Customer Reviews for

A College of Magics

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Okay...but...well...

    I thought it was disappionting. I mean, I didn't think that the dialogue would be so formal. You know this book has a sequel now: A Scholar of Magics. If you want to read this book, I recommend checking it out of the library. This book is divided into three sections. The first part I liked, the second I didn't really like, the third--boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    I loved it!

    I totally loved this book. I could hardly put it down. The book is long, but it is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightful fantasy

    Her Uncle Brinker rules Galazon as regent since he asserted that his niece Faris Nallaneen is too young to reign. As Faris gets closer to leading her duchy, Brinker sends her to Greenlaw College. Her aptitude seems poor as she is not much of a student especially of magic, but the dean claims that Faris is one of the four guardians being the warden of the north. Faris believes no one is less magical than she is, as she displays no talent until she confronts and defeats fellow student Prince Menary in a ¿war¿ of magic. Brinker dispatches Faris to Aravill as an ambassador, but his plan is to have his niece wed King Julian, Menary¿s dad. Menary tries to kill Faris but fails, ending up in the rift. Still with her uncle and her enemy Julian plotting, Faris¿ future as the ruler of Galazon looks bleak. This Harry Potter like tale, but initially published before J.K. Rowling¿s Potter mania, stars an engaging heroine who has more than just the weight of adult responsibility on her shoulders as she must also protect the world and defeat her Machiavellian uncle and a deadly rival. The story line is loaded with action and a feel that early twentieth century Europe is in deed a hot bed for magic. However, the tale also contains several subplots that seem critical to the basic theme, but vanish without resolution as if a magician performed a stunt. Still, this is a fun fantasy that adults and teens will relish while also seeking other works from master mage Caroline Stevermer. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Wait for a Re-Edited Version

    "A College of Magic" is written in three sections. The first, at the college, felt like it was written as a "necessary evil" for setting the scene; however, it did a disappointing job--characters (eg: Odile) and their motives (esp. the "evil" Uncle Brinker) were underdeveloped, and the "magic" part is excessively lacking. The second section was marvelous and almost made up for any deficits; however, the final section killed off any chance of this being a truly wonderful book. If re-edited this book may be worth your precious reading time. But unless you can't find a better option, then a few cute sections may be worth your while if you keep your expectations in check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Absolutely Amazing!!

    This is my favorite book in the world! It is a sort of coming-of-age novel about Faris Nallaneen, the Duchess of Galazon who is sent off to school so her Uncle Brinker can rule in her absence. The only catch? She's training at Greenlaw, where graduates become witches. There's a lot more to the story... including the introduction of Tyrian, who's quite possibly the best character ever. And the ending is fantastic. Stevermer has a great writing style and a talent for blending flawless fantasy and reality. You should definitely read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1