I imagine that most every woman in the world has felt them at some time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    Very good book

    I know I like a book if 1) I read it all the way through, and 2) I don't want the book to end. This book was like that. Boy, if college was like that in the 90's, I am glad I graduated in the late 60's! Realistic, always interesting, well written, I cared for the characters. Highly recommended for a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Kiev

    Knok knock

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Emilees dorm

    Mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Kia to Josh

    Im all handcuffed. ;-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Allyson

    Smiles at Josh. "Its kinda pirplish bluish with lots of pockets on the outside. Its got a ky chain attached to it with my ijitials, AGM on itm"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Josh

    Takes the habdcuffsvoff*out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    REC CENTER

    BOYS AND GIRLS

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book I finished it in a day. I am a college student only just at a community college for now but I loved it. I loved the book Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld too and this was a college version of that. I think this was better. I never wanted this book to end as soon as I finished it I wanted more to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Boring!

    This book was soo boring! I gave it until chapter 5 to grab my attention and it never did. I never looked forward to reading it cuz it was just miserable. I thought the book was pretty lame too. Hope nobody else waste their time on this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Realistic Look at College Life

    Did you feel alone, isolated, unattractive, or nerdy in college? Then you'll relate to Patricia Weitz' novel COLLEGE GIRL. The novel was written from the point of view of Natalie, the only girl and youngest child of a fairly redneck family. She's also the only one in her family to go to college. She does exceptionally well, immersing herself in her studies...until she meets a boy. Not just any boy, but the first boy to pay her any attention. What follows is very realistic, as Natalie becomes consumed in wanting this boy to like her even more, even if it means letting her schoolwork (and subsequent grades) slide. It's a situation that feels all too real. Who hasn't become so infatuated with their first crush that it takes precedence over all else? In fact, it feels so intense in your mind that it blinds you from seeing the true situation and makes you think that there is more there than there actually is. I enjoyed the light read that COLLEGE GIRL provided, and it brought back some dormant memories of my own college days of isolation, making friends, having crushes, making poor decisions, and coming to terms with myself as an individual. Weitz' writing is very conversational, and the dialogue and inner thoughts of Natalie were perfectly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    A good book...

    I'll admit, I wasn't thrilled with some of the outcomes of the characters, but I think that's because I had higher hopes for them. Peter, for example.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It's a great debut book, that's for sure.
    It dragged on a bit, but I don't regret reading it for a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Okay Read

    Very similar to Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep but this book takes place in college. Do yourself a favor and read Prep instead - this book seemed to drag on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Moving

    I think this book sheds light on the kind of girl who often goes unnoticed. What the main character goes through is painful, but, ultimately, her story is both a cautionary tale and a survival story, and I thoroughly recommend it. I couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2